You are not logged in.

#1 2012-07-17 02:02:24

HalJordan
Member
Registered: 2010-11-17
Posts: 57

[SOLVED] Correcting overscan with xrandr... [SOLVED]

I am with Linus on hating Nvidia.....
Before the 300 series driver, the overscan compensation worked perfectly. I set it to 76, whatever that translated to on the border sizes, and saw my entire desktop.
I have searched high and low, and the only solutions that I've seen worked for other people either were undocumented (ie they said "I fixed it with xrandr" and nothing else), or I get errors. I've been stuck not being able to see whats on the edges of my screen, including my panel, and half my my awn dock.

So far this is what I've tried. PLEASE tell me there's something I've missed, or something I've misspelled...

hal@oa ~ >  xrandr --output HDMI-0 --set underscan on
X Error of failed request:  BadName (named color or font does not exist)
  Major opcode of failed request:  153 (RANDR)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  11 (RRQueryOutputProperty)
  Serial number of failed request:  33
  Current serial number in output stream:  33
hal@oa ~ >  xrandr --output HDMI-0 --set underscan off
X Error of failed request:  BadName (named color or font does not exist)
  Major opcode of failed request:  153 (RANDR)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  11 (RRQueryOutputProperty)
  Serial number of failed request:  33
  Current serial number in output stream:  33
hal@oa ~ >  xrandr --output HDMI-0 --fb 1920x1080 --mode 1920x1080 --panning 1900x1060+10+10
X Error of failed request:  BadMatch (invalid parameter attributes)
  Major opcode of failed request:  153 (RANDR)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  29 (RRSetPanning)
  Serial number of failed request:  33
  Current serial number in output stream:  33

Last edited by HalJordan (2012-07-18 00:30:02)

Offline

#2 2012-07-17 08:51:06

Minsc
Member
Registered: 2012-07-16
Posts: 78

Re: [SOLVED] Correcting overscan with xrandr... [SOLVED]

Is HDMI-0 listed in

xrandr -q

Check your device listing as I suspect you've got the name of it wrong.

You might also want to check this, specifically the section on --fb, which you don't need.

Last edited by Minsc (2012-07-17 08:51:42)

Offline

#3 2012-07-17 23:36:03

HalJordan
Member
Registered: 2010-11-17
Posts: 57

Re: [SOLVED] Correcting overscan with xrandr... [SOLVED]

You mean here?

hal@oa ~ > xrandr -q 
Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 16384 x 16384
DVI-I-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-I-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-I-2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI-0 connected 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 700mm x 390mm
   1280x720       60.0 +   59.9     50.0  
   1920x1080      59.9*    50.0     30.0     25.0     24.0     30.0     30.0     25.0  
   1024x768       60.0  
   800x600        60.3  
   720x576        50.0     25.0  
   720x480        60.0     59.9     30.0  
DVI-I-3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

And this might explain why the underscan on/off didn't work. _Nothing_ is listed as a property under HDMI-0, or anything else for that matter...

hal@oa ~ > xrandr --props
Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 16384 x 16384
DVI-I-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-I-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-I-2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI-0 connected 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 700mm x 390mm
	EDID:
		00ffffffffffff003683010be9030000
		01120103804627780a1990a755469824
		10494b01080001010101010101010101
		010101010101011d007251d01e206e28
		5500c48e2100001e011d8018711c1620
		582c2500c48e2100009e000000fc004d
		544332365434320a20202020000000fd
		0016500e5b10000a202020202020019a
		020322724d0384050710129314161f20
		212223097f078301000067030c001000
		98298f0ad08a20e02d10103e9600c48e
		21000018011d00bc52d01e20b8285540
		c48e2100001e011d80d0721c1620102c
		2580c48e2100009e8c0ad09020403120
		0c405500c48e210000188c0ad08a20e0
		2d10103e9600c48e2100001800000037
   1280x720       60.0 +   59.9     50.0  
   1920x1080      59.9*    50.0     30.0     25.0     24.0     30.0     30.0     25.0  
   1024x768       60.0  
   800x600        60.3  
   720x576        50.0     25.0  
   720x480        60.0     59.9     30.0  
DVI-I-3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

Not to mention, he's going for making the screen bigger than his monitor, I'm on a tv with fuggly overscan, and now way to turn it off.(That's what I get for buying one on sale...) I want to shrink what is shown, and keep it centered. According to nvidia's readme, they removed the overscan compensation because the xrandr implementation was easier and better.... HOW is this easier than moving a slider left and right till it's fixed??

Last edited by HalJordan (2012-07-17 23:41:44)

Offline

#4 2012-07-17 23:45:16

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,431

Re: [SOLVED] Correcting overscan with xrandr... [SOLVED]

You should play with MetaModes, in particular with ViewPortIn and ViewPortOut. There were cool examples on how to use them for overscan compensation at the nvnews.net forums, but the Linux section there is locked currently. Don't ask why, let me just say the nvnews.net owner is <continuing this sentence would put me in violation of the Arch Forum Etiquette>

Where exactly did the documentation say the new way is easier, though? All I recall it saying is that it's more flexible. Which is true, the ViewPortIn/Out stuff is extremely flexible. And they plan very much to add simpler controls to nvidia-settings, they just didn't get to it yet.

Also, be mad at your TV. I can tell mine what kind of output it's receiving, and I simply told it it's a computer, so it knows not to do stupid things to the picture. And finally, Nvidia also provides a long-lived branch (295) if the 3xx series is too bleeding-edge for you.

Last edited by Gusar (2012-07-17 23:51:59)

Offline

#5 2012-07-17 23:49:18

HalJordan
Member
Registered: 2010-11-17
Posts: 57

Re: [SOLVED] Correcting overscan with xrandr... [SOLVED]

WOW that was quick...(observation, not a complaint...)

Gusar wrote:

You should play with MetaModes, in particular with ViewPortIn and ViewPortOut. There were cool examples on how to use them for overscan compensation at the nvnews.net forums, but the Linux section there is locked currently. Don't ask why, let me just say the nvnews.net owner is <continuing this sentence would put me in violation of the Arch Forum Etiquette>

Yeah a good handfull of _really_ usefull looking articles I saw on google were on there, and thus out of reach. They had another breach like the one to their store, and decided to pull the plug till they could clean it up. I hope its not gonna take as long as kernel.org took...

And can the ViewportIn/Out be set in Nvidia settings, or does it have to be done in xorg.conf.d-or-xorg.conf? It's gonna be a pita to go through and fiddle with the numbers, then restart X and hope it worked, rinse/repeat...

Offline

#6 2012-07-17 23:58:30

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,431

Re: [SOLVED] Correcting overscan with xrandr... [SOLVED]

HalJordan wrote:

And can the ViewportIn/Out be set in Nvidia settings, or does it have to be done in xorg.conf.d-or-xorg.conf? It's gonna be a pita to go through and fiddle with the numbers, then restart X and hope it worked, rinse/repeat...

It can be done with nvidia-settings. Not the GUI, but on the command-line, and the option takes effect immediately, no need to restart X. If I could only remember how exactly. The Nvidia devs for sure explained it... at the currently locked nvnews.net forums...

Edit: Google Cache to the rescue, I found it:

nvidia-settings --assign CurrentMetaMode="DFP-0: 1920x1200 { ViewPortIn=1280x1024, ViewPortOut=1500x1200+210+0}"

Fiddle with the numbers accordingly. This might be helpful: http://askubuntu.com/questions/130088/o … ts-upgrade

Last edited by Gusar (2012-07-18 00:03:40)

Offline

#7 2012-07-18 00:29:34

HalJordan
Member
Registered: 2010-11-17
Posts: 57

Re: [SOLVED] Correcting overscan with xrandr... [SOLVED]

Thanks fiddling now, I just went with sudo leafpad /etc/X11/xorg.conf & sudo systemctl restart slim.service.
Lost most of my panel the first time, just copy/pasted the one near the end, I didnt notice the +1600+0 he uses for the second monitor that I don't have.

Offline

#8 2014-10-21 06:53:26

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 1,471

Re: [SOLVED] Correcting overscan with xrandr... [SOLVED]

i don't know if this answer your question, but:

xrandr --output VGA-1 --mode 1920x1080 --panning 2880x1620

...would create a desktop bigger than the monitor resolution. It will pan when the mouse reaches the borders.
(change VGA-1 to match your setup)

EDIT-
Ops, didn't see the thread was SOLVED, sorry.

Last edited by kokoko3k (2014-10-21 07:06:32)

Online

#9 2014-10-21 12:41:52

HalJordan
Member
Registered: 2010-11-17
Posts: 57

Re: [SOLVED] Correcting overscan with xrandr... [SOLVED]

That was over two years ago. I've since replaced that tv with a proper monitor. No fiddling necessary. No stretched view, and fonts are much more readable. Won't make the mistake of using a TV for a monitor ever again.

Offline

#10 2014-10-21 13:03:43

fsckd
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-06-15
Posts: 3,538

Re: [SOLVED] Correcting overscan with xrandr... [SOLVED]

Not just solved, double solved! big_smile

Closing to prevent further bumps, as per our policy.


aur S & M :: forum rules :: Community Ethos
Resources for Women, POC, LGBT*, and allies

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB