You are not logged in.

#1 2012-04-27 14:13:26

EdTheUniqueGeek

[SOLVED] Beginners' Guide stumped on pacman -Syyu curl

I'm a total green noob on Arch and am going through the Beginners' Guide. I'm on the section about rankmirrors and am at pacman -Syyu curl and am getting the following:

6073-4032.PNG

Is this normal? Is this the part where I continue to edit my mirrorlist and comment and uncomment servers until I don't get the Unauthorized error any longer?
Thanks.

Last edited by EdTheUniqueGeek (2012-04-27 23:53:53)

#2 2012-04-27 14:30:57

adamrehard

Re: [SOLVED] Beginners' Guide stumped on pacman -Syyu curl

The Wiki wrote:

If you get an error at this step, use the command nano /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist and uncomment a server that suits you.

I would try commenting out your current servers and switching to new ones.

Or an even better option, in my opinion than rankmirrors, https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Mi … _Generator.
Mirrorlist generator will do what rankmirrors does, while also checking for how updated the mirror is. You'll need wget installed to use it.

"The box said requires Vista or better, so I installed Arch"
Windows != Linux

#3 2012-04-27 14:40:23

ewaller
Administrator

What type of network are you using ?  Any chance that ftp sites are being blocked by your ISP ?  (This is often true for places of work, internet cafes, and some schools) 

Try picking servers that use an http protocol rather than an ftp protocol and see if that helps.

Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

#4 2012-04-27 14:43:22

EdTheUniqueGeek

ewaller wrote:

What type of network are you using ?  Any chance that ftp sites are being blocked by your ISP ?  (This is often true for places of work, internet cafes, and some schools)