You are not logged in.

#1 2012-04-22 02:16:02

zyke
Member
Registered: 2012-04-22
Posts: 7

[SOLVED] Problem upgrading PacketTracer 5.3.2-2 -> 5.3.3-1

I've earlier successfully installed Cisco PacketTracer but I seem to have forgotten how I did.
I need to upgrade to the newest version, 5.3.3-1.

I have downloaded the tar.gz file from Ciscos web, the only problem I have is where the heck should I put the file?
I am using yaourt to automatically download the AUR files and to resolve dependencies.

I get the following error message:

==> ERROR: PacketTracer533_Generic_Fedora.tar.gz was not found in the build directory and is not a URL.
==> ERROR: Makepkg was unable to build packettracer.

In the PKGBUILD I have the following line:

source=( 'PacketTracer533_Generic_Fedora.tar.gz' 'packettracer' 'linguist' )
md5=('3 different md5 sums')

I've tried to change the source to /dir I have PT.tar.gz/PacketTracer... but that didn't work.

Could anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by zyke (2012-04-23 08:47:39)

Offline

#2 2012-04-22 09:48:07

x33a
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 3,178
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Problem upgrading PacketTracer 5.3.2-2 -> 5.3.3-1

Follow these steps (not tested):

1.  wget "https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/pa/p … cer.tar.gz"

2. tar xvzf packettracer.tar.gz

3. cd packettracer

Put the packet tracer (cisco) file in this directory.

4. makepkg -si

5. Enjoy (hopefully).

NOTE: make sure that the file you downloaded from cisco has this name: PacketTracer533_Generic_Fedora.tar.gz, and its md5sum matches the one mentioned in the PKGBUILD.

Offline

#3 2012-04-23 08:47:14

zyke
Member
Registered: 2012-04-22
Posts: 7

Re: [SOLVED] Problem upgrading PacketTracer 5.3.2-2 -> 5.3.3-1

Well thank you kind sir.

Worked flawlessly except step two where you forgot the switch "-".
BIG thanks, my CCNA studies will be a lot easier now ^^,

Offline

#4 2012-04-23 09:09:01

x33a
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 3,178
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Problem upgrading PacketTracer 5.3.2-2 -> 5.3.3-1

No problem.

zyke wrote:

Worked flawlessly except step two where you forgot the switch "-".

It works without the "-" switch too, try it wink

Offline

#5 2012-04-25 14:42:42

zyke
Member
Registered: 2012-04-22
Posts: 7

Re: [SOLVED] Problem upgrading PacketTracer 5.3.2-2 -> 5.3.3-1

oh it actually did, my bad ^^, thought the program would try to tar the xvzf into the packettracer.tar.gz
but maybe it's the reversed order, tar packettracer.tar.gz zvzf that does that part. except it wouldn't be a .gz file just tar 8-)
anyway, thanks a bunch big_smile

Offline

#6 2013-02-18 12:58:13

mystique
Member
Registered: 2012-12-04
Posts: 4

Re: [SOLVED] Problem upgrading PacketTracer 5.3.2-2 -> 5.3.3-1

Thank you..

worked perfectly as well..

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB