You are not logged in.

#1 2005-07-03 13:14:25

MrHyde
Member
Registered: 2005-07-03
Posts: 23

Booting into X

I did a search of the forums for this and couldn't come up with anything. When I set runlevel to 5 in my /etc/inittab file it boots into an xdm login screen that looks almost exactly like this one (I found it on Google image search)

http://NetBSD.org/~salo/xdm-current.png
(edit: just realized that link doesn't work, it's the first result under google image if you type "xdm login")


the only difference is replace krowak with my computer name and make the "netbsd" logo different.

Anyway, when I try to log in, the screen goes black for a second like it's trying to log in and then it just goes back to the exact same screen. Does anyone know how to fix that?

And also, is there a good tutorial somewhere for replacing that screen with something that looks nice? I don't even know what the login screen is technically called so I'm having a hard time figuring out how to change it.

Offline

#2 2005-07-03 13:54:15

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: Booting into X

does startx return with errors? If so, your xorg config is probably wrong. You can install hwd (pacman -Sy hwd) and run hwd -x to generate a sample. You'll just have to rename it to xorg.conf in /etc/x11/.

Offline

#3 2005-07-03 14:27:04

MrHyde
Member
Registered: 2005-07-03
Posts: 23

Re: Booting into X

startx loads right up fine

Offline

#4 2005-07-03 15:23:58

max_sipos
Member
From: Ithaca, NY
Registered: 2004-10-31
Posts: 106
Website

Re: Booting into X

Edit /etc/inittab if you want to change your display manager to gdm or kdm. Just search and replace xdm.

If you want to stick with xdm, it seems to me that the way to go is to look at the scripts at /etc/X11/xdm . I believe that it starts off with Xsession which calls $/.xsession, where you can exec your favourite window manager or dekstop environment.

Offline

#5 2005-07-03 15:27:37

MrHyde
Member
Registered: 2005-07-03
Posts: 23

Re: Booting into X

I'm using fluxbox as my GUI. Is using kdm or gdm going to affect that?

Also, I tried gdm and kdm. Both just boot straight to the runlevel 3 login screen. I'm thinking maybe I don't have them installed?

Offline

#6 2005-07-03 16:51:13

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,835

Re: Booting into X

I'd stick with xdm myself. If startx is working and xdm is not, that means you don't have ~/.xsession. All you have to do is copy ~/.xinitrc to ~/.xsession.

If you want xdm to look prettier, have a look at this.

Offline

#7 2005-07-03 17:16:39

Meshuggin
Member
From: /home/meshuggin
Registered: 2005-03-23
Posts: 137

Re: Booting into X

MrHyde wrote:

I'm using fluxbox as my GUI. Is using kdm or gdm going to affect that?

Also, I tried gdm and kdm. Both just boot straight to the runlevel 3 login screen. I'm thinking maybe I don't have them installed?

Adding gdm or kdm to /etc/rc.conf (DAEMONS) you'll be ok, also if you're using fluxbox with gdm, you need add fluxbox.desktop to /etc/X11/sessions

fluxbox.desktop

[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Type=XSession
Exec=/usr/bin/startfluxbox
Name=Fluxbox

Arch GNU/Linux 0.7.1 (Noodle)
Linux 2.6.14-archck1

Offline

#8 2005-07-03 19:10:54

MrHyde
Member
Registered: 2005-07-03
Posts: 23

Re: Booting into X

Got it, thanks for the help.

Turns out it was actually that my $HOME directory was missing proper .xinitrc and .xsession files.

Offline

#9 2005-07-09 12:59:47

jerrym
Member
From: Kannapolis, NC
Registered: 2005-07-08
Posts: 60

Re: Booting into X

Penguin wrote:

does startx return with errors? If so, your xorg config is probably wrong. You can install hwd (pacman -Sy hwd) and run hwd -x to generate a sample. You'll just have to rename it to xorg.conf in /etc/x11/.

thanks penguin, this is what i needed. loving arch linux, makes you learn! by the way, why isnt there a default xorg.conf to begin with?


He may look like an idiot and talk like an idiot but don't let that fool you. He really is an idiot.
- - - Groucho Marx

Registered Linux User #319935
Registered Linux Machine #204881

Offline

#10 2005-07-09 20:21:21

Meshuggin
Member
From: /home/meshuggin
Registered: 2005-03-23
Posts: 137

Re: Booting into X

jerrym wrote:

thanks penguin, this is what i needed. loving arch linux, makes you learn! by the way, why isnt there a default xorg.conf to begin with?

If there isn't, you should execute xorgconfig


Arch GNU/Linux 0.7.1 (Noodle)
Linux 2.6.14-archck1

Offline

#11 2005-07-09 21:49:59

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: Booting into X

why isnt there a default xorg.conf to begin with?

because each user's system varies too much. A universal or default config would be near impossible to achieve. Some distros automatically generate a config for you but, Arch will not because it stands by the philosophy of allowing user control while keeping it simple (KISS) from too much manual configuration.

In addition to Meshuggin's suggestion, there's also
xorgcfg -textmodem, which I find very simple and user friendly wink

Offline

#12 2005-07-10 02:49:41

jerrym
Member
From: Kannapolis, NC
Registered: 2005-07-08
Posts: 60

Re: Booting into X

awesome, thanks for the tips, i'll try both and see what results i get, although i have edited the sample one the hwd gave me and everything works ok, no crashes or anything. like they say, if it aint broke, dont fix it smile


He may look like an idiot and talk like an idiot but don't let that fool you. He really is an idiot.
- - - Groucho Marx

Registered Linux User #319935
Registered Linux Machine #204881

Offline

#13 2005-07-10 02:56:00

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: Booting into X

Actually, I think the only thing I changed on mine was the kernel video driver to xorg's because it was so choppy.

Offline

#14 2005-07-10 03:15:12

jerrym
Member
From: Kannapolis, NC
Registered: 2005-07-08
Posts: 60

Re: Booting into X

cool, thanks again. by the way, what part of NC are you from? Kannapolis here.


He may look like an idiot and talk like an idiot but don't let that fool you. He really is an idiot.
- - - Groucho Marx

Registered Linux User #319935
Registered Linux Machine #204881

Offline

#15 2005-07-10 03:25:35

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: Booting into X

Wilmington, by the beach and SC border. Been here about 6 years now from upstate NY near the canadian border tongue

Offline

#16 2005-07-11 01:09:18

jerrym
Member
From: Kannapolis, NC
Registered: 2005-07-08
Posts: 60

Re: Booting into X

ahh, thats our vacation place. we go to kure and carolina beach all the time. we love it there. gotta be better than the canadian border smile


He may look like an idiot and talk like an idiot but don't let that fool you. He really is an idiot.
- - - Groucho Marx

Registered Linux User #319935
Registered Linux Machine #204881

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB