You are not logged in.

#1 2012-03-13 22:29:57

iskandr

[SOLVED] crash while using alacarte broke my Gnome3

Hello fellow archers,

I have a strange problem, which I can't seem to solve on my own.
Yesterday I tried to clean up my Gnome3 applications menu by using Alacarte.
However, while removing some appilcation entries in alacarte, Gnome suddenly crashed
and I was returned to gdm. Since then, every attempt to log into Gnome3 again has failed
and immediately returns me to gdm with the "Oops,something went wrong" error message.
I tried reinstalling gnome, gnome-shell and gdm as well as removing alacarte, but the problem persists.

Has anyone had a similiar problem before or can anyone possibly guess what the crash of
alacarte (not run as root or with sudo) may have broken in my installation?

I would provide log-files, however, I'm not very experienced in working with log files, so I don't know
what exactly to look for. Thank you.

Last edited by iskandr (2012-03-13 23:00:27)

#2 2012-03-13 22:44:13

oboedad55

Re: [SOLVED] crash while using alacarte broke my Gnome3

iskandr wrote:

Hello fellow archers,

I have a strange problem, which I can't seem to solve on my own.
Yesterday I tried to clean up my Gnome3 applications menu by using Alacarte.
However, while removing some appilcation entries in alacarte, Gnome suddenly crashed
and I was returned to gdm. Since then, every attempt to log into Gnome3 again has failed
and immediately returns me to gdm with the "Oops,something went wrong" error message.
I tried reinstalling gnome, gnome-shell and gdm as well as removing alacarte, but the problem persists.

Has anyone had a similiar problem before or can anyone possibly guess what the crash of
alacarte (not run as root or with sudo) may have broken in my installation?

I would provide log-files, however, I'm not very experienced in working with log files, so I don't know
what exactly to look for. Thank you.