You are not logged in.

#1 2012-03-14 01:40:22

ILoveJapaneseGirls
Banned
Registered: 2009-09-05
Posts: 72

[SOLVED] LibreOffice 3.5 error: Missing vcl resource.

Hello,

I decided to try LibreOffice 3.5 and did it in two ways:

1st time: upgrading from 3.4.5

2nd time: uninstalling 3.4.5 and then making a clean install.

In both ways it installs correctly and even shows the splash screen after executing it, but then it shows this message in shell:

Missing vcl resource. This indicates that files vital to localization are missing. You might have a corrupt installation.
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'com::sun::star::uno::RuntimeException'
Application Error

I deleted /home/<user>/.config and /usr/lib/libreoffice folder before making a clean install but it still doesn't work.

It's strange because there are very few reports about it in the internet (and even less reports for solutions, which, unfortunately, none of them worked so far).

Which could be the vital files missing? Is there any logs for LibreOffice?

Thanks!

Last edited by ILoveJapaneseGirls (2012-03-16 01:43:10)

Offline

#2 2012-03-14 01:45:27

ngoonee
Forum Fellow
From: Between Thailand and Singapore
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 6,839

Re: [SOLVED] LibreOffice 3.5 error: Missing vcl resource.

Its vcl, and not vlc. Do you have any languages installed?


Allan-Volunteer on the (topic being discussed) mailn lists. You never get the people who matters attention on the forums.
jasonwryan-Installing Arch is a measure of your literacy. Maintaining Arch is a measure of your diligence. Contributing to Arch is a measure of your competence.
Griemak-Bleeding edge, not bleeding flat. Edge denotes falls will occur from time to time. Bring your own parachute.

Offline

#3 2012-03-14 01:51:48

ILoveJapaneseGirls
Banned
Registered: 2009-09-05
Posts: 72

Re: [SOLVED] LibreOffice 3.5 error: Missing vcl resource.

ngoonee wrote:

Its vcl, and not vlc.

I wrote vcl, and not vlc. (CTRL+C, CTRL+V) wink

ngoonee wrote:

Do you have any languages installed?

Yes, brazilian portuguese (PT-BR).

Offline

#4 2012-03-14 14:39:07

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,640

Re: [SOLVED] LibreOffice 3.5 error: Missing vcl resource.

Do you have libreoffice-gnome or -kde4 installed? Do you use some uncommon desktop theme?

Offline

#5 2012-03-14 17:34:19

ILoveJapaneseGirls
Banned
Registered: 2009-09-05
Posts: 72

Re: [SOLVED] LibreOffice 3.5 error: Missing vcl resource.

I have libreoffice-gnome and libreoffice-kde4 installed, both from [testing].

I use MATÉ desktop environment.

Does LibreOffice provide any log files? Maybe I could check there.

Thanks.

Last edited by ILoveJapaneseGirls (2012-03-14 17:34:47)

Offline

#6 2012-03-14 19:15:39

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,640

Re: [SOLVED] LibreOffice 3.5 error: Missing vcl resource.

Try to force use of various VLCs. See the new gtk3 section in our wiki. Maybe Mate is the problem here.

Offline

#7 2012-03-14 23:07:21

ILoveJapaneseGirls
Banned
Registered: 2009-09-05
Posts: 72

Re: [SOLVED] LibreOffice 3.5 error: Missing vcl resource.

Still nothing =/

I tried forcing all VCLs as you said, according to the wiki, but none of them worked.

I even installed KDE4 and tried from there, but the error persists.

Do you know if LibreOffice keeps any log files?

Thanks!

Offline

#8 2012-03-14 23:58:23

ILoveJapaneseGirls
Banned
Registered: 2009-09-05
Posts: 72

Re: [SOLVED] LibreOffice 3.5 error: Missing vcl resource.

Here's what I got trying to run it from GDB:

(gdb) file /usr/lib/libreoffice/program/soffice.bin
(gdb) run
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
Using host libthread_db library "/lib/libthread_db.so.1".
[New Thread 0x7fffed818700 (LWP 1379)]
Missing vcl resource. This indicates that files vital to localization are missing. You might have a corrupt installation.
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'com::sun::star::uno::RuntimeException'

Program received signal SIGABRT, Aborted.
0x00007ffff75a6975 in raise () from /lib/libc.so.6
(gdb)

Maybe this can be helpful in any way.

Thanks!

Offline

#9 2012-03-15 22:02:26

ILoveJapaneseGirls
Banned
Registered: 2009-09-05
Posts: 72

Re: [SOLVED] LibreOffice 3.5 error: Missing vcl resource.

I give up!

I've formatted the computer and reinstalled the system and LibreOffice 3.5 from scratch and the same error persists.

I hope they change LO from the repo to version 3.5.1 soon, as it has been released today.

Thanks for helping.

Offline

#10 2012-03-15 23:11:01

quasifilmie
Member
From: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Registered: 2011-10-27
Posts: 289

Re: [SOLVED] LibreOffice 3.5 error: Missing vcl resource.

I had this issue too I am pretty sure and installing libreoffice-langpack fixed it for me.

Offline

#11 2012-03-16 01:42:54

ILoveJapaneseGirls
Banned
Registered: 2009-09-05
Posts: 72

Re: [SOLVED] LibreOffice 3.5 error: Missing vcl resource.

quasifilmie wrote:

I had this issue too I am pretty sure and installing libreoffice-langpack fixed it for me.

Oh my F***ING god, THANKS A LOT MAN!!!!! That solved the problem!!!

I've just installed now LibreOffice 3.5.1 and the the same error persisted. But after you said that I realized that the language pack installed was the one from version 3.4.5. Maybe this is why it did not work before (and maybe they did not upload the repo, since I also made an installation from scratch before with the language pack included and it did not work too).

But now it works, that was the problem!

Thank you very much quasifilmie, I own you that!

Have a nice weekend bro. wink

Offline

#12 2012-03-16 03:07:22

ngoonee
Forum Fellow
From: Between Thailand and Singapore
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 6,839

Re: [SOLVED] LibreOffice 3.5 error: Missing vcl resource.

I think that indicates you didn't do a full upgrade?


Allan-Volunteer on the (topic being discussed) mailn lists. You never get the people who matters attention on the forums.
jasonwryan-Installing Arch is a measure of your literacy. Maintaining Arch is a measure of your diligence. Contributing to Arch is a measure of your competence.
Griemak-Bleeding edge, not bleeding flat. Edge denotes falls will occur from time to time. Bring your own parachute.

Offline

#13 2012-03-16 04:56:49

quasifilmie
Member
From: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Registered: 2011-10-27
Posts: 289

Re: [SOLVED] LibreOffice 3.5 error: Missing vcl resource.

@ngoonee, it doesn't indicate that because when I installed libreoffice, i was asked if i wanted libreoffice-en-us from extra or testing also.

Last edited by quasifilmie (2012-03-16 04:57:10)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB