You are not logged in.

#1 2005-07-25 20:28:25

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Gnome menu with Openbox: is my new idea possible?

I just got a really neat idea: an Openbox pipe menu that imports the Gnome menu. I was wondering... Is this actually possible? Or is the Gnome menu stored somewhere inaccessible?

Offline

#2 2005-07-25 20:36:19

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,751

Re: Gnome menu with Openbox: is my new idea possible?

sounds like menumaker .... have a google  wink


Mr Green

Offline

#3 2005-07-25 20:53:40

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: Gnome menu with Openbox: is my new idea possible?

Current versions of menumaker no longer support Openbox, and the last version that does is woefully inadequate. That's what gave me this idea in the first place.

Offline

#4 2005-07-25 20:55:53

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Gnome menu with Openbox: is my new idea possible?

can't you just make a quick scan of all the .desktop files on the system (there's like 3 common folders for them, or something) and build the menu with information in there?

Offline

#5 2005-07-25 21:01:40

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,751

Re: Gnome menu with Openbox: is my new idea possible?

Or

http://ob3menuizer.berlios.de/

Package in AUR .....


Mr Green

Offline

#6 2005-07-26 01:13:32

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: Gnome menu with Openbox: is my new idea possible?

Woohoo! Thanks! big_smile

Offline

#7 2005-07-26 09:48:22

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: Gnome menu with Openbox: is my new idea possible?

Meh... Works, but doesn't create that many entries. I think I'll wait a few versions.

Offline

#8 2005-07-26 10:02:27

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: Gnome menu with Openbox: is my new idea possible?

Check what directories it's checking .desktop files for. Make sure it covers both the xdg standard directory (/usr/share/applications) and the GNOME directory (/opt/gnome/share/applications) and maybe even the KDE one, im guessing would be at (/opt/kde/share/applications).

iphitus

Offline

#9 2005-07-26 14:51:17

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: Gnome menu with Openbox: is my new idea possible?

How would I go about that? There don't seem to be any config files. Also, the man page doesn't say anything about changing the directories that the menu generator scans...

Offline

#10 2005-07-26 15:43:01

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: Gnome menu with Openbox: is my new idea possible?

Ehh.. this thing looks like it just searches for known apps and addes entires. I don't see anything about .desktop files in the scripts... but I could have missed it.

Offline

#11 2005-07-26 19:01:00

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: Gnome menu with Openbox: is my new idea possible?

Blech!

Offline

#12 2005-07-26 23:11:03

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: Gnome menu with Openbox: is my new idea possible?

Gullible Jones wrote:

Blech!

???  :shock:

Offline

#13 2005-07-26 23:19:24

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: Gnome menu with Openbox: is my new idea possible?

What?

Offline

#14 2005-07-27 01:35:37

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: Gnome menu with Openbox: is my new idea possible?

Gullible Jones wrote:

What?

Sorry, that just didn't compute with me.

Offline

#15 2005-07-27 04:18:09

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: Gnome menu with Openbox: is my new idea possible?

It should generate them from the desktop entries, at least, that's the standard way....


grumble grumble something about people not using standards.

iphitus

Offline

#16 2005-07-27 14:05:07

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: Gnome menu with Openbox: is my new idea possible?

Exactly.

Offline

#17 2005-07-27 15:03:45

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,751

Re: Gnome menu with Openbox: is my new idea possible?

Was going to suggest  Denu but ....


Mr Green

Offline

#18 2005-07-27 16:05:48

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: Gnome menu with Openbox: is my new idea possible?

Denu requires Portage. :x

Offline

#19 2005-07-27 16:10:20

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,751

Re: Gnome menu with Openbox: is my new idea possible?

hehehe


Mr Green

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB