You are not logged in.

#1 2012-03-21 21:35:37

Crone
Member
Registered: 2012-03-21
Posts: 71

I login into Gnome and then it hangs

Hello everyone, i just installed Arch Linux (pretty cool stuff btw cheers big_smile) and i stepped in the weirdest problem ever.

After I installed Arch, I installed LXDE. But then i changed my mind and uninstalled LXDE with pacman -Rncs lxde (I am saying this because maybe this uninstalled some extra packages). I did a full update with pacman after though.

So I went to Gnome...

After installing the gnome and gnome-extra package group and the gdm and making the configurations in /etc/inittabs I tried to login with gnome. But after I login (Through the gnome login screen with my user account and password) it looks like it hangs (it displays only the wallpaper and my mouse).
I can press ctrl-alt-delete however and logout. I can move the mouse aswell.

Edit: Ok so people seem to solve this issue by reinstalling libltdl and gnome-shell. Well this doesnt work for me.

I shall put some more info however

I installed wicd, and put it on the deamons list and disabled network deamon. But then I removed wicd and enabled network again. (Maybe unimportant but I am posting it)

I have dbus one the deamon array.

Also when i swap to tty1 the following message appears:

** (gdm-binary:1064): WARNING **: Failed to acquire org.gnome.DisplayManager
** (gdm-binary:1064): WARNING **: Could not acquire name; bailing out

Last edited by Crone (2012-03-22 00:06:09)

Offline

#2 2012-03-21 23:52:21

aking9
Member
Registered: 2009-03-30
Posts: 65

Re: I login into Gnome and then it hangs

can you run startx without any issues? I don't see where you said you installed gnome though after removing LXDE?

Offline

#3 2012-03-22 00:15:05

Crone
Member
Registered: 2012-03-21
Posts: 71

Re: I login into Gnome and then it hangs

Ok sorry the first post was a little messy after I edited it the first time, so I changed it a little and things should be clearer now.

Yes startx seems to be working fine, it loads 3 xterms and a clock

Last edited by Crone (2012-03-22 00:15:28)

Offline

#4 2012-03-22 00:18:47

aking9
Member
Registered: 2009-03-30
Posts: 65

Re: I login into Gnome and then it hangs

ok, so what's your inittab? I'm assuming that's how you launch gdm or do you go straight into gnome through .xinitrc?

Offline

#5 2012-03-22 00:22:35

Crone
Member
Registered: 2012-03-21
Posts: 71

Re: I login into Gnome and then it hangs

Yeah, from inittab

#
# /etc/inittab
#

#  Runlevels:
#    0    Halt
#    1(S)	Single-user
#    2    Not used
#    3    Multi-user
#    4    Not used
#    5    X11
#    6    Reboot

## Only one of the following two lines can be uncommented!
# Boot to console
#id:3:initdefault:
# Boot to X11
id:5:initdefault:

rc::sysinit:/etc/rc.sysinit
rs:S1:wait:/etc/rc.single
rm:2345:wait:/etc/rc.multi
rh:06:wait:/etc/rc.shutdown
su:S:wait:/sbin/sulogin -p

# -8 options fixes umlauts problem on login
c1:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty -8 -s 38400 tty1 linux
c2:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty -8 -s 38400 tty2 linux
c3:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty -8 -s 38400 tty3 linux
c4:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty -8 -s 38400 tty4 linux
c5:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty -8 -s 38400 tty5 linux
c6:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty -8 -s 38400 tty6 linux

# Serial Virtual Console for KVM and others VMs
#s0:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty -8 -s 9600 ttyS0 linux

# Hypervisor Virtual Console for Xen and KVM
#h0:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty -8 -s 38400 hvc0 linux

ca::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/shutdown -t3 -r now

# Example lines for starting a login manager
#x:5:respawn:/usr/bin/xdm -nodaemon
x:5:respawn:/usr/sbin/gdm -nodaemon
#x:5:respawn:/usr/bin/kdm -nodaemon
#x:5:respawn:/usr/bin/slim >/dev/null 2>&1
# End of file
xt:5:wait::/usr/bin/chvt 7

Also my VGA is an ATI radeon 5850 and I am using the open source radeon driver

Last edited by Crone (2012-03-22 00:33:27)

Offline

#6 2012-03-22 10:58:56

Crone
Member
Registered: 2012-03-21
Posts: 71

Re: I login into Gnome and then it hangs

Bump

Offline

#7 2012-03-22 17:06:47

shulamy
Member
From: israel
Registered: 2010-09-11
Posts: 400

Re: I login into Gnome and then it hangs

i had a problem with cinnamon becouse of the ati driver.

so try removing it, at least just for  a trial session.

ezik

Offline

#8 2012-03-22 22:33:35

Crone
Member
Registered: 2012-03-21
Posts: 71

Re: I login into Gnome and then it hangs

Nope removing the driver did not help. In fact it wouldn't even show the login screen. Does the error displayed on the tty1 mean nothing? I googled it but people on the internet doesn't seem to have a solution.

Offline

#9 2012-03-22 22:55:32

Crone
Member
Registered: 2012-03-21
Posts: 71

Re: I login into Gnome and then it hangs

Common guys gimme a hand here.I really wanna start playing with arch. I mean i don't wanna give up but I might aswell go back to LXDE with fluxbox/openbox

Offline

#10 2012-03-22 23:19:51

aking9
Member
Registered: 2009-03-30
Posts: 65

Re: I login into Gnome and then it hangs

you shouldn't need the gnome-extra group, try removing that in case there's a conflict somewhere.

Offline

#11 2012-03-22 23:39:16

Crone
Member
Registered: 2012-03-21
Posts: 71

Re: I login into Gnome and then it hangs

Aight I killed gdm first with pkill -f gdm. I run it couple of times just in case. Then I unistalled gnome-extra, but I saw that it tried to remove gdm aswell. It reported command failed to execute correctly. However after the unistallation finished gdm was removed. I rebooted and I obciously booted to tty1. I intalled gdm alone, rebooted again and the issue persists. Login hangs at wallpaper.

Offline

#12 2012-03-22 23:46:09

aking9
Member
Registered: 2009-03-30
Posts: 65

Re: I login into Gnome and then it hangs

did you change anything with the session settings when logging in through gdm? You shouldn't need to unless you're using cinnamon

edit, have you modified any part of /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/* ?

Last edited by aking9 (2012-03-22 23:48:17)

Offline

#13 2012-03-22 23:49:51

mandog
Member
From: Peru
Registered: 2008-09-17
Posts: 211

Re: I login into Gnome and then it hangs

you  don't need to use init to start gnome you don't need to remove gnome extras, put gdm in etc/rc.conf like this thats all you need to do.
DAEMONS=(dbus networkmanager @acpid @syslog-ng gdm ) dbus must be 1st gdm last. @are to start in the background


I'm dyslexic Please do not complain about puntuation or spelling and remember most dyslexic people have above average iq.

Offline

#14 2012-03-22 23:51:52

Crone
Member
Registered: 2012-03-21
Posts: 71

Re: I login into Gnome and then it hangs

@aking9
Session settings? I am not sure what you mean but besides installing gdm with pacman I didn't edit any gdm related files.

No I didn't edit xorg.conf.d either

@ mandog

I tried also to start gdm as a deamon, actually in the last couple of tries I did it this way. And I have commented the inittabs file properly so it doesnt try to start gdm from there aswell. No success though

edit: for the record my deamon array now is: DEAMONS=(dbus network @syslog-ng crond gdm)
edit2: The warning in the tty is gone btw, guess it had to do something with gnome-extra so irrelevant to the issue probably.

Last edited by Crone (2012-03-23 00:19:14)

Offline

#15 2012-07-19 20:44:41

bmanuel
Member
Registered: 2011-10-06
Posts: 106

Re: I login into Gnome and then it hangs

I've quite the same problem, but only at the first login, once i logout and re-login then it magically works fine.
I never had this problem before, but i'm unable to track it down to a specific package update ;-/

Offline

#16 2012-07-19 21:13:14

nomorewindows
Member
Registered: 2010-04-03
Posts: 3,175

Re: I login into Gnome and then it hangs

Does your .xinitrc read correctly with exec ck-launch-session gnome-session?
Try running without /etc/X11/xorg.conf?
The gnome-shell/libltdl worked for me.
I'm finding gnome to behave strange in certain situations, how about trying xfce4?  It's more tolerant and easier to get around if something does go weird.

Last edited by nomorewindows (2012-07-19 21:20:20)


I may have to CONSOLE you about your usage of ridiculously easy graphical interfaces...
Look ma, no mouse.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB