You are not logged in.

#1 2012-02-06 10:49:46

bilgee0629
Member
Registered: 2011-01-29
Posts: 57

[SOLVED] Pacman not working after updating.

While I'm trying to resolve issue "package-query: requires pacman<3.6", I did wrong that entering "pacman-key --init" right after upgrading pacman. Now it neither upgrade nor install programs.

pacman -Syu
:: Synchronizing package databases...
error: failed retrieving file 'core.db' from mirrors.kernel.org : Could not resolve host: mirrors.kernel.org; Name or service not known
error: failed retrieving file 'core.db' from mirror.yandex.ru : Could not resolve host: mirror.yandex.ru; Name or service not known
error: failed to update core (download library error)
error: failed retrieving file 'extra.db' from mirrors.kernel.org : Could not resolve host: mirrors.kernel.org; Name or service not known
error: failed retrieving file 'extra.db' from mirror.yandex.ru : Could not resolve host: mirror.yandex.ru; Name or service not known
error: failed to update extra (download library error)
error: failed retrieving file 'community.db' from mirrors.kernel.org : Could not resolve host: mirrors.kernel.org; Name or service not known
error: failed retrieving file 'community.db' from mirror.yandex.ru : Could not resolve host: mirror.yandex.ru; Name or service not known
error: failed to update community (download library error)
error: failed to synchronize any databases
error: failed to init transaction (download library error)

pacman.conf

# See the pacman.conf(5) manpage for option and repository directives

#
# GENERAL OPTIONS
#
[options]
# The following paths are commented out with their default values listed.
# If you wish to use different paths, uncomment and update the paths.
#RootDir     = /
#DBPath      = /var/lib/pacman/
#CacheDir    = /var/cache/pacman/pkg/
#LogFile     = /var/log/pacman.log
#GPGDir      = /etc/pacman.d/gnupg/
HoldPkg     = pacman glibc
# If upgrades are available for these packages they will be asked for first
SyncFirst   = pacman
#XferCommand = /usr/bin/curl -C - -f %u > %o
#XferCommand = /usr/bin/wget --passive-ftp -c -O %o %u
#CleanMethod = KeepInstalled
Architecture = auto

# Pacman won't upgrade packages listed in IgnorePkg and members of IgnoreGroup
#IgnorePkg   =
#IgnoreGroup =

#NoUpgrade   =
#NoExtract   =

# Misc options
#UseSyslog
#UseDelta
#TotalDownload
CheckSpace
#VerbosePkgLists

# PGP signature checking
# NOTE: None of this will work without running `pacman-key --init` first.
# The compiled in default is equivalent to the following line. This requires
# you to locally sign and trust packager keys using `pacman-key` for them to be
# considered valid.
#SigLevel = Optional TrustedOnly
# If you wish to check signatures but avoid local sign and trust issues, use
# the following line. This will treat any key imported into pacman's keyring as
# trusted.
#SigLevel = Optional TrustAll
# For now, off by default unless you read the above.
SigLevel = Never

#
# REPOSITORIES
#   - can be defined here or included from another file
#   - pacman will search repositories in the order defined here
#   - local/custom mirrors can be added here or in separate files
#   - repositories listed first will take precedence when packages
#     have identical names, regardless of version number
#   - URLs will have $repo replaced by the name of the current repo
#   - URLs will have $arch replaced by the name of the architecture
#
# Repository entries are of the format:
#       [repo-name]
#       Server = ServerName
#       Include = IncludePath
#
# The header [repo-name] is crucial - it must be present and
# uncommented to enable the repo.
#

# The testing repositories are disabled by default. To enable, uncomment the
# repo name header and Include lines. You can add preferred servers immediately
# after the header, and they will be used before the default mirrors.

#[testing]
#SigLevel = PackageRequired
#Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

[core]
#SigLevel = PackageRequired
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

[extra]
#SigLevel = PackageOptional
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

#[community-testing]
#SigLevel = PackageRequired
#Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

[community]
#SigLevel = PackageOptional
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

# An example of a custom package repository.  See the pacman manpage for
# tips on creating your own repositories.
#[custom]
#SigLevel = Optional TrustAll
#Server = file:///home/custompkgs

Last edited by bilgee0629 (2012-02-06 13:34:40)

Offline

#2 2012-02-06 11:09:59

Gcool
Member
Registered: 2011-08-16
Posts: 1,456

Re: [SOLVED] Pacman not working after updating.

At first sight, it would seem that it's simply unable to resolve the hostnames. Is other connectivity from the box working correctly (webbrowsing,...)?


Burninate!

Offline

#3 2012-02-06 11:12:18

bilgee0629
Member
Registered: 2011-01-29
Posts: 57

Re: [SOLVED] Pacman not working after updating.

I've internet connection. All the mirrors I've uncommented are working properly, I guess.

Offline

#4 2012-02-06 11:15:18

desm0tes
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2012-02-04
Posts: 233
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Pacman not working after updating.

Since he's posting on forum, I'd say yes wink
Anyway, try sending a ping to the servers (I can ping them, they should be online).

Maybe, it's this problem?

wiki wrote:

Q: Pacman cannot find PGP keys to import nor update packages. How can I fix this?
A: The problem is not actually with pacman. It is the default key server's fault. Solve this by changing the default key server to a more reliable one like this:
# sed -i '/keyserver/ s,keys.gnupg.net,pgp.mit.edu,' /etc/pacman.d/gnupg/gpg.conf
Pacman4 is now ready for use.


For package query (and yaourt), in case you didn't solve the problem alrdy, you have to remove both packages, update pacman to 4.0 and then reinstall the updated packages from AUR manually.

Offline

#5 2012-02-06 11:22:51

Gcool
Member
Registered: 2011-08-16
Posts: 1,456

Re: [SOLVED] Pacman not working after updating.

Just making sure smile  (could be posting from another pc).

Check if you can approach the mirrors "manually". For example try to wget one of the files (wget http://mirrors.kernel.org/archlinux/cor … 6/core.db).


Burninate!

Offline

#6 2012-02-06 11:34:00

bilgee0629
Member
Registered: 2011-01-29
Posts: 57

Re: [SOLVED] Pacman not working after updating.

With "wget" it can't be downloaded. May it be DNS error?

Offline

#7 2012-02-06 11:43:53

desm0tes
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2012-02-04
Posts: 233
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Pacman not working after updating.

Did the ping work?

Offline

#8 2012-02-06 11:49:19

bilgee0629
Member
Registered: 2011-01-29
Posts: 57

Re: [SOLVED] Pacman not working after updating.

desm0tes wrote:

Did the ping work?

yep.

Offline

#9 2012-02-06 12:02:17

desm0tes
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2012-02-04
Posts: 233
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Pacman not working after updating.

Well, if you can ping a server, that you can't download from, that's usually a problem induced by...a bitchy BOFH! big_smile

Well, let's be serious again: I'd go for some kind of PGP-error.
Try

pacman-key -u

Offline

#10 2012-02-06 12:03:24

Gcool
Member
Registered: 2011-08-16
Posts: 1,456

Re: [SOLVED] Pacman not working after updating.

Could you post the output of the following commands:

* ifconfig -a
* cat /etc/resolv.conf
* ping mirrors.kernel.org
* ping 8.8.8.8
* tail -50 /var/log/pacman.log


Burninate!

Offline

#11 2012-02-06 12:37:17

bilgee0629
Member
Registered: 2011-01-29
Posts: 57

Re: [SOLVED] Pacman not working after updating.

Gcool wrote:

Could you post the output of the following commands:

* ifconfig -a
* cat /etc/resolv.conf
* ping mirrors.kernel.org
* ping 8.8.8.8
* tail -50 /var/log/pacman.log

1) 

eth0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500  metric 1
        inet6 fe80::ea9a:8fff:fe63:6190  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether e8:9a:8f:63:61:90  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 6820  bytes 1956857 (1.8 MiB)
        RX errors 48  dropped 1  overruns 0  frame 46
        TX packets 3693  bytes 398312 (388.9 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 1  collisions 48
        device interrupt 43  

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 16436  metric 1
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 0  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 26  bytes 2052 (2.0 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 26  bytes 2052 (2.0 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

ppp0: flags=4305<UP,POINTOPOINT,RUNNING,NOARP,MULTICAST>  mtu 1492  metric 1
        inet 49.0.145.198  netmask 255.255.255.255  destination 8.8.8.8
        ppp  txqueuelen 3  (Point-to-Point Protocol)
        RX packets 3103  bytes 1539691 (1.4 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 3589  bytes 312371 (305.0 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

wlan0: flags=4098<BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500  metric 1
        ether d0:df:9a:30:2d:8e  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

2)

nameserver 202.72.241.5
nameserver 203.34.37.3

3)

PING mirrors.us.kernel.org (149.20.4.71) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from mirrors2.kernel.org (149.20.4.71): icmp_req=1 ttl=53 time=241 ms
64 bytes from mirrors2.kernel.org (149.20.4.71): icmp_req=2 ttl=53 time=242 ms
64 bytes from mirrors2.kernel.org (149.20.4.71): icmp_req=3 ttl=53 time=242 ms
^C
--- mirrors.us.kernel.org ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 2002ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 241.653/242.080/242.345/0.504 ms

4)

PING 8.8.8.8 (8.8.8.8) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_req=1 ttl=255 time=10.3 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_req=2 ttl=255 time=11.4 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_req=3 ttl=255 time=210 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_req=4 ttl=255 time=7.34 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_req=5 ttl=255 time=10.6 ms
^C
--- 8.8.8.8 ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 5 received, 0% packet loss, time 4005ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 7.349/50.062/210.542/80.252 ms

5)

[2012-02-06 17:58] Running 'pacman -Rdd package-query'
[2012-02-06 17:59] removed package-query (0.9-1)
[2012-02-06 17:59] Running 'pacman -Syu'
[2012-02-06 17:59] synchronizing package lists
[2012-02-06 18:11] upgraded linux-api-headers (3.0.1-1 -> 3.1.6-1)
[2012-02-06 18:11] warning: /etc/locale.gen installed as /etc/locale.gen.pacnew
[2012-02-06 18:11] Generating locales...
[2012-02-06 18:11]   en_US.UTF-8... done
[2012-02-06 18:11]   en_US.ISO-8859-1... done
[2012-02-06 18:11] Generation complete.
[2012-02-06 18:11] upgraded glibc (2.14-6 -> 2.15-4)
[2012-02-06 18:11] upgraded libarchive (2.8.5-2 -> 3.0.3-3)
[2012-02-06 18:11] installed pth (2.0.7-4)
[2012-02-06 18:11] installed gnupg (1.4.12-1)
[2012-02-06 18:11] installed libksba (1.2.0-1)
[2012-02-06 18:11] installed libassuan (2.0.3-1)
[2012-02-06 18:11] installed pinentry (0.8.1-3)
[2012-02-06 18:11] installed dirmngr (1.1.0-3)
[2012-02-06 18:11] installed gnupg2 (2.0.18-1)
[2012-02-06 18:11] installed gpgme (1.3.1-2)
[2012-02-06 18:11]  >>> Run `pacman-key --init` to set up your pacman keyring.
[2012-02-06 18:11] upgraded pacman (3.5.4-4 -> 4.0.1-4)
[2012-02-06 18:12] Running 'pacman -S firefo'
[2012-02-06 18:13] Running 'pacman -S firefox'
[2012-02-06 18:13] Running 'pacman -S package-query'
[2012-02-06 18:13] Running 'pacman -Syu'
[2012-02-06 18:13] synchronizing package lists

Offline

#12 2012-02-06 12:38:39

bilgee0629
Member
Registered: 2011-01-29
Posts: 57

Re: [SOLVED] Pacman not working after updating.

desm0tes wrote:

Try

pacman-key -u

No difference.

Offline

#13 2012-02-06 12:44:11

skunktrader
Member
From: Brisbane, Australia
Registered: 2010-02-14
Posts: 1,382

Re: [SOLVED] Pacman not working after updating.

It sounds similar to this bug.  Did you try disabling ipv6?

Offline

#14 2012-02-06 13:25:01

bilgee0629
Member
Registered: 2011-01-29
Posts: 57

Re: [SOLVED] Pacman not working after updating.

Disabline ipv6 did the trick; pacman's working now. But will disabling ipv6 trouble afterwards?

Offline

#15 2012-02-06 13:30:06

desm0tes
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2012-02-04
Posts: 233
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Pacman not working after updating.

Not too soon wink

Offline

#16 2012-02-06 13:34:57

bilgee0629
Member
Registered: 2011-01-29
Posts: 57

Re: [SOLVED] Pacman not working after updating.

Thanks everyone smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB