You are not logged in.

#1 2012-03-02 14:21:55

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 774

[SOLVED] Truecrypt - failed to set up a loop device

Since yesterday's kernel upgrades I've hit a problem with Truecrypt. I have two truecrypt volumes, one being a full partition and the other being a file mounted as a truecrypt volume. The full partition mounts just fine, but the file fails with "Faile to set up a loop device". The wiki only suggests rebooting (which doesn't help). I've reinstalled each of TC and the kernel 'just in case' but again, no difference.

The same error is given with both the stock kernel and the ck kernel (3.2.9.1).

I'm at a bit of a dead end now. Any ideas?

Last edited by Roken (2012-03-04 00:28:13)


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Nvidia GTX 680 4Gb, AMD Phenom II X4 (965BE) @ 3.6 Ghz (Overclocked) 8GB RAM
Linux user #545703

Offline

#2 2012-03-02 19:30:02

misc
Member
From: Bavaria, Germany
Registered: 2010-03-22
Posts: 113

Re: [SOLVED] Truecrypt - failed to set up a loop device

Same for me. With no the real changes to the kernel pkgbuild I suspect we'll have to wait for truecrypt 7.1b or a patch by some kind wizard, unfortunately.

Offline

#3 2012-03-03 00:44:58

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 774

Re: [SOLVED] Truecrypt - failed to set up a loop device

Ahh. thanks for replying. I could just boot Windows and recover the encrypted stuff there. The more important drive will mount, so not a huge problem right now. I guess I could also downgrade the kernel. Hmmm - downgrade the kernel or boot windows? Dunno which is worst hmm


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Nvidia GTX 680 4Gb, AMD Phenom II X4 (965BE) @ 3.6 Ghz (Overclocked) 8GB RAM
Linux user #545703

Offline

#4 2012-03-03 04:46:11

qnd
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 7

Re: [SOLVED] Truecrypt - failed to set up a loop device

I'm running a fully updated system and no errors with TrueCrypt here.

Do you have ntfsprogs installed? I remember when I had that package installed I would get the same error when trying to unmount a TrueCrypt container (though this was a while ago), which could be worked around with a forced unmount or by installing ntfs-3g_ntfsprogs-git (unstable) from the AUR, neither being an optimal solution.

Turns out uninstalling ntfsprogs and replacing it with ntfs-3g fixed the problem. Don't really remember why I had installed ntfsprogs in the first place instead of ntfs-3g.

Last edited by qnd (2012-03-03 04:51:38)

Offline

#5 2012-03-03 08:45:51

misc
Member
From: Bavaria, Germany
Registered: 2010-03-22
Posts: 113

Re: [SOLVED] Truecrypt - failed to set up a loop device

ntfs-3g_ntfsprogs-git has been installed (regularly updated) for a long time now, but I doubt that it's the cause of this — no problems before and neither the encrypted image nor its storage location use ntfs.

Offline

#6 2012-03-03 23:57:53

misc
Member
From: Bavaria, Germany
Registered: 2010-03-22
Posts: 113

Re: [SOLVED] Truecrypt - failed to set up a loop device

Found the cause: loop isn't automatically modprobe'd anymore.

Offline

#7 2012-03-04 00:26:53

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 774

Re: [SOLVED] Truecrypt - failed to set up a loop device

Holy cow - good find. one quick modprobe later and there it is nicely mounted smile.

TY


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Nvidia GTX 680 4Gb, AMD Phenom II X4 (965BE) @ 3.6 Ghz (Overclocked) 8GB RAM
Linux user #545703

Offline

#8 2012-03-18 22:43:28

beachcoder
Member
Registered: 2009-10-08
Posts: 104

Re: [SOLVED] Truecrypt - failed to set up a loop device

What do I have to do to add it permanently?
Or is one call of "modprobe loop" enough?

Offline

#9 2012-03-18 22:58:53

Awebb
Member
Registered: 2010-05-06
Posts: 4,880

Re: [SOLVED] Truecrypt - failed to set up a loop device

Wise men say: He, who edits the rc.conf, can obtain everything.

Offline

#10 2012-03-19 00:13:08

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 774

Re: [SOLVED] Truecrypt - failed to set up a loop device

or, as has been hinted at, add "loop" to the modules section of rc.conf


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Nvidia GTX 680 4Gb, AMD Phenom II X4 (965BE) @ 3.6 Ghz (Overclocked) 8GB RAM
Linux user #545703

Offline

#11 2012-03-19 08:16:16

beachcoder
Member
Registered: 2009-10-08
Posts: 104

Re: [SOLVED] Truecrypt - failed to set up a loop device

Roken wrote:

or, as has been hinted at, add "loop" to the modules section of rc.conf

Thanks, I've got it smile

Offline

#12 2012-09-28 11:57:19

tomaqa
Member
Registered: 2012-09-28
Posts: 4

Re: [SOLVED] Truecrypt - failed to set up a loop device

Roken wrote:

or, as has been hinted at, add "loop" to the modules section of rc.conf

Thanks too!

Offline

#13 2012-09-28 12:57:57

2ManyDogs
Member
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 1,908

Re: [SOLVED] Truecrypt - failed to set up a loop device

Modules to be loaded should no longer be listed in rc.conf. They go in modules-load.d now. This procedure (described in the wiki truecrypt topic) worked for me:

If not listed, retry the TrueCrypt command after modprobe loop. Should it work, consider to add loop to the MODULES array in /etc/modules-load.d:

# tee /etc/modules-load.d/truecrypt.conf <<< "loop"

See the rc.conf and systemd topics in the wiki for more information.

Last edited by 2ManyDogs (2012-09-28 13:09:15)

Offline

#14 2014-03-24 11:08:35

errorval
Member
Registered: 2014-03-24
Posts: 1

Re: [SOLVED] Truecrypt - failed to set up a loop device

After you reboot then you're back to square one. If you want to make this solution permanent you will have to rebuild 'initrd' with the new module options that include loop devices:

tee /etc/modules-load.d/truecrypt.conf <<< "loop"
tee /etc/modprobe.d/eightloop.conf << "options loop max_loop=8"
dracut --force
reboot

Offline

#15 2014-03-24 14:25:06

fsckd
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-06-15
Posts: 3,924

Re: [SOLVED] Truecrypt - failed to set up a loop device

Thank you errorval. As this is an old thread, I will close it now, as per our policy: Forum Etiquette: Old Threads / Necro-Bumping.


aur S & M :: forum rules :: Community Ethos
Resources for Women, POC, LGBT*, and allies

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB