You are not logged in.

#1 2012-04-12 20:45:01

Shahe1993
Member
Registered: 2012-04-12
Posts: 5

How to enable Gnome as my default DE?

Well I have successfully installed Gnome through pacman, using pacman -S gnome. Now I need to know how to enable it. Thanks in advance.

Offline

#2 2012-04-12 21:30:11

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 12,965

Re: How to enable Gnome as my default DE?


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Like you, I have no idea what you are doing, but I am pretty sure it is wrong...Jasonwryan
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Online

#3 2012-04-12 21:32:17

Shahe1993
Member
Registered: 2012-04-12
Posts: 5

Re: How to enable Gnome as my default DE?

I do read you know, though it is not clarifying enough for me, that's why I post here

Offline

#4 2012-04-12 21:41:10

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 18,810
Website

Re: How to enable Gnome as my default DE?

Read the Forum Etiquette entry on How to Post and visit the link to How to Ask Questions the Smart Way.

Also, don't expect people to hold your hand with Arch: if you have difficulty understanding the excellent documentation on the wiki, then you are going to struggle.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#5 2012-04-12 22:50:02

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 12,965

Re: How to enable Gnome as my default DE?

Shahe1993 wrote:

I do read you know

That is an assertion I never take for granted.

What is unclear, and we can try to help.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Like you, I have no idea what you are doing, but I am pretty sure it is wrong...Jasonwryan
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Online

#6 2012-04-13 01:01:31

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: How to enable Gnome as my default DE?

Btw since you use Gnome, you may want to install gdm as your login manager:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Gdm#Installation

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB