You are not logged in.

#1 2005-07-22 13:34:21

firedance
Member
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2005-04-18
Posts: 131

gedit takes 6 minutes and 22 seconds to start [Solved]

I have searched google for an answer and all i found was

"No locks available" error with NFS.

If you get the error "WARNING ** : Failed to lock: No locks available" then this is most likely because you are using NFS, but without the statd deamon which Gnome uses when locking files. This also delays the startup of many Gnome applications such as gedit and gpdf with several seconds, so if you experience a slow startup of Gnome applications, try starting them from a shell to see if you get the error.

Solution: Install the nfs-common package. This will install and start statd.

on an ubuntu page, gpdf also takes very long to start but I dont get any error.
My computer isn't slow, firefox starts in less than 1 sec.
I can't find any error in /var/log/ and I dont think I  have had this problem all the time, but i dont know when it started sad

Offline

#2 2005-07-22 15:43:34

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: gedit takes 6 minutes and 22 seconds to start [Solved]

make sure your hostname that is set in /etc/rc.conf, is also appended to the 127.0.0.1 line in /etc/hosts.


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#3 2005-07-22 16:17:46

firedance
Member
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2005-04-18
Posts: 131

Re: gedit takes 6 minutes and 22 seconds to start [Solved]

[root@NetBox firedance]# cat /etc/hosts
#
# /etc/hosts: static lookup table for host names
#

#<ip-address>   <hostname.domain.org>   <hostname>
127.0.0.1               localhost.localdomain   localhost
127.0.0.1          NetBox.localdomain NetBox
# End of file
[root@NetBox firedance]# ls -la /etc/hosts
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 203 2005-04-11 08:58 /etc/hosts

Is this right?
in rc.conf I have

HOSTNAME="NetBox"

-edit-

Must be something with the internet atleast coz when my dad accedently plugged my net out gedit started very fast, and when i do ifconfig eth0 down it starts fast but after i have done eth0 up and dhcpcd then it's slow again

Offline

#4 2005-07-22 17:15:01

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: gedit takes 6 minutes and 22 seconds to start [Solved]

no..only one line per ip.

try this

127.0.0.1  localhost.localdomain  localhost  NetBox

in rc.conf have

HOSTNAME="NetBox"

"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#5 2005-07-22 17:16:00

jellywerker
Member
From: Sunny Seattle
Registered: 2005-04-04
Posts: 286

Re: gedit takes 6 minutes and 22 seconds to start [Solved]

use mousepad, it's small, and a great text editor. it has only 2 or 3 xfce deps, and those under 1mb.

Offline

#6 2005-07-22 18:58:53

firedance
Member
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2005-04-18
Posts: 131

Re: gedit takes 6 minutes and 22 seconds to start [Solved]

jellywerker wrote:

use mousepad, it's small, and a great text editor. it has only 2 or 3 xfce deps, and those under 1mb.

I like solving problems, not going around them smile

my hosts now looks like this

127.0.0.1  localhost.localdomain  localhost  NetBox 

still does not work, can the problem be that i cant ping localhost? And if so, how do i fix this?

Offline

#7 2005-07-22 19:01:52

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: gedit takes 6 minutes and 22 seconds to start [Solved]

You ought to be able to ping localhost. If that's not the problem here, its going to cause problems elswhere.

is lo listed in the output of ifconfig?

maybe run /etc/rc.d/network restart to see if it picks up the host properly.

Dusty

Offline

#8 2005-07-22 19:10:40

firedance
Member
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2005-04-18
Posts: 131

Re: gedit takes 6 minutes and 22 seconds to start [Solved]

#/sbin/ifconfig lo 127.0.0.1
#/sbin/route add -net 127.0.0.0 netmask 255.0.0.0 lo

fixed it, both the ping and gedit.

also running /etc/rc.d/network restart worked , now i just gotta add it to startup.


Whow, my network was commented out of daemons in rc.conf  :?
well now it will probably run on startup, thanks!

Offline

#9 2005-07-23 03:14:27

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: gedit takes 6 minutes and 22 seconds to start [Solved]

Heh, I could install Archie in that time.

Offline

#10 2005-07-23 05:50:35

shadowhand
Member
From: MN, USA
Registered: 2004-02-19
Posts: 1,142
Website

Re: gedit takes 6 minutes and 22 seconds to start [Solved]

iphitus wrote:

Heh, I could install Archie in that time.

lol  tongue


·¬»· i am shadowhand, powered by webfaction

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB