You are not logged in.

#1 2012-06-25 22:57:51

bwat47
Member
Registered: 2009-10-07
Posts: 638

HDMI Output, No Volume Control

I am using XFCE with alsa/dmix (no pulseaudio). Using the wiki instructions here I got HDMI output working: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Al … _on_or_off.

This works OK (with one modification in the switcher script to restart alsa using systemctl), I get sound out of my tv via hdmi. However I have NO volume control with xfce-mixer or alsamixer. None of the channels have any effect, they both only list one sound device. Any way to get this working? So close to having this setup perfectly sad

Last edited by bwat47 (2012-06-25 23:09:28)

Offline

#2 2012-06-25 23:48:43

Trilby
Forum Fellow
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 17,023
Website

Re: HDMI Output, No Volume Control

This may be obvious ... but have you tried the F6 menu in alsamixer?

Online

#3 2012-06-25 23:54:21

bwat47
Member
Registered: 2009-10-07
Posts: 638

Re: HDMI Output, No Volume Control

Trilby wrote:

This may be obvious ... but have you tried the F6 menu in alsamixer?

yes, no luck. it only shows intel hda 0, which is controlling my laptop's sound, but has no effect on the hdmi output. I tried manually entering in the device name (hw:0,3 which is my hdmi output as shown by aplay -l), but no dice alsamixer says device not found. I don't understand how I can get hdmi output working, aplay shows my hdmi device, but alsamixer refuses to?

here's my aplay output if that helps:

[brandon@brandon-linux ~]$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC269VB Analog [ALC269VB Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
[brandon@brandon-linux ~]$ 

Last edited by bwat47 (2012-06-25 23:58:15)

Offline

#4 2012-06-26 05:17:58

billybigrigger
Member
Registered: 2012-06-06
Posts: 3

Re: HDMI Output, No Volume Control

what about....

aplay -D plughw:0,3 /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav

????

Offline

#5 2012-06-26 05:43:38

swanson
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2011-02-05
Posts: 759

Re: HDMI Output, No Volume Control

Offline

#6 2012-06-26 14:16:21

bwat47
Member
Registered: 2009-10-07
Posts: 638

Re: HDMI Output, No Volume Control

thanks, that looks promising, but I'm a bit confused about what exactly I should change. This is the current config that runs when my hdmi is connected:

pcm.!default {
    type plug
    slave.pcm "dmixer"
}

pcm.dsp0 {
    type plug
    slave.pcm "dmixer"
}

pcm.dmixer {
    type dmix
    ipc_key 1024             
    ipc_key_add_uid 0
    ipc_perm 0666                
    slave {
        pcm "hw:0,3"    # HDMI CARD AND DEVICE
        period_time 0
        period_size 1024
        buffer_size 8192
        rate 48000 #or 44100
    }   
}

ctl.dmixer {
    type hw
    card 0
}

And here's the solution he posted:

pcm.hdmi_hw {
  type hw
  card 1     # <--- card number
  device 3   # <--- device number
}

pcm.hdmi_complete {
  type softvol
  slave.pcm hdmi_hw 
  control.name hdmi_volume
  control.card 1
}

pcm.!default hdmi_complete 

Do I add that onto my current one, totally replace my current one, or modify parts of it?

Offline

#7 2012-06-26 15:14:11

swanson
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2011-02-05
Posts: 759

Re: HDMI Output, No Volume Control

You could try and incorporate this part;

pcm.hdmi_complete {
  type softvol
  slave.pcm hdmi_hw 
  control.name hdmi_volume
  control.card 1
}

And there's a logic to that part, HDMI audio is digital so there's no other way to change the volume than with some kind of software (softvol), as I've understood it. I've configured my players to do that for me instead.

EDIT; But read this about HDMI audio (a bit down);
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1053751

Last edited by swanson (2012-06-26 15:27:00)

Offline

#8 2012-06-26 16:55:08

bwat47
Member
Registered: 2009-10-07
Posts: 638

Re: HDMI Output, No Volume Control

swanson wrote:

You could try and incorporate this part;

pcm.hdmi_complete {
  type softvol
  slave.pcm hdmi_hw 
  control.name hdmi_volume
  control.card 1
}

And there's a logic to that part, HDMI audio is digital so there's no other way to change the volume than with some kind of software (softvol), as I've understood it. I've configured my players to do that for me instead.

EDIT; But read this about HDMI audio (a bit down);
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1053751

alright, I'll look into that thanks smile

Offline

#9 2012-08-14 19:09:19

B15HOP
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2005-02-10
Posts: 132

Re: HDMI Output, No Volume Control

Did this post actually end up resolved?

My issue is almost identical. I'm using HDMI, but I managed to get audio working, just that not with multiple applications...

cat /etc/asound.conf
defaults.pcm.rate_converter "samplerate_best"

pcm.dmixer {
    type dmix
    ipc_key 1024
    ipc_key_add_uid 0
    ipc_perm 0660
}

pcm.dsp {
    type plug
    slave.pcm "dmix"
}

ctl.equal {
    type equal;
}

pcm.plugequal {
    type equal;
    # Modify the line below if you do not
    # want to use sound card 0.
    #slave.pcm "plughw:0,0";
    #by default we want to play from more sources at time:
    slave.pcm "plug:dmix";
}
#pcm.equal {
    # If you don't want the equalizer to be your
    # default soundcard comment the following
    # line and uncomment the above line. (You can
    # choose it as the output device by addressing
    # it with specific apps,eg mpg123 -a equal 06.Back_In_Black.mp3)
pcm.!default {
    type plug;
    slave.pcm plugequal;
}
cat ~/.asoundrc 
pcm.!default {
    type hw
    card 0
    device 3
}
pcm.dsp {
    type plug
    slave.pcm "dmix"
}
aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 0: VT1708S Analog [VT1708S Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 1: VT1708S Digital [VT1708S Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 2: VT1708S HP [VT1708S HP]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

"The ecological crisis is a moral issue."

Offline

#10 2012-08-14 19:23:25

bwat47
Member
Registered: 2009-10-07
Posts: 638

Re: HDMI Output, No Volume Control

B15HOP wrote:

Did this post actually end up resolved?

My issue is almost identical. I'm using HDMI, but I managed to get audio working, just that not with multiple applications...

cat /etc/asound.conf
defaults.pcm.rate_converter "samplerate_best"

pcm.dmixer {
    type dmix
    ipc_key 1024
    ipc_key_add_uid 0
    ipc_perm 0660
}

pcm.dsp {
    type plug
    slave.pcm "dmix"
}

ctl.equal {
    type equal;
}

pcm.plugequal {
    type equal;
    # Modify the line below if you do not
    # want to use sound card 0.
    #slave.pcm "plughw:0,0";
    #by default we want to play from more sources at time:
    slave.pcm "plug:dmix";
}
#pcm.equal {
    # If you don't want the equalizer to be your
    # default soundcard comment the following
    # line and uncomment the above line. (You can
    # choose it as the output device by addressing
    # it with specific apps,eg mpg123 -a equal 06.Back_In_Black.mp3)
pcm.!default {
    type plug;
    slave.pcm plugequal;
}
cat ~/.asoundrc 
pcm.!default {
    type hw
    card 0
    device 3
}
pcm.dsp {
    type plug
    slave.pcm "dmix"
}
aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 0: VT1708S Analog [VT1708S Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 1: VT1708S Digital [VT1708S Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 2: VT1708S HP [VT1708S HP]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

I ended up giving up trying to get this working with alsa and ended up using pulseaudio.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB