You are not logged in.

#1 2012-03-04 20:46:07

jmak
Member
Registered: 2008-12-21
Posts: 443

Need help in sound configuration[SOLVED]

Hello,

Under Gnome 3, in the “Sound” dialog, under “Hardware* tab I have three items listed: Digital Stereo (HDMI) output, webcam and Internal Audio output. When chatting, the sound under HDMI is horrible, but under Internal Audio the output is excellent. But even if I select the Internal Audio, it doesn't persist, after closing the dialog the default jumps back to HDMI.

My question is, how can I make Internal Audio as my default output?

Is it any way to disable completely HDMI because it just gives me trouble.

Thank you,
Jmak

Last edited by jmak (2012-03-05 04:12:23)

Offline

#2 2012-03-04 21:51:23

kwakshot
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2011-06-12
Posts: 35
Website

Re: Need help in sound configuration[SOLVED]

jmak wrote:

Hello,

Under Gnome 3, in the “Sound” dialog, under “Hardware* tab I have three items listed: Digital Stereo (HDMI) output, webcam and Internal Audio output. When chatting, the sound under HDMI is horrible, but under Internal Audio the output is excellent. But even if I select the Internal Audio, it doesn't persist, after closing the dialog the default jumps back to HDMI.

My question is, how can I make Internal Audio as my default output?

Is it any way to disable completely HDMI because it just gives me trouble.

Thank you,
Jmak

Assuming you're using ALSA you should be able to force different sound card using a ".asoundrc" file in your home directory which overrides the default ALSA settings per user.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ad … User_Space

Mine simply looks like this:

defaults.ctl.card 1
defaults.pcm.card 1
defaults.pcm.device 0

Which sets ALSA to my USB audio device instead of the build in sound card smile

Offline

#3 2012-03-04 23:23:15

jmak
Member
Registered: 2008-12-21
Posts: 443

Re: Need help in sound configuration[SOLVED]

Thanks,

It didn't help.

When testing alsa, I get this error message:

[mak@(none) ~]$ aplay /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav
Playing WAVE '/usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav' : Signed 16 bit Little Endian, Rate 48000 Hz, Mono
aplay: set_params:1087: Channels count non available
[mak@(none) ~]$ 

Offline

#4 2012-03-04 23:28:20

kwakshot
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2011-06-12
Posts: 35
Website

Re: Need help in sound configuration[SOLVED]

jmak wrote:

Thanks,

It didn't help.

When testing alsa, I get this error message:

[mak@(none) ~]$ aplay /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav
Playing WAVE '/usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav' : Signed 16 bit Little Endian, Rate 48000 Hz, Mono
aplay: set_params:1087: Channels count non available
[mak@(none) ~]$ 

What is the output of "aplay -L"?

Offline

#5 2012-03-05 00:37:47

jmak
Member
Registered: 2008-12-21
Posts: 443

Re: Need help in sound configuration[SOLVED]

kwakshot wrote:
jmak wrote:

Thanks,

It didn't help.

When testing alsa, I get this error message:

[mak@(none) ~]$ aplay /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav
Playing WAVE '/usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav' : Signed 16 bit Little Endian, Rate 48000 Hz, Mono
aplay: set_params:1087: Channels count non available
[mak@(none) ~]$ 

What is the output of "aplay -L"?

[mak@(none) ~]$ aplay -L
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
pulse
    PulseAudio Sound Server
sysdefault:CARD=SB
    HDA ATI SB, ALC883 Analog
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC883 Analog
    Front speakers
surround40:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC883 Analog
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC883 Analog
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC883 Analog
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC883 Analog
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC883 Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
iec958:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC883 Digital
    IEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=HDMI,DEV=0
    HDA ATI HDMI, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
[mak@(none) ~]$ 

Offline

#6 2012-03-05 02:56:11

brebs
Member
Registered: 2007-04-03
Posts: 3,574

Re: Need help in sound configuration[SOLVED]

kwakshot wrote:

Channels count non available

Your "ctl" (short for "control") entry is probably wrong, as a guess.

Offline

#7 2012-03-05 03:34:10

jmak
Member
Registered: 2008-12-21
Posts: 443

Re: Need help in sound configuration[SOLVED]

Maybe this is clue for someone understands about sounds.

I found by accident that if I play:

[root@(none) mak]# aplay /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav

it works fine.

But as user:

[mak@(none) ~]$ aplay /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav

it doesn't work.

Offline

#8 2012-03-05 04:10:21

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 14,732

Re: Need help in sound configuration[SOLVED]

As a sanity check, what is the output of groups, when run as you normal user?


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#9 2012-03-05 04:11:53

jmak
Member
Registered: 2008-12-21
Posts: 443

Re: Need help in sound configuration[SOLVED]

OK. Solved.

This happens when you don't understand what you are doing.

Me silly, I just copied and pasted the parameters “kwakshot” gave without changing the card numbers relevant to mine.

Now that I modified like this:

defaults.ctl.card 0
defaults.pcm.card 0
defaults.pcm.device 0

Everything works fine.

Thank you very much for helping.

Offline

#10 2012-03-05 07:06:52

kwakshot
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2011-06-12
Posts: 35
Website

Re: Need help in sound configuration[SOLVED]

No problem!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB