You are not logged in.

#1 2005-07-16 21:07:54

jackmetal

Using Pacman to install packages not in repositories?

I'm fairly new to Arch, been using it for a couple months and have really liked it.  I've been using Linux since the early 90's though.  I have a limited understanding of pacman, but I'm trying to figure it out (along with ABS - which I haven't started using at all yet, though I want to..)  ;-)

My question:
I believe I can install additional packages (not in the repositories) by doing something like: pacman -A http://somehost.com/somefile.tar.gz
or by downloading it and then running the pacman -A on it..

Is that correct?

I'd like to use pacman to keep everything up to date (even progs that aren't in the repositories), but I don't even know where to start.  The main thing that got me thinking about it was things like keeping up to date on Firefox and Thunderbird, etc...   I know I can manually download them both and install them, but if I do that then pacman won't be able to update them in the future (or am I not understanding something)?

As always, thanks so much for your help.

--

Some of the world's greatest feats were
accomplished by people not smart enough
to know they were impossible.
-- Doug Larson

#2 2005-07-16 21:28:45

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow

Re: Using Pacman to install packages not in repositories?

fullmetaljack wrote:

I'm fairly new to Arch, been using it for a couple months and have really liked it.  I've been using Linux since the early 90's though.  I have a limited understanding of pacman, but I'm trying to figure it out (along with ABS - which I haven't started using at all yet, though I want to..)  ;-)

To start, you can read the man pages for pacman and makepkg. There's also info in the wiki. (which is currently not working for me right now)

fullmetaljack wrote:

My question:
I believe I can install additional packages (not in the repositories) by doing something like: pacman -A http://somehost.com/somefile.tar.gz