You are not logged in.

#1 2012-03-17 06:39:57

donniezazen
Member
From: Salt Lake City
Registered: 2011-06-24
Posts: 671
Website

[SOLVED] XFCE4 Can't mount the drives Authorization is required

Hello,

I did a clean Arch Linux install with XFCE4. I am unable to mount windows share in Thunar. I either get Authorization is Required or Not Authorized. I have gvfs and ntfs-3g installed. I use slim as DM. I have dbus installed and dbus and hal in rc.conf. This seems to be a common problem and I have tried a few things but can't pin point the problem.

#!/bin/sh
#
# ~/.xinitrc
#
# Executed by startx (run your window manager from here)

if [ -d /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d ]; then
  for f in /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d/*; do
    [ -x "$f" ] && . "$f"
  done
  unset f
fi

# exec gnome-session
# exec startkde
# exec startxfce4
# ...or the Window Manager of your choice

exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch startxfce4

Thanks.

Last edited by donniezazen (2012-03-19 07:32:24)

Offline

#2 2012-03-17 07:34:35

Cory_j
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2012-02-16
Posts: 39

Re: [SOLVED] XFCE4 Can't mount the drives Authorization is required


Arch Mint Winfail7

Offline

#3 2012-03-17 09:54:13

Gcool
Member
Registered: 2011-08-16
Posts: 1,456

Re: [SOLVED] XFCE4 Can't mount the drives Authorization is required

Is your user added to the "storage" group?

PS: HAL has been deprecated for a while, you shouldn't be using it anymore.


Burninate!

Offline

#4 2012-03-17 16:52:11

donniezazen
Member
From: Salt Lake City
Registered: 2011-06-24
Posts: 671
Website

Re: [SOLVED] XFCE4 Can't mount the drives Authorization is required

@Cory_J Yes, I have consolekit installed. I am not sure about policykit. I have never installed these manually before.

@Gcool I am added to group storage. Ok I will remove HAL daemon from my rc.conf.

As wiki says, I have stripped down my ~/.xinitrc to exec startxfce4 and edited slim as follows. But I still can't mount drives.

# This command is executed after a succesful login.
# you can place the %session and %theme variables
# to handle launching of specific commands in .xinitrc
# depending of chosen session and slim theme
#
# NOTE: if your system does not have bash you need
# to adjust the command according to your preferred shell,
# i.e. for freebsd use:
# login_cmd           exec /bin/sh - ~/.xinitrc %session
login_cmd           exec ck-launch-session /bin/bash -login ~/.xinitrc %session

full slim.conf http://pastebin.com/z1aeCrgq

Thank you.

Offline

#5 2012-03-17 19:10:25

dodo3773
Member
Registered: 2011-03-17
Posts: 814

Re: [SOLVED] XFCE4 Can't mount the drives Authorization is required

I run hal and have not run into any problems (despite it being depreciated some older apps need it I have found). My daemons array:

syslog-ng dbus hal cpufreq pdnsd networkmanager alsa gopreload

Have you tried adding dbus and launching that way?
Snip from my .xinitrc

exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch startxfce4

Edit: Also, if you are using thunar you may want to look into these 2 packages:

extra/udisks
extra/thunar-volman

For some reason I remember needing them.

Last edited by dodo3773 (2012-03-17 19:16:54)

Offline

#6 2012-03-17 20:21:04

donniezazen
Member
From: Salt Lake City
Registered: 2011-06-24
Posts: 671
Website

Re: [SOLVED] XFCE4 Can't mount the drives Authorization is required

@dodo3773
I removed ck-launch-session from login_cmd (reverted to default).
I kept dbus and hal in rc.conf
I changed my ~/.xinitrc to what you have (exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch startxfce4).
I installed udisks and thunar-volman.

Still no luck. Instead of authorization not found. I am getting not authorized.

Thanks for replying.

Offline

#7 2012-03-17 21:22:53

dodo3773
Member
Registered: 2011-03-17
Posts: 814

Re: [SOLVED] XFCE4 Can't mount the drives Authorization is required

Other than that I am not sure. May be a policy kit issue though. You could test changing no to yes globally in this file and rebooting for a quick test:

/usr/share/polkit-1/actions/org.freedesktop.udisks.policy

Here are the ntfs programs I have installed for reference if it helps at all:

yaourt -Ss ntfs | grep installed

extra/ntfs-3g 2012.1.15-1 [installed]
extra/ntfsprogs 2012.1.15-1 [installed]
aur/libntfs-dev 2.0.0-1 [installed] (18)

Offline

#8 2012-03-17 21:41:00

donniezazen
Member
From: Salt Lake City
Registered: 2011-06-24
Posts: 671
Website

Re: [SOLVED] XFCE4 Can't mount the drives Authorization is required

@dodo3773 Do you mean changing all 'no' to 'yes'?

Offline

#9 2012-03-17 21:46:08

dodo3773
Member
Registered: 2011-03-17
Posts: 814

Re: [SOLVED] XFCE4 Can't mount the drives Authorization is required

donniezazen wrote:

@dodo3773 Do you mean changing all 'no' to 'yes'?

Yeah that's what I mean. Not sure if it will work. Although if it doesn't you can just change them all back.  I think the default layout is:

<allow_any>no</allow_any>
      <allow_inactive>no</allow_inactive>
      <allow_active>yes</allow_active>

change it to

<allow_any>yes</allow_any>
      <allow_inactive>yes</allow_inactive>
      <allow_active>yes</allow_active>

Offline

#10 2012-03-17 23:25:40

donniezazen
Member
From: Salt Lake City
Registered: 2011-06-24
Posts: 671
Website

Re: [SOLVED] XFCE4 Can't mount the drives Authorization is required

@dodo 3773 It did nothing. Thanks.

My current situation.

DAEMONS=(syslog-ng dbus hal crond @alsa @ntpd @sshd @tlp @thinkfan @wicd slim)
MODULES=(coretemp thinkpad_acpi tp_smapi fuse autofs4)
login_cmd           exec /bin/bash -login ~/.xinitrc %session
if [ -d /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d ]; then
  for f in /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d/*; do
    [ -x "$f" ] && . "$f"
  done
  unset f
fi

exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch startxfce4

Package installed

extra/ntfs-3g 2012.1.15-1 [installed]
extra/ntfsprogs 2012.1.15-1 [installed]
aur/libntfs-dev 2.0.0-1 [installed] (18)
extra/gvfs 1.10.1-3 [installed]
extra/gvfs-afc 1.10.1-3 [installed]
extra/gvfs-gphoto2 1.10.1-3 [installed]
extra/gvfs-smb 1.10.1-3 [installed]
extra/fuse 2.8.7-1 [installed]
community/autofs 5.0.6-3 [installed]
extra/polkit 0.104-1 [installed]
extra/consolekit 0.4.5-2 [installed]
extra/udisks 1.0.4-2 [installed]
extra/thunar-volman 0.6.0-3 (xfce4-goodies) [installed]

I have reverted back to original polkit.

Thanks.

Last edited by donniezazen (2012-03-17 23:28:17)

Offline

#11 2012-03-17 23:53:38

dodo3773
Member
Registered: 2011-03-17
Posts: 814

Re: [SOLVED] XFCE4 Can't mount the drives Authorization is required

Well I'm out of ideas. If you can mount it from the command line maybe you could write an entry for it in /etc/fstab or automount it somehow at boot if that's what you want. Good luck. Please post back fix when you figure it out. I am interested in finding out what it is.

Offline

#12 2012-03-17 23:59:51

donniezazen
Member
From: Salt Lake City
Registered: 2011-06-24
Posts: 671
Website

Re: [SOLVED] XFCE4 Can't mount the drives Authorization is required

Thanks for all your help. I am able to mount the windows share without any problem through command line. Will definitively let know if I find a solution.

Offline

#13 2012-03-18 04:37:37

655321
Member
From: Costa Rica
Registered: 2009-12-08
Posts: 412
Website

Re: [SOLVED] XFCE4 Can't mount the drives Authorization is required

dont know what can be happening but this is just an idea, maybe slim is at fault here, disable it temporarily (put a ! before it on rc.conf) and when you get to the tty login login and the do a normal xinit, that way if it works you know its slim fault. Hope it helps you


Linux user #498977
With microsoft you get windows and gates, with linux you get the whole house!
My Blog about ArchLinux and other stuff

Offline

#14 2012-03-18 06:12:28

donniezazen
Member
From: Salt Lake City
Registered: 2011-06-24
Posts: 671
Website

Re: [SOLVED] XFCE4 Can't mount the drives Authorization is required

655321 wrote:

dont know what can be happening but this is just an idea, maybe slim is at fault here, disable it temporarily (put a ! before it on rc.conf) and when you get to the tty login login and the do a normal xinit, that way if it works you know its slim fault. Hope it helps you

I banged slim. Logged and startxfce4 but no luck again. Thanks for the idea.

Offline

#15 2012-03-18 07:27:10

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,941
Website

Re: [SOLVED] XFCE4 Can't mount the drives Authorization is required

so many wrong suggestions in this thread.

1) fix your ~/.xinitrc. it should ONLY contain the line exec ck-launch-session  startxfce4
2) install polkit-gnome and relogin
3) be sure that /usr/lib/polkit-gnome/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1 runs and if not, run it manually or from whatever xfce has to do it automatically at login,
4) thunar-volman  is deprecated, install gvfs

Everything should be fine now.


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.

Offline

#16 2012-03-18 16:12:09

donniezazen
Member
From: Salt Lake City
Registered: 2011-06-24
Posts: 671
Website

Re: [SOLVED] XFCE4 Can't mount the drives Authorization is required

@wonder

1.Changed ~/.xinitrc as you suggested.
2.Installed polkit-gnome.
4.Removed thunar-volman and only running gvfs.
3. Not sure how am I suppose to run /usr/lib/polkit-gnome/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1. How do I check if it is running? Do I need to run that as a root user on start? Running it as a root user in a terminal gives me following error.

sudo /usr/lib/polkit-gnome/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1
Password: 

(polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1:996): polkit-gnome-1-WARNING **: Unable to determine the session we are in: GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit.Manager.GeneralError: Unable to lookup session information for process '996'

I am still stuck with 'Not Authorized'.

Thank you.

PS:Your blog is very informative.

Last edited by donniezazen (2012-03-18 16:13:06)

Offline

#17 2012-03-18 16:17:30

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,941
Website

Re: [SOLVED] XFCE4 Can't mount the drives Authorization is required

i did not say to start that as root.

to check if is running, do ps x | grep polkit


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.

Offline

#18 2012-03-18 16:20:04

donniezazen
Member
From: Salt Lake City
Registered: 2011-06-24
Posts: 671
Website

Re: [SOLVED] XFCE4 Can't mount the drives Authorization is required

Oh OK!!

ps x | grep polkit
  859 ?        Sl     0:00 /usr/lib/polkit-gnome/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1
 1988 pts/0    S+     0:00 grep polkit

Offline

#19 2012-03-19 07:31:41

donniezazen
Member
From: Salt Lake City
Registered: 2011-06-24
Posts: 671
Website

Re: [SOLVED] XFCE4 Can't mount the drives Authorization is required

I removed Slim and installed LightDM and the problem is solved. I am able to mount my partition. Thanks everyone.

Offline

#20 2012-03-20 04:45:50

655321
Member
From: Costa Rica
Registered: 2009-12-08
Posts: 412
Website

Re: [SOLVED] XFCE4 Can't mount the drives Authorization is required

So it was slim's fault? Guess I wasn't so lost after all big_smile glad you got it working!


Linux user #498977
With microsoft you get windows and gates, with linux you get the whole house!
My Blog about ArchLinux and other stuff

Offline

#21 2012-03-20 05:46:22

donniezazen
Member
From: Salt Lake City
Registered: 2011-06-24
Posts: 671
Website

Re: [SOLVED] XFCE4 Can't mount the drives Authorization is required

@655321 You were pretty close. It though did not work just by banging slim. Thanks anyways.

Offline

#22 2012-04-30 09:36:08

triton60
Member
Registered: 2012-04-17
Posts: 23

Re: [SOLVED] XFCE4 Can't mount the drives Authorization is required

wonder wrote:

so many wrong suggestions in this thread.

1) fix your ~/.xinitrc. it should ONLY contain the line exec ck-launch-session  startxfce4
2) install polkit-gnome and relogin
3) be sure that /usr/lib/polkit-gnome/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1 runs and if not, run it manually or from whatever xfce has to do it automatically at login,
4) thunar-volman  is deprecated, install gvfs

Everything should be fine now.

Just had the same problem and this worked for me, thanks.

Offline

#23 2012-05-01 15:51:26

xerverius
Member
From: ~
Registered: 2004-11-02
Posts: 230
Website

Re: [SOLVED] XFCE4 Can't mount the drives Authorization is required

Instead of all the .xinit hackery, you can use "startxfce4 --with-ck-launch" in 4.10. polkit-gnome is not required for Xfce. Thunar-volman is not deprecated, it is a tool that watches udev events, it has absolutely nothing to do with mount authentication issues: it can only trigger automounting (through thunar->gio->gvfs) and spawn apps if special devices are attached.

Offline

#24 2012-05-01 15:59:28

donniezazen
Member
From: Salt Lake City
Registered: 2011-06-24
Posts: 671
Website

Re: [SOLVED] XFCE4 Can't mount the drives Authorization is required

@xerverious startxfce4 --with-ck-launch Does that go in auto start?

If I am not wrong .xinitrc is not read when I login using a display manager like LightDM.

Offline

#25 2012-05-01 18:20:25

xerverius
Member
From: ~
Registered: 2004-11-02
Posts: 230
Website

Re: [SOLVED] XFCE4 Can't mount the drives Authorization is required

True, but display manager usually also setup a proper consolekit environment (not slim iirc), but at least lightdm and gdb do. "startxfce4 --with-ck-launch" is only a better option for the startx people.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB