You are not logged in.

#1 2012-04-06 21:03:57

inp3dance
Member
Registered: 2008-06-23
Posts: 106

Packer can't fetch information from AUR

Hi,

Here is a strange think I have both packer and yaourt wrappers installed on a fairly fresh Archlinux box (installed about a week ago). One day packer stopped working, I can't search AUR or install from AUR, but other things, like install a package from a repositori, or search packages in repositories is working.
The strange thing is that yaourt is working fine, I can install with it from AUR - but I like packer more, because I did not figured out how to set up yaourt to use my predefined temporary directories to download and compile stuff, and also where to save the created packages - but this is a bit offtopic.

So does anybody have an idea what happened? I can't figure out, I did not modified any packer related stuff. I tried to reinstall packer, but it did not solved the problem.
Thank you!

Offline

#2 2012-04-06 21:26:20

examon
Member
Registered: 2011-05-07
Posts: 208

Re: Packer can't fetch information from AUR

Please describe more what's with packer... what happens if you want to use packer? It will crash, freeze or hang without any error messages?

Offline

#3 2012-04-06 21:44:39

inp3dance
Member
Registered: 2008-06-23
Posts: 106

Re: Packer can't fetch information from AUR

examon wrote:

Please describe more what's with packer... what happens if you want to use packer? It will crash, freeze or hang without any error messages?

Well, it does not crash, no error messages, just does not finds stuff on AUR.
An example: I search for graphicssystem (packer -Ss graphicssystem), it hangs for a while (about a minute) and displays nothing, while if I do the same with yaourt, it finds the aur/kcm-qt-graphicssystem package.

Offline

#4 2012-04-06 21:46:22

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,424

Re: Packer can't fetch information from AUR

Which version of packer are you using?

Last edited by karol (2012-04-06 21:46:37)

Offline

#5 2012-04-06 22:28:26

inp3dance
Member
Registered: 2008-06-23
Posts: 106

Re: Packer can't fetch information from AUR

karol wrote:

Which version of packer are you using?

I installed it with yaourt and yaourt -Ss packer says

aur/packer 20120302-1 [installed: 20120405-1] (943)
    Bash wrapper for pacman and aur

I have a 32bit system, up to date.

Offline

#6 2012-04-06 22:59:17

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,424

Re: Packer can't fetch information from AUR

'pacman -Q packer' is the right way to get version info :-)

There are some threads about problems with packer, e.g. https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1082859 but I don't see anyone having problems like yours recently, although in February these was a similar-looking issue: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 5#p1059145

Offline

#7 2012-04-17 12:54:04

inp3dance
Member
Registered: 2008-06-23
Posts: 106

Re: Packer can't fetch information from AUR

I just tried packer and now it works. I think it was some dependenc not working ... or I don't know. The rolling release gives sometimes problems, but no system is perfect.

Offline

#8 2012-04-24 16:01:50

walterjwhite
Member
Registered: 2011-05-01
Posts: 207

Re: Packer can't fetch information from AUR

I seem to be having this problem on my 32-bit machines after I build an image.  After I boot up to the system, packer doesn't appear to work, but I can get it working from a chrooted environment.


Walter

Offline

#9 2012-05-09 18:37:55

walterjwhite
Member
Registered: 2011-05-01
Posts: 207

Re: Packer can't fetch information from AUR

Hi,

This is the error I get on my 32-bit machine:

    Console-based AOL Instant Messenger & IRC client
* About to connect() to aur.archlinux.org port 443 (#0)
*   Trying 208.92.232.29...
* connected
* Connected to aur.archlinux.org (208.92.232.29) port 443 (#0)
* successfully set certificate verify locations:
*   CAfile: /etc/ssl/certs/ca-certificates.crt
  CApath: none
* SSLv3, TLS handshake, Client hello (1):
} [data not shown]
* SSLv3, TLS handshake, Server hello (2):
{ [data not shown]
* SSLv3, TLS handshake, CERT (11):
{ [data not shown]
* SSLv3, TLS alert, Server hello (2):
} [data not shown]
* SSL certificate problem, verify that the CA cert is OK. Details:
error:14090086:SSL routines:SSL3_GET_SERVER_CERTIFICATE:certificate verify failed
* Closing connection #0

The interesting thing is the ca certificate file on my 32-bit machine is identical to my 64-bit machine, is there another file it is looking at or another configuration file that is telling it to do something differently, or is the 32-bit binary doing something differently?


Walter

Offline

#10 2012-05-09 21:21:19

inp3dance
Member
Registered: 2008-06-23
Posts: 106

Re: Packer can't fetch information from AUR

I have no problems with packer since I posted, having a 32bit system here too.

Offline

#11 2012-07-05 05:38:11

Auston Jary
Member
Registered: 2010-07-12
Posts: 6
Website

Re: Packer can't fetch information from AUR

The same problem...
does not crash, no error messages, just does not finds stuff on AUR.

pacman -Q packer
packer 20120705-1

Offline

#12 2012-07-05 19:16:20

walterjwhite
Member
Registered: 2011-05-01
Posts: 207

Re: Packer can't fetch information from AUR

Hi,

Just out of curiousity ... Can you guys check your system date?

Apparently my clock battery is dead as it keeps resetting to the manufacture date when it is restarted.


Walter

Offline

#13 2012-07-05 19:26:15

ConnorBehan
Trusted User (TU)
From: Long Island NY
Registered: 2007-07-05
Posts: 1,356
Website

Re: Packer can't fetch information from AUR

Could it be related to this?


6EA3 F3F3 B908 2632 A9CB E931 D53A 0445 B47A 0DAB
Great things come in tar.xz packages.

Offline

#14 2012-07-05 19:31:47

walterjwhite
Member
Registered: 2011-05-01
Posts: 207

Re: Packer can't fetch information from AUR

Hi Connor,

No, that is unrelated in my particular case.  When I updated my clock to the correct date/time, I could use AUR once again.


Walter

Offline

#15 2012-07-08 23:15:45

fatalfurry
Member
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 9

Re: Packer can't fetch information from AUR

I am having this exact issue. inp3dance do you know what fixed your issue?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB