You are not logged in.

#1 2012-03-11 20:11:28

stiffy420
Member
Registered: 2009-12-11
Posts: 99

Microcode with an AMD CPU

i get "ERROR: could not insert 'microcode': Invalid argument" when using modprobe microcode.

i followed these steps for installing:

  # cd /tmp
  # tar xf /path/to/amd-ucode-2011-01-11.tar
  # mkdir -p  /lib/firmware/amd-ucode
  # mv amd-ucode-2011-01-11/microcode_amd_fam15h.bin /lib/firmware/amd-ucode
  # modprobe -r microcode
  # modprobe microcode

output from lscpu

Architecture:          x86_64
CPU op-mode(s):        32-bit, 64-bit
Byte Order:            Little Endian
CPU(s):                2
On-line CPU(s) list:   0,1
Thread(s) per core:    1
Core(s) per socket:    2
Socket(s):             1
NUMA node(s):          1
Vendor ID:             AuthenticAMD
CPU family:            15
Model:                 104
Stepping:              2
CPU MHz:               800.000
BogoMIPS:              1607.08
Virtualization:        AMD-V
L1d cache:             64K
L1i cache:             64K
L2 cache:              512K
NUMA node0 CPU(s):     0,1

am i missing something?

Offline

#2 2012-03-11 20:36:03

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 17,418

Re: Microcode with an AMD CPU

Thanks for the repost, I appreciate  it.
For reference to other members, this thread is continued from https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=129270


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Online

#3 2012-03-12 13:00:53

stiffy420
Member
Registered: 2009-12-11
Posts: 99

Re: Microcode with an AMD CPU

thanks ewaller. i wasnt sure if i could post in a thread that was solved.

accordning to this page: http://www.amd64.org/support/microcode.html cpus in family 15 is supported, and i copied the separate container file as stated.

but i get this :

[ 3252.930950] microcode: CPU0: family 15 not supported
[ 3275.105331] microcode: CPU0: family 15 not supported
[ 4108.028643] microcode: CPU0: family 15 not supported

when i use "dmesg | grep microcode"

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB