You are not logged in.

#1 2012-06-11 20:21:51

Unia
Website

[SOLVED] Can you tell me why this segfaults?

Hey all,

First of all, you have to know I'm not a programmer - nor am I fluent in any language. The pieces of coding I do are basically copy/pasting and adapting it to the situation. Such is the case here too with this little MPD notifier I am trying to adapt to my own needs. It's written in C, which is a language I want to learn and have some small experience with as I also use DWM.

Now, this piece of code is a notifier to MPD which notifies you in the following circumstances:
1. Change song; eiter done by you by pressing next/previous or automatically when the song ends.
2. Start playback.
3. Pause/stop playback.

What I wanted it to do is show a different message for pause and stop, which it initially doesn't do. The program compiles without errors but when I run it and then make MPD pause or stop, it segfaults and I don't know why. That's what I'm asking help with. I have confirmed that my part works, by replacing the TEXT_STOP parts with my TEXT_PAUSE. You can find the code below and see the changes that I have made between the // unia parts.

/*
 * (C) 2011-2012 by Christian Hesse <mail@eworm.de>
 * This software may be used and distributed according to the terms
 * of the GNU General Public License, incorporated herein by reference.
 */

#include <mpd/client.h>

#include <libnotify/notify.h>

#include <stdio.h>
#include <unistd.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <string.h>

#define NOTIFICATION_TIMEOUT	10000

#define TEXT_PLAY	"<b>%s</b>\n- <i>%s</i>"
// unia
#define TEXT_PAUSE  "Paused playback"
// unia
#define TEXT_STOP	"Stopped playback"
#define TEXT_UNKNOWN	"(unknown)"

int main(int argc, char ** argv) {
	struct mpd_connection * conn = mpd_connection_new(NULL, 0, 30000);
	char * title = NULL;
	char * artist = NULL;
	char * album = NULL;
        NotifyNotification * netlink = NULL;
	struct mpd_song * song = NULL;
	char * notification = NULL;