You are not logged in.

#1 2012-03-30 21:27:25

B3NW
Member
Registered: 2012-03-30
Posts: 17

Stuck on Generating master-key

After a fresh install, I connected to my wireless network,
I ran "pacman -Syy" to check mirrors were up to date,
I then proceded to run "pacman -Syu" to update the OS,
after my OS updated, (It seemed to update pacman) it told me to run "pacman-key --init".

When I run "pacman-key --init" it hangs, it does not display anything after the message which says it's generating (No message about entropy, I've seen a lot of "fixes" mentioning an error about it). Sometimes it does not allow me to send an interrupt with Ctrl + C.

I've attempted changing the gpg server to no avail.

I'd really appreciate help, thanks in advance!

PS: If you need more clarity, just drop me a reply about what you'd like clarifying.

Offline

#2 2012-03-31 02:21:40

hadrons123
Member
From: chennai
Registered: 2011-10-07
Posts: 1,249

Re: Stuck on Generating master-key


LENOVO Y 580 IVYBRIDGE 660M NVIDIA
Unix is user-friendly. It just isn't promiscuous about which users it's friendly with. - Steven King

Offline

#3 2012-03-31 11:43:10

B3NW
Member
Registered: 2012-03-30
Posts: 17

Re: Stuck on Generating master-key

When I tried to compile the thing it had an error along the lines of "rgnd is not a url or a folder", to which it created a folder named "src" and inside was a tar file, but it was not the file with the .xz (I think that's the compiled extension) extension, so pacman complains it's corrupt or invalid.

Out of interest, with that method, is SSH needed or can it be run, then pacman key init run? Or is SSH vital?

Offline

#4 2012-03-31 12:06:26

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: Stuck on Generating master-key

Running 'updatedb' should be enough, no need to play with the other methods unless you are accessing the machine in question over ssh.

Offline

#5 2012-03-31 12:10:04

hadrons123
Member
From: chennai
Registered: 2011-10-07
Posts: 1,249

Re: Stuck on Generating master-key

All i said was how to collect more entrophy.

We will start over.
What was the output after you type?

pacman-key --init 

and do a updatedb in another terminal.

Last edited by hadrons123 (2012-03-31 12:11:07)


LENOVO Y 580 IVYBRIDGE 660M NVIDIA
Unix is user-friendly. It just isn't promiscuous about which users it's friendly with. - Steven King

Offline

#6 2012-03-31 12:15:38

B3NW
Member
Registered: 2012-03-30
Posts: 17

Re: Stuck on Generating master-key

hadrons123 wrote:

All i said was how to collect more entrophy.

We will start over.
What was the output after you type?

pacman-key --init 

On the first run, it generates the folder it needs etc, it will then just stick on the "Generating master-key" (Along those lines) message, no response from the command at all (I've checked upwards of 20 minutes). Sometimes it will not let me interrupt the command either, when I try ctrl + x it just prints the button presses into the line below.

Offline

#7 2012-03-31 12:16:23

B3NW
Member
Registered: 2012-03-30
Posts: 17

Re: Stuck on Generating master-key

karol wrote:

Running 'updatedb' should be enough, no need to play with the other methods unless you are accessing the machine in question over ssh.

If I remember correctly, it gave me some error about the command not existing.

Offline

#8 2012-03-31 12:20:37

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: Stuck on Generating master-key

Install mlocate.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/FA … is_X_in.3F

Last edited by karol (2012-03-31 12:21:25)

Offline

#9 2012-03-31 12:30:53

B3NW
Member
Registered: 2012-03-30
Posts: 17

Re: Stuck on Generating master-key

Okay, what should I do with it however?

Offline

#10 2012-03-31 12:35:32

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: Stuck on Generating master-key

Run 'updatedb' in one virtual console and 'pacman-key --init' in another.
If you lacked entropy, this should help.

Offline

#11 2012-03-31 12:38:01

B3NW
Member
Registered: 2012-03-30
Posts: 17

Re: Stuck on Generating master-key

karol wrote:

Run 'updatedb' in one virtual console and 'pacman-key --init' in another.
If you lacked entropy, this should help.

Okay thanks, please bare with me on this one, but how do I open two consoles? Note: I'm not using a GUI here, nor do I think I'd be able to install screen or similar without pacman letting me downloading anything.

Offline

#12 2012-03-31 12:42:14

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: Stuck on Generating master-key

Switch to another virtual console with Alt-Fn where n is 1..6.

Offline

#13 2012-03-31 12:50:30

B3NW
Member
Registered: 2012-03-30
Posts: 17

Re: Stuck on Generating master-key

karol wrote:

Switch to another virtual console with Alt-Fn where n is 1..6.

That's very useful, I didn't know that was possible, tyvm smile

Offline

#14 2012-03-31 12:54:13

hadrons123
Member
From: chennai
Registered: 2011-10-07
Posts: 1,249

Re: Stuck on Generating master-key

were you  able to collect enough entrophy and generete key?

Last edited by hadrons123 (2012-03-31 12:54:50)


LENOVO Y 580 IVYBRIDGE 660M NVIDIA
Unix is user-friendly. It just isn't promiscuous about which users it's friendly with. - Steven King

Offline

#15 2012-03-31 13:09:54

B3NW
Member
Registered: 2012-03-30
Posts: 17

Re: Stuck on Generating master-key

hadrons123 wrote:

were you  able to collect enough entrophy and generete key?

It does not say anything after "gpg: Generating pacman keychain master key..."

Offline

#16 2012-03-31 13:12:09

B3NW
Member
Registered: 2012-03-30
Posts: 17

Re: Stuck on Generating master-key

karol wrote:

Run 'updatedb' in one virtual console and 'pacman-key --init' in another.
If you lacked entropy, this should help.


Okay, I've done that however it is still stuck on "gpg: Generating pacman keychain master key..."

Maybe I'm not waiting long enough, how long should it take?

Ohh and updatedb finished instantly, is it supposed to do that?

Last edited by B3NW (2012-03-31 13:13:08)

Offline

#17 2012-03-31 13:17:30

B3NW
Member
Registered: 2012-03-30
Posts: 17

Re: Stuck on Generating master-key

Update: It managed to work, I don't know whether it was just a time thing or the fact I opened 5 consoles and typed "ls -R /" in each of them to try cause some IO -.-

However it has worked.

Thanks to Karol and Hadrons! smile

Offline

#18 2012-03-31 13:17:56

hadrons123
Member
From: chennai
Registered: 2011-10-07
Posts: 1,249

Re: Stuck on Generating master-key

It depends upon on your computer i guess , i did it once, it must have been like less than 2 minutes.

You did try both the activities in seperate terminals right?
sorry if the question is very basic.

edit:
Don't forget to mark this thread as solved, by editing your first post.

Last edited by hadrons123 (2012-03-31 13:19:52)


LENOVO Y 580 IVYBRIDGE 660M NVIDIA
Unix is user-friendly. It just isn't promiscuous about which users it's friendly with. - Steven King

Offline

#19 2012-03-31 13:19:19

B3NW
Member
Registered: 2012-03-30
Posts: 17

Re: Stuck on Generating master-key

hadrons123 wrote:

It depends upon on your computer i guess , i did it once, it must have been like less than 2 minutes.

You did try both the activities in seperate terminals right?
sorry if the question is very basic.

For clarity in case anyone stumbles across this with the same issue, yes I did run the updatedb in a second terminal.

Offline

#20 2012-04-03 02:08:23

a7
Member
Registered: 2012-04-01
Posts: 24

Re: Stuck on Generating master-key

I've mentioned this elsewhere but haveged in community is perfect for this. 

It generates and dumps into the pool where /dev/random and /dev/urandom both pull from.  The reason you see suggestions involving hard-disk work is because the kernel presently fills entropy needs from hardware interrupts.  Since user interaction is seemingly random from the kernels perspective.  However maybe your machine is hardware light and thus your entropy pool is as well.

Haveged will greatly increase you entropy and you don't even have to leave the daemon running all the time if you are are not digesting large amounts of entropy.


ex-gentoo && .9 lurker

Offline

#21 2012-04-12 16:05:40

deficite
Member
From: Augusta, GA
Registered: 2005-06-02
Posts: 693

Re: Stuck on Generating master-key

I know this topic is a bit old now, but do you think a message to tell the user to generate entropy when running the command to generate the keyring may be a good idea? I can see how someone who's just getting into Arch could run that command and sit there for quite some time wondering if it'd ever finish, when they could just do some other stuff in the background and be good.

Last edited by deficite (2012-04-12 16:06:15)

Offline

#22 2012-04-12 17:06:45

.:B:.
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2006-11-26
Posts: 5,819
Website

Re: Stuck on Generating master-key

You will be prompted when pacman-key finds there is not enough entropy available. That was already the case with the first pacman 4 version afaik.


Got Leenucks? :: Arch: Power in simplicity :: Get Counted! Registered Linux User #392717 :: Blog thingy

Offline

#23 2012-06-04 17:57:05

quakersq
Member
Registered: 2012-06-04
Posts: 1

Re: Stuck on Generating master-key

Old post, I know... But, I use Synergy (http://synergy-foss.org/)

To get this to work I had to plug a mouse into the computer and shake it around...

Beat my head for a little before realizing this. Hope someone finds this helpful

Last edited by quakersq (2012-06-04 17:57:37)

Offline

#24 2012-06-05 13:21:06

ozar
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2005-02-18
Posts: 1,685

Re: Stuck on Generating master-key

I too ran into the "generating master-key" hang issue, but opening another console and doing some things in it seemed to work fine for getting past this problem.

Thanks to all that have contributed to the solution.


oz

Offline

#25 2012-06-14 03:38:13

MilesRedfield
Member
Registered: 2010-09-22
Posts: 8

Re: Stuck on Generating master-key

Also able to verify that pacman-key --init fails silently and runs forever with no output unless you plug in a mouse and move it around for a bit.


I logged this as a bug here
https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/30286

Last edited by MilesRedfield (2012-06-14 03:40:02)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB