You are not logged in.

#1 2012-03-19 21:49:31

fzerorubigd
Member
Registered: 2011-06-19
Posts: 19

[Solved] Pacman transfer speed check.

As you know (or may be don't know, since you never see this message sad ) pacman stop connection if the speed is too low with this message :

Operation too slow. Less than 1024 bytes/sec transferred the last 10 seconds

But for us, in Iran, this is too bad. our speed is too low (Iran is one of internet enemies) so I need to disable this check, and its critical for me.
Some times, (like just now) I can't even syncronize package database , see :

:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
error: failed retrieving file 'extra.db' from mirror.rit.edu : Operation too slow. Less than 1024 bytes/sec transferred the last 10 seconds
error: failed retrieving file 'extra.db' from mirror.rit.edu : Connection time-out
error: failed retrieving file 'extra.db' from mirror.devnu11.net : Operation too slow. Less than 1024 bytes/sec transferred the last 10 seconds
error: failed retrieving file 'extra.db' from ftp.tku.edu.tw : Operation too slow. Less than 1024 bytes/sec transferred the last 10 seconds
error: failed retrieving file 'extra.db' from mirror.aarnet.edu.au : Operation too slow. Less than 1024 bytes/sec transferred the last 10 seconds
 extra is up to date
error: failed retrieving file 'community.db' from mirror.rit.edu : Operation too slow. Less than 1024 bytes/sec transferred the last 10 seconds
error: failed retrieving file 'community.db' from mirror.rit.edu : Operation too slow. Less than 1024 bytes/sec transferred the last 10 seconds
error: failed retrieving file 'community.db' from mirror.devnu11.net : Operation too slow. Less than 1024 bytes/sec transferred the last 10 seconds
error: failed retrieving file 'community.db' from ftp.tku.edu.tw : Operation too slow. Less than 1024 bytes/sec transferred the last 10 seconds
error: failed retrieving file 'community.db' from mirror.aarnet.edu.au : Connection time-out
error: failed retrieving file 'community.db' from mirror.archlinux.cl : Failed connect to mirror.archlinux.cl:21; Bad file descriptor
^C
Interrupt signal received

Is there any way to disable this???

Last edited by fzerorubigd (2015-08-14 14:20:55)

Offline

#2 2012-03-19 22:08:49

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: [Solved] Pacman transfer speed check.

Have you tried downloading the databases by hand?

Offline

#3 2012-03-19 22:19:32

fzerorubigd
Member
Registered: 2011-06-19
Posts: 19

Re: [Solved] Pacman transfer speed check.

Yes, and for update I use aria2, but there is some problem with them too.
I just want to know is there any way to disable this? if not I want to open a request in bug tracker for this, since its not my problem only, and  its a good idea to control this from config file.

Offline

#4 2012-03-19 22:35:39

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: [Solved] Pacman transfer speed check.

Have you tried using some external downloader (the XferCommand in pacman.conf)?

Offline

#5 2012-03-19 22:45:48

/dev/zero
Member
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2011-10-20
Posts: 1,247

Re: [Solved] Pacman transfer speed check.

karol wrote:

Have you tried using some external downloader (the XferCommand in pacman.conf)?

Awesome! I also have a slow connection and have this problem. I didn't know I could tell pacman to use wget - guess I should RTFM a little more big_smile.

Offline

#6 2012-03-20 06:52:59

toad
Member
From: if only I knew
Registered: 2008-12-22
Posts: 1,775
Website

Re: [Solved] Pacman transfer speed check.

Or could it be down to slow mirrors? https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Reflector might be worth a shot, too.


never trust a toad...
::Grateful ArchDonor::
::Grateful Wikipedia Donor::

Offline

#7 2012-03-20 08:44:19

Xyne
Administrator/PM
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,963
Website

Re: [Solved] Pacman transfer speed check.

@toad
It's probably due to internet throttling so it won't matter what mirror he uses. Maybe there's an Iranian mirror, but I wouldn't trust it unless everything on it was signed, and even then I wouldn't prefer it.

@fzerorubigd
Set the XferCommand option in /etc/pacman.conf, as karol suggested. You can use aria2c or wget, and you can control the options so that the download won't time out.


My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#8 2012-03-20 10:57:46

toad
Member
From: if only I knew
Registered: 2008-12-22
Posts: 1,775
Website

Re: [Solved] Pacman transfer speed check.

Damn, failed again plugging reflector tongue


never trust a toad...
::Grateful ArchDonor::
::Grateful Wikipedia Donor::

Offline

#9 2012-03-20 12:12:19

fzerorubigd
Member
Registered: 2011-06-19
Posts: 19

Re: [Solved] Pacman transfer speed check.

Yes, I do use aria2 for XferCommand (I say this in my secound post) but I want to know, is there any way to disable this check or not? and if not, I want to ask for this.
the problem is they throttling us, the bandwidth is very expensive,  so I hope, some day, the arch developers, create an official delta mirror big_smile (fr mirror is TOO slow in iran)

About mirror, no there is no mirror in Iran (and if there is I NEVER TRUST THEM!! EVEN IF ANYTHING IS SIGNED! )

Offline

#10 2012-03-20 18:25:19

Xyne
Administrator/PM
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,963
Website

Re: [Solved] Pacman transfer speed check.

@fzerorubigd
I have had an unfinished script on my system for a while that generates metalinks for download. This thread inspired me to finish it today. I have released it and packaged it here. It is also available in the AUR and there is a thread about it here on the forum.

If you generate the metalink with it, for example with

pm2ml -u package1 package2 ... > metalink

then you can download the files with aria2c using that metalink. You can control everything with aria2c's options such as timeouts, minimal speeds, number of retries, etc. It should help you make the most of your bandwidth and make sure you get the full download.

The package includes a script named "ppl". Open it and look at how it works to get some ideas.


My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#11 2012-03-20 21:04:03

fzerorubigd
Member
Registered: 2011-06-19
Posts: 19

Re: [Solved] Pacman transfer speed check.

@Xyne
Thanks a lot. This is helpful.

Offline

#12 2012-03-21 08:29:11

Xyne
Administrator/PM
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,963
Website

Re: [Solved] Pacman transfer speed check.

I've made some corrections to the package. If you use it, I recommend that you use my repo too so that you always have the latest version.


My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#13 2012-04-14 18:37:09

Gyroplast
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2002-09-03
Posts: 166
Website

Re: [Solved] Pacman transfer speed check.

Greetings!

The thread may not be the freshest anymore, but as people are led here by search engines who are having the same problem, I figured to post an alternative.

I am experiencing this problem as well, but for another reason. The local squid proxy at work caches what it downloads for a virus check, which leads to the annoying behaviour of 95% of a package being downloaded super fast, then my connection effectively stalls for a dozen seconds or so, then resumes after the proxy did it's black magic. This often triggered the speed bump of libcurl integrated in pacman, which is, quite frankly, exactly what curl tries to protect against: (Malicious) servers stalling your connection to deny service.

Of course I could use another XferCommand, and that works quite well, but honestly speaking I don't want my screen to be all cluttered up or totally silent during an update. I DO enjoy my candy-eating little pacman with it's clear, no-nonsense progress bar and want to keep it.

As I didn't find a switch to deactivate this speed limit abort behaviour, I simply patched it out and live trouble-free ever since. I tarballed a source package of pacman 4.0.3 to build with makepkg. It's really simple, so you can try patching yourself when the patch doesn't apply cleanly anymore one day.

An arguably better patch would make this behaviour deactivatable through command line switch and/or pacman.conf, of course, but that's what I'd like to see incorporated by upstream instead. Seeing how others are having trouble with this, I'll find out how the pacman devs think about it.

Best regards,
  Dennis


"That's the problem with good advice. Nobody wants to hear it."
-- Dogbert

Offline

#14 2012-04-16 21:34:59

Xyne
Administrator/PM
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,963
Website

Re: [Solved] Pacman transfer speed check.

@Gyroplast
Open a ticket on the bugtracker. If you provide a patch that makes it configurable, there is a good chance that it will be accepted.


My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#15 2013-02-15 03:46:48

icarito
Member
Registered: 2013-02-15
Posts: 2

Re: [Solved] Pacman transfer speed check.

Just a quick note that on my GSM connection (my only one) - pacman aborts for this reason as well. I think it should be patched to be configurable.

Regards

Offline

#16 2013-02-15 05:50:55

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 19,804

Re: [Solved] Pacman transfer speed check.

icarito:  Welcome to Arch Linux.  Be aware this thread is coming up on a being a year old.  In general, we discourage bumping old threads.  It may be okay in this case.

In general, if you are dealing with an old thread, it is better to start a new one and reference the old thread.  Not necessary in this case.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#17 2013-02-15 05:59:45

Allan
Pacman
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 11,405
Website

Re: [Solved] Pacman transfer speed check.

And...  it is fixed in the upcoming pacman 4.1.

Online

#18 2013-04-15 16:12:44

MindlessXD
Member
Registered: 2007-11-08
Posts: 18

Re: [Solved] Pacman transfer speed check.

Allan wrote:

And...  it is fixed in the upcoming pacman 4.1.

Sort of... I see the low-speed parameters have been tweaked, but sitting behind a proxy that does virus checks, it can be more than 10 seconds before a download of a large package starts.  It would be handy to be able to disable the low-speed-connection-terminating feature.

Last edited by MindlessXD (2013-04-15 16:24:06)

Offline

#19 2013-04-29 11:59:31

eanderalx
Member
From: Berlin/Germany
Registered: 2010-01-10
Posts: 20
Website

Re: [Solved] Pacman transfer speed check.

Same Problem here. Proxy with virus check and I have to use ugly wget or curl because pacman itself stop download. Can't find such an option in pacman 4.1.


"Man kann ein Problem nicht mit den gleichen Denkstrukturen lösen, die zu seiner Entstehung beigetragen haben." (Albert Einstein)
"A problem cannot be solve at the same level of thinking at which it was created." (Albert Einstein)

Offline

#20 2013-04-29 12:06:47

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 11,904
Website

Re: [Solved] Pacman transfer speed check.

It's still called XferCommand?


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI MAG X570S TORPEDO MAX // Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X @4.9GHz // GFX: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 6x 1TB SSD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#21 2015-08-14 14:20:25

fzerorubigd
Member
Registered: 2011-06-19
Posts: 19

Re: [Solved] Pacman transfer speed check.

Since pacman 4.1 this problem is solved, Also the new Iran's election is not unrelated smile)) So I mark this as solved.

Offline

#22 2015-08-19 22:16:24

Xyne
Administrator/PM
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,963
Website

Re: [Solved] Pacman transfer speed check.

...and with that this thread can be closed smile


My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB