You are not logged in.

#1 2012-04-20 01:59:03

plenus

[solved] How to install with old BIOS + 60GB SSD + 3TB HDD + fulldisk?

I'm new to archlinux and this will be my first install. I use Debian and Kubuntu, but I'm no expert. I've read many archlinux docs (and they *are good*, congatulations), but I couldn't find specifics to what I want to do.

My system is a desktop box (6GB RAM) that I use for video editing, compiling, browsing and many other unrelated things. What I plan to do is to organize things in the following way:

SSD (60GB): first disk (for a fast boot up time) with only one partition, ext4
/ and everything, except for /home and /var

HDD (3TB): second disk with only one partition, ext4
Mounted as /something
Symlinks (or bind mounts) to /var and /home

My reason to use only one partition for / and one for /home and /var is to not have to worry about balancing partition sizes among system files, user files, web server files, etc.

Could you please comment on the following:

1) It seems that I can't use a a regular partition larger than 2.2TB, so I will have to use GPT. Do I need (or is it recommended) to partition both disks with GPT? Does it work with non EFI BIOSes? Can I use a regular GRUB2 install?

2) What is the recommended way of installing arch using this set up? Do I install everything under the SSD and later move /var and /home to the HDD?

3) What is the best way to have the complete final root file system: using symlinks, bind mounts, or any other technique?

4) I deal with huge files and sometimes huge pictures and huge memory needs (Blender 3D, GIMP and Inkscape with huge files, radiosity rendering, etc). I've read that a swap partition is not needed nowadays. So I was thinking of creating just a swap file inside the HDD partition. Would it degrade too much the HDD performance or fragmentation? Could it be used for hibernation?