You are not logged in.

#1 2012-04-22 11:09:19

yellowjk
Member
From: Rhode Island
Registered: 2011-05-16
Posts: 18
Website

[Solved] Cannot find the strip binary

I just finished installing arch on my Lenovo TS200V with a 2 disk raid 1 + lvm setup.

the server is running fine, with no issues, however when I try to run makepkg I get the following error:
[ricky@arch package-query]$ makepkg
==> ERROR: Cannot find the strip binary required for object file stripping.

I apologize if this is a duplicate thread, but I have searched, and have not found anything.

thanks in advance

Last edited by yellowjk (2012-04-22 11:33:41)


Thinkpad T510 running x64 Arch
ThinkServer TS200V running x64 Arch

Offline

#2 2012-04-22 11:30:19

Raynman
Member
Registered: 2011-10-22
Posts: 1,338

Re: [Solved] Cannot find the strip binary

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Makepkg#Usage

binutils (see Gcool's post) is in base-devel

Last edited by Raynman (2012-04-22 11:31:17)

Offline

#3 2012-04-22 11:30:20

Gcool
Member
Registered: 2011-08-16
Posts: 1,456

Re: [Solved] Cannot find the strip binary

Does /usr/bin/strip exist on your system (binutils needs to be installed for this, which I assume will be the case)?


Burninate!

Offline

#4 2012-04-22 11:33:24

yellowjk
Member
From: Rhode Island
Registered: 2011-05-16
Posts: 18
Website

Re: [Solved] Cannot find the strip binary

Man i feel dumb, Im surprised that didn't pop up in the google search lol


Thinkpad T510 running x64 Arch
ThinkServer TS200V running x64 Arch

Offline

#5 2014-10-22 23:49:47

erkexzcx
Banned
From: Kaunas
Registered: 2014-09-28
Posts: 77

Re: [Solved] Cannot find the strip binary

pacman -S binutils

exactly what I needed on my Arch linux system on Android phone :3


Allergic to admins&moderators. They scare me.

Offline

#6 2014-10-23 00:22:55

Allan
Pacman
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 11,086
Website

Re: [Solved] Cannot find the strip binary

You probably want to install all of "base-devel"

Offline

#7 2014-10-23 21:00:25

erkexzcx
Banned
From: Kaunas
Registered: 2014-09-28
Posts: 77

Re: [Solved] Cannot find the strip binary

Allan wrote:

You probably want to install all of "base-devel"

Gosh..... love you! many thanks!


Allergic to admins&moderators. They scare me.

Offline

#8 2020-12-02 08:39:33

lunta
Member
Registered: 2020-10-29
Posts: 2

Re: [Solved] Cannot find the strip binary

erkexzcx wrote:

pacman -S binutils

exactly what I needed on my Arch linux system on Android phone :3

It worked for me.

Offline

#9 2020-12-02 08:56:08

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 14,479

Re: [Solved] Cannot find the strip binary

Please do not necrobump 6 year old solved threads.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Co … bumping%22

Closing.

Online

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB