You are not logged in.

#1 2012-07-23 22:42:08

saabzero

grub on dmraid, always the same error!

Hi there!
I'm quite new to the archlinux community. Ive set up my laptop with archlinux and i love the concept!

Today i wanted to install arch on my desktop computer which runs with software (fake) raid. everything went quite smoothly, i managed to install the base system without any major problem. But i'm stuck now. I tried to install the grub bootloader but it seems like there is no way to install it. i always get the following error message when i try to install the bootloader on my hard drive with the command "grub-install /dev/mapper/sil_ahbidhaccdcb":

"Path '/boot/grub' is not readable by GRUB on boot. Installation is impossible. Aborting."

And thats it. I tried a ton of things i read on the internet but nothing seems to work. I found the following script to give you guys additional information:

http://pastebin.com/ZJTWGGp0

My raid setup is striping. (raid0)

I would be very thankful for every tip you can give smile !

(sry if the english is not perfect)

#2 2012-07-23 22:57:36

gnux83

Re: grub on dmraid, always the same error!

Hi,

I once installed the old GRUB on a RAID-1. The system was also running a RAID-5, but it was not possibly to install GRUB on the RAID-5...

So, why not just create a boot partition (e.g. 100MB)?

regards,
gnux

#3 2012-07-24 18:27:31

saabzero

hello there!

Thanks for the really quick response!

i figured out a way to install archlinux un my sil3132 software-raid-0 controller. as you said i have now a small separate boot partition, where grub-install did install.

Thanks!

#4 2012-07-25 07:38:24

gnux83

Hi,

nice to hear... pls mark your post as solved

regards

#5 2012-08-18 10:45:35

gondsman