You are not logged in.

#1 2012-03-11 20:42:19

Ness

[SOLVED] Blank screen after SLiM login

Hello everyone, I'm very new to Arch as of a few days ago and I have been attempting to set it up in just about all the free time I can spare. I think I've spent about 20 hours total trying to get things up and running.

I am attempting to run Arch with LXDE, openbox, and SLiM. I finally managed to get SLiM up and running where I can login without receiving any errors. However, after I try to login I'm brought to a blank screen. Now.. I'm new to this and have followed all the Knowledge Base Documentation on how to get these three running but I guess apparently I'm missing something somewhere...

Keep in mind I have to type this manually as I do not have any Internet program installed. Maybe if someone can point out my error or make an additional recommendation, that would be great. I really hope I'm not asking too much, even a link to something that may help I would greatly appreciate.

I'm pretty sure it's something stupid I'm missing.. again, I've read through the Knowledge Base Documents numerous times and simply cannot find out what I'm doing wrong (I have the ATI Open Source driver installed).

~/.xinitrc (I have this setup for ~/ and /home | this is also set as executable)

#!/bin/sh

#~/.xinitrc
#exec ck-laungh-session dbus-launch openbox-session
login_cmd exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch --sh-syntax --edit-with-session /bin/bash -login ~/.xinitrc %session

/etc/rc.conf (skipped to the DAEMONS section)

DAEMONS=(hwclock syslog-ng network netfs crond slim)

If you need any more information I'd be glad to provide it if anyone is willing to help..

Thank you.

EDIT: Fixed typos..

Just another note. I can see my mouse after I login from SLiM and if I press alt+ctrl with any arrow key I can see the workspaces window pop up.

Last edited by Ness (2012-03-11 22:19:06)

#2 2012-03-11 21:07:28

loafer

Re: [SOLVED] Blank screen after SLiM login