You are not logged in.

#1 2012-03-27 19:56:27

killnine
Member
Registered: 2011-12-14
Posts: 62

[SOLVED] Where does "Arch Linux" and "Arch Linux Fallback" differ?

Where does "Arch Linux" and "Arch Linux Fallback" differ?

I have two of the exact same systems (hardware-wise) (motherboard is a Jetway NF98). One of the systems boots the freshly installed Arch distro from either the standard or the fallback. The other will *only* boot the fallback. Below is a diff of the dmesgs without the time column.

Can anyone point me to what SATA difference is missing from the standard that the fallback does not fail on?

-installed to 1GB sata-dom using archlinux-2011.08.19-core-i686.iso on USB thumb drive
-1 partition, boot command using root=/dev/sda1
-config.gz diffs yield no difference

The failing error is "Unable to determine major/minor number root device /dev/sda"

# diff normal.txt fallback.txt
57,59c57,59
< [   RAMDISK: 7fe11000 - 7fff0000
< [   Allocated new RAMDISK: 3761f000 - 377fdbcd
< [   Move RAMDISK from 000000007fe11000 - 000000007ffefbcc to 3761f000 - 377fdbcc
---
> [   RAMDISK: 7f6ba000 - 7fff0000
> [   Allocated new RAMDISK: 36ec8000 - 377fdcf1
> [   Move RAMDISK from 000000007f6ba000 - 000000007ffefcf0 to 36ec8000 - 377fdcf0
88c88
< [   free_area_init_node: node 0, pgdat c05adc80, node_mem_map f5cae200
---
> [   free_area_init_node: node 0, pgdat c05adc80, node_mem_map f5557200
122c122
< [   PERCPU: Embedded 12 pages/cpu @f5800000 s25472 r0 d23680 u1048576
---
> [   PERCPU: Embedded 12 pages/cpu @f5000000 s25472 r0 d23680 u1048576
134c134
< [   Memory: 3284312k/3334144k available (3415k kernel code, 48328k reserved, 1406k data, 500k init, 2423808k highmem)
---
> [   Memory: 3276796k/3334144k available (3415k kernel code, 55844k reserved, 1406k data, 500k init, 2423808k highmem)
148c148
< [   CPU 0 irqstacks, hard=f440e000 soft=f4420000
---
> [   CPU 0 irqstacks, hard=f3c0e000 soft=f3c20000
154,155c154,155
< [   Detected 2526.502 MHz processor.
< [   Calibrating delay loop (skipped), value calculated using timer frequency.. 5055.54 BogoMIPS (lpj=8421673)
---
> [   Detected 2527.024 MHz processor.
> [   Calibrating delay loop (skipped), value calculated using timer frequency.. 5056.63 BogoMIPS (lpj=8423413)
185c185
< [   CPU 1 irqstacks, hard=f44f4000 soft=f44f6000
---
> [   CPU 1 irqstacks, hard=f3cf4000 soft=f3cf6000
190c190
< [   CPU 2 irqstacks, hard=f4502000 soft=f4504000
---
> [   CPU 2 irqstacks, hard=f3d02000 soft=f3d04000
195c195
< [   CPU 3 irqstacks, hard=f4530000 soft=f4532000
---
> [   CPU 3 irqstacks, hard=f3d30000 soft=f3d32000
201c201
< [   Total of 4 processors activated (20221.06 BogoMIPS).
---
> [   Total of 4 processors activated (20222.16 BogoMIPS).
325a326
> [   Switched to NOHz mode on CPU #3
328d328
< [   Switched to NOHz mode on CPU #3
448c448
< [   Freeing initrd memory: 1916k freed
---
> [   Freeing initrd memory: 9432k freed
451c451
< [   type=2000 audit(1332861559.789:1): initialized
---
> [   type=2000 audit(1332861689.836:1): initialized
485c485
< [   rtc_cmos 00:08: setting system clock to 2012-03-27 15:19:21 UTC (1332861561)
---
> [   rtc_cmos 00:08: setting system clock to 2012-03-27 15:21:31 UTC (1332861691)
538a539
> [   ata3: SATA link up 3.0 Gbps (SStatus 123 SControl 300)
540,542d540
< [   ata5: SATA link down (SStatus 0 SControl 300)
< [   ata4: SATA link down (SStatus 0 SControl 300)
< [   ata1: SATA link down (SStatus 0 SControl 300)
544d541
< [   ata3: SATA link up 3.0 Gbps (SStatus 123 SControl 300)
546a544,546
> [   ata1: SATA link down (SStatus 0 SControl 300)
> [   ata5: SATA link down (SStatus 0 SControl 300)
> [   ata4: SATA link down (SStatus 0 SControl 300)
554a555
> [   sd 2:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg0 type 0
560,561c561,564
< [   usb 1-1.3: new full speed USB device number 3 using ehci_hcd
< [   udevd[238]: starting version 173
---
> [   usb 1-1.2: new low speed USB device number 3 using ehci_hcd
> [   usb 1-1.3: new full speed USB device number 4 using ehci_hcd
> [   udevd[225]: starting version 173
> [   ACPI: acpi_idle yielding to intel_idle
566c569,583
< [   ACPI: acpi_idle yielding to intel_idle
---
> [   thermal LNXTHERM:00: registered as thermal_zone0
> [   ACPI: Thermal Zone [THRM] (35 C)
> [   Linux agpgart interface v0.103
> [   mei: module is from the staging directory, the quality is unknown, you have been warned.
> [   mei 0000:00:16.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
> [   mei 0000:00:16.0: setting latency timer to 64
> [   i801_smbus 0000:00:1f.3: PCI INT C -> GSI 18 (level, low) -> IRQ 18
> [   iTCO_vendor_support: vendor-support=0
> [   intel ips 0000:00:1f.6: CPU TDP doesn't match expected value (found 25, expected 29)
> [   intel ips 0000:00:1f.6: PCI INT C -> GSI 18 (level, low) -> IRQ 18
> [   intel ips 0000:00:1f.6: failed to get i915 symbols, graphics turbo disabled
> [   intel ips 0000:00:1f.6: IPS driver initialized, MCP temp limit 90
> [   iTCO_wdt: Intel TCO WatchDog Timer Driver v1.06
> [   iTCO_wdt: Found a QM57 TCO device (Version=2, TCOBASE=0x0460)
> [   iTCO_wdt: initialized. heartbeat=30 sec (nowayout=0)
568a586
> [   input: PC Speaker as /devices/platform/pcspkr/input/input3
571,572d588
< [   thermal LNXTHERM:00: registered as thermal_zone0
< [   ACPI: Thermal Zone [THRM] (36 C)
573a590,593
> [   agpgart-intel 0000:00:00.0: Intel HD Graphics Chipset
> [   agpgart-intel 0000:00:00.0: detected gtt size: 2097152K total, 262144K mappable
> [   agpgart-intel 0000:00:00.0: detected 32768K stolen memory
> [   agpgart-intel 0000:00:00.0: AGP aperture is 256M @ 0xd0000000
574a595,598
> [   lirc_dev: IR Remote Control driver registered, major 250
> [   IR LIRC bridge handler initialized
> [   input: Dell Dell USB Keyboard as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1a.0/usb1/1-1/1-1.2/1-1.2:1.0/input/input4
> [   generic-usb 0003:413C:2003.0001: input,hidraw0: USB HID v1.10 Keyboard [Dell Dell USB Keyboard] on usb-0000:00:1a.0-1.2/input0
576c600
< [   input: Fintek LPC SuperIO Consumer IR Transceiver as /devices/pnp0/00:06/rc/rc0/input3
---
> [   input: Fintek LPC SuperIO Consumer IR Transceiver as /devices/pnp0/00:06/rc/rc0/input5
577a602
> [   rc rc0: lirc_dev: driver ir-lirc-codec (fintek-cir) registered at minor = 0
579,581c604,609
< [   Linux agpgart interface v0.103
< [   i801_smbus 0000:00:1f.3: PCI INT C -> GSI 18 (level, low) -> IRQ 18
< [   lirc_dev: IR Remote Control driver registered, major 252
---
> [   i8042: Can't write CTR while closing AUX port
> [   input: ITUNER INC USB-LCD-20x2 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1a.0/usb1/1-1/1-1.3/1-1.3:1.0/input/input6
> [   generic-usb 0003:04D8:0002.0002: input,hiddev0,hidraw1: USB HID v1.01 Device [ITUNER INC USB-LCD-20x2] on usb-0000:00:1a.0-1.3/input0
> [   usbcore: registered new interface driver usbhid
> [   usbhid: USB HID core driver
> [   i8042: Can't reactivate AUX port
587,595c615
< [   mei: module is from the staging directory, the quality is unknown, you have been warned.
< [   iTCO_vendor_support: vendor-support=0
< [   iTCO_wdt: Intel TCO WatchDog Timer Driver v1.06
< [   iTCO_wdt: Found a QM57 TCO device (Version=2, TCOBASE=0x0460)
< [   iTCO_wdt: initialized. heartbeat=30 sec (nowayout=0)
< [   sd 2:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg0 type 0
< [   rc rc0: lirc_dev: driver ir-lirc-codec (fintek-cir) registered at minor = 0
< [   IR LIRC bridge handler initialized
< [   input: PC Speaker as /devices/platform/pcspkr/input/input4
---
> [   [drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810
599,610d618
< [   agpgart-intel 0000:00:00.0: Intel HD Graphics Chipset
< [   agpgart-intel 0000:00:00.0: detected gtt size: 2097152K total, 262144K mappable
< [   agpgart-intel 0000:00:00.0: detected 32768K stolen memory
< [   i8042: Can't write CTR while closing AUX port
< [   i8042: Can't reactivate AUX port
< [   agpgart-intel 0000:00:00.0: AGP aperture is 256M @ 0xd0000000
< [   mei 0000:00:16.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
< [   mei 0000:00:16.0: setting latency timer to 64
< [   intel ips 0000:00:1f.6: CPU TDP doesn't match expected value (found 25, expected 29)
< [   intel ips 0000:00:1f.6: PCI INT C -> GSI 18 (level, low) -> IRQ 18
< [   intel ips 0000:00:1f.6: failed to get i915 symbols, graphics turbo disabled
< [   intel ips 0000:00:1f.6: IPS driver initialized, MCP temp limit 90
617,621d624
< [   input: ITUNER INC USB-LCD-20x2 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1a.0/usb1/1-1/1-1.3/1-1.3:1.0/input/input5
< [   generic-usb 0003:04D8:0002.0001: input,hiddev0,hidraw0: USB HID v1.01 Device [ITUNER INC USB-LCD-20x2] on usb-0000:00:1a.0-1.3/input0
< [   usbcore: registered new interface driver usbhid
< [   usbhid: USB HID core driver
< [   input: HDA Intel HDMI/DP as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/sound/card0/input6
624c627
< [   [drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810
---
> [   input: HDA Intel HDMI/DP as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/sound/card0/input9
637c640
< [   input: Video Bus as /devices/LNXSYSTM:00/device:00/PNP0A08:00/LNXVIDEO:00/input/input9
---
> [   input: Video Bus as /devices/LNXSYSTM:00/device:00/PNP0A08:00/LNXVIDEO:00/input/input10
641,643d643
< [   usb 1-1.2: new low speed USB device number 4 using ehci_hcd
< [   input: Dell Dell USB Keyboard as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1a.0/usb1/1-1/1-1.2/1-1.2:1.0/input/input10
< [   generic-usb 0003:413C:2003.0002: input,hidraw1: USB HID v1.10 Keyboard [Dell Dell USB Keyboard] on usb-0000:00:1a.0-1.2/input0

Last edited by killnine (2012-03-29 19:51:15)

Offline

#2 2012-03-27 20:02:45

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 9,930
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Where does "Arch Linux" and "Arch Linux Fallback" differ?

I think fallback has the autodetect hook enabled by default whereas the standard image uses what the user defined.


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#3 2012-03-27 20:14:39

Nanthiel
Member
From: Slovenia
Registered: 2009-09-20
Posts: 148

Re: [SOLVED] Where does "Arch Linux" and "Arch Linux Fallback" differ?

I always use the autodetect hook. Is there a benefit to not use it? Also, if I always use it, the fallback image is useless to me then. Can I disable it?

Offline

#4 2012-03-27 20:23:51

alphaniner
Member
From: Ancapistan
Registered: 2010-07-12
Posts: 2,810

Re: [SOLVED] Where does "Arch Linux" and "Arch Linux Fallback" differ?

Quite the opposite, the fallback image ignores the autodetect hook:

/var/log/pacman.log

[2012-03-23 10:10] ==> Building image from preset: 'default'
...
[2012-03-23 10:10]   -> Parsing hook: [base]
[2012-03-23 10:10]   -> Parsing hook: [udev]
[2012-03-23 10:10]   -> Parsing hook: [autodetect]
[2012-03-23 10:10]   -> Parsing hook: [sata]
[2012-03-23 10:10]   -> Parsing hook: [lvm2]
[2012-03-23 10:10]   -> Parsing hook: [filesystems]
...
[2012-03-23 10:10] ==> Building image from preset: 'fallback'
...
[2012-03-23 10:10]   -> Parsing hook: [base]
[2012-03-23 10:10]   -> Parsing hook: [udev]
[2012-03-23 10:10]   -> Parsing hook: [sata]
[2012-03-23 10:10]   -> Parsing hook: [lvm2]
[2012-03-23 10:10]   -> Parsing hook: [filesystems]

I suppose this is because autodetect could presumably make a mistake and not include something necessary.


But whether the Constitution really be one thing, or another, this much is certain - that it has either authorized such a government as we have had, or has been powerless to prevent it. In either case, it is unfit to exist.
-Lysander Spooner

Offline

#5 2012-03-27 20:36:04

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 9,930
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Where does "Arch Linux" and "Arch Linux Fallback" differ?

alphaniner wrote:

Quite the opposite, the fallback image ignores the autodetect hook

Doh!  Guess I had that ass-backwards.,


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#6 2012-03-27 20:43:20

alphaniner
Member
From: Ancapistan
Registered: 2010-07-12
Posts: 2,810

Re: [SOLVED] Where does "Arch Linux" and "Arch Linux Fallback" differ?

I forgot to mention, you can use lsinitcpio to find out just what is contained in an image.


But whether the Constitution really be one thing, or another, this much is certain - that it has either authorized such a government as we have had, or has been powerless to prevent it. In either case, it is unfit to exist.
-Lysander Spooner

Offline

#7 2012-03-27 21:00:14

killnine
Member
Registered: 2011-12-14
Posts: 62

Re: [SOLVED] Where does "Arch Linux" and "Arch Linux Fallback" differ?

graysky wrote:

I think fallback has the autodetect hook enabled by default whereas the standard image uses what the user defined.

Hi,

I have been looking at your thread here (https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=103362&p=1) very thoroughly today. Thanks for it.

How can I determine this? EDIT-> With lsinitcpio as stated above?

Also, if I edit

 /etc/mkinitcpio.conf 

and remove autodetect, then

 mkinitcpio -p linux 

my non-fallback should boot like the fallback?

Last edited by killnine (2012-03-27 21:03:58)

Offline

#8 2012-03-28 01:35:46

stryder
Member
Registered: 2009-02-28
Posts: 500

Re: [SOLVED] Where does "Arch Linux" and "Arch Linux Fallback" differ?

The answer is yes, as you will then have the same set of config for both normal and fallback images. It doesn't make sense to do it and if that is what you want you can just edit your menu.lst to boot the fallback boot item as "normal".

Have you rebuilt your initrd images for the second computer? Usually when I have a problem booting I will then try the fallback (which is a more general image created to boot a broader spectrum of conditions). If I can boot successfully I will then rebuild the images and whatever was missing in the original will likely be corrected. Usually this happens when I clone an arch installation to another machine.

Offline

#9 2012-03-28 13:33:20

killnine
Member
Registered: 2011-12-14
Posts: 62

Re: [SOLVED] Where does "Arch Linux" and "Arch Linux Fallback" differ?

stryder wrote:

The answer is yes, as you will then have the same set of config for both normal and fallback images. It doesn't make sense to do it and if that is what you want you can just edit your menu.lst to boot the fallback boot item as "normal".

Have you rebuilt your initrd images for the second computer? Usually when I have a problem booting I will then try the fallback (which is a more general image created to boot a broader spectrum of conditions). If I can boot successfully I will then rebuild the images and whatever was missing in the original will likely be corrected. Usually this happens when I clone an arch installation to another machine.

That is exactly what I am doing. Trying to clone a machine. The trouble is I want to verify that the difference between the fallback and the default is indeed the autodetect, because like I said, one system boots default, the other does not, same hardware. Does this make sense to verify?

Offline

#10 2012-03-28 13:41:54

.:B:.
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2006-11-26
Posts: 5,819

Re: [SOLVED] Where does "Arch Linux" and "Arch Linux Fallback" differ?

If your kernel does not boot with the default RAM disk, that means there's something off with them. You should look at the error the kernel prints (or any errors you get) to fix it.


Got Leenucks? :: Arch: Power in simplicity :: Get Counted! Registered Linux User #392717 :: Blog thingy

Offline

#11 2012-03-28 14:01:08

alphaniner
Member
From: Ancapistan
Registered: 2010-07-12
Posts: 2,810

Re: [SOLVED] Where does "Arch Linux" and "Arch Linux Fallback" differ?

First, check the BIOS of each machine to ensure they are configured identically.  It is possible that differences in BIOS configuration could be the cause, for example SATA controllers in different modes.

killnine wrote:

The trouble is I want to verify that the difference between the fallback and the default is indeed the autodetect

Remove autodetect from HOOKS and run mkinitcpio -p linux.  Now, run lsinitcpio -a on the new images and see if they differ.  That will tell you if there are any differences between the two other than autodetect.  As I understand it they will be the same.

That said, I think the best course of action would be to rebuild the images on the problem machine as stryder suggested.

Last edited by alphaniner (2012-03-28 14:02:37)


But whether the Constitution really be one thing, or another, this much is certain - that it has either authorized such a government as we have had, or has been powerless to prevent it. In either case, it is unfit to exist.
-Lysander Spooner

Offline

#12 2012-03-28 14:42:04

killnine
Member
Registered: 2011-12-14
Posts: 62

Re: [SOLVED] Where does "Arch Linux" and "Arch Linux Fallback" differ?

Very good explanations. Thank you all. I will post the results after verifying the two BIOS are the same and run lsinitcpio.

Offline

#13 2012-03-29 01:17:27

stryder
Member
Registered: 2009-02-28
Posts: 500

Re: [SOLVED] Where does "Arch Linux" and "Arch Linux Fallback" differ?

killnine wrote:

That is exactly what I am doing. Trying to clone a machine. The trouble is I want to verify that the difference between the fallback and the default is indeed the autodetect, because like I said, one system boots default, the other does not, same hardware. Does this make sense to verify?

Don't quite know how major/minor is set--I vaguely remember falconindy tried to explain it somewhere--but it is reasonable to expect different hard disks to be different. For example uuids are different. The first image will capture all the specific info while the second is more generic. At least that is how I understand it. When you clone arch to another machine the difference is overcome by using the fallback image.

Offline

#14 2012-03-29 19:50:51

killnine
Member
Registered: 2011-12-14
Posts: 62

Re: [SOLVED] Where does "Arch Linux" and "Arch Linux Fallback" differ?

Okay, so it was the BIOS. Updated BIOS and had a successful boot. Also learned a great deal about default img and fallback img as well as initramfs. Thanks again!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB