You are not logged in.

#1 2012-05-07 11:08:23

itti

Reboot after kernel update mandatory?

Hi,

I've just a small question regarding the Arch kernel update policy here... I've been using Arch for almost five years now but lately I noticed a change in how kernel updates work regarding the kernel modules. If I update my kernel via pacman as usual and don't reboot the affected Arch box immediately after such an upgrade no new kernel modules can be loaded by the then running (old) kernel. I guess that's because the "old" modules are gone after an update. That's a problem if I, for whatever reason, can not reboot immediately because for example newly attached usb devices or crypto stuff will not work until the new kernel gets loaded.

At the moment I'm using one of my Arch Boxes remotely via ssh and I've lost access to encrypted data because I accidentally updated the kernel before realizing that I won't have physical access to the computer in question over the course of the next days. The machine can not be rebooted remotely because it's partitions are LUKS encrypted.

So my question is how do fellow Archers handle such situations?

#2 2012-05-07 11:14:11

Shark

Re: Reboot after kernel update mandatory?

Ussually, after i update my kernel, xorg and drivers i reboot. I don't think you must reboot if you update xorg or drivers i think it is just enough to log in/out.
New kernel modules won't load because it is different path, i think.

Last edited by Shark (2012-05-07 11:14:26)

If you have built castles in the air, your work need not be lost; that is where they should be. Now put foundations under them.
Henry David Thoreau

Registered Linux User: #559057

#3 2012-05-07 11:47:34

Gcool

You could also consider using the "linux-lts" kernel (updated less frequently).

Burninate!

#4 2012-05-07 12:25:51

baronmax