You are not logged in.

#1 2012-07-25 16:11:19

Jamyupsuhsuh

Installed, grub issues

Absolute beginner here, please help. I recently installed arch Linux through a net install live cd but screwed up my partitioning order. I installed grub in that state and I got error 17 when loading up my grub.... After a bit of research, I fixed my partition order by doing
fdisk /dev/sda then selecting x "advanced functionality" and then f "fix partition order"
Now I get grub error 15 when loading.
I'm guessing this is because my grub can't find certain files because my partitions switched?
Currently writing this on my iPad... But my linux partitions are
/dev/sda/6 (Linux) and /dev/sda7 (swap) it used to be /dev/sda6 (swap) and /dev/sda7 (Linux) before "fix partition order"
Help this newbie out please?

#2 2012-07-25 16:13:44

Jamyupsuhsuh

Re: Installed, grub issues

Also, everyone seems to be configuring their /boot/grub/menu.1st file.... I can't find mine when I do
Find /boot/grub/menu.1st in the live arch Linux cd....

#3 2012-07-25 16:40:01

aias

I will answer your second post:

the file you are looking for is menu.lst not 1st. (LST not 1ST).  check in /boot/grub/.

#4 2012-07-25 17:03:22

Jamyupsuhsuh

Oh thanks. So I did find /boot/grub/menu.lst and found it on the live cd. I noticed that the root for arch Linux was set to hd(0,0) when it should be hd(0,5) (right? Because my Linux partition is /dev/sda6) and so I fixed it.
However, I rebooted and same error so I checked the menu.lst file again.. And it's set to hd(0,0) again... Even though I saved it last time before quitting. So I figured maybe I ought to chroot into /mnt and do it. But there is not menu.lst in /boot/grub. Is that the problem?

#5 2012-07-25 17:21:55

DSpider

I think you were editing some other menu.lst file. Because there is no such thing on the Arch install media.

Anyway, GRUB Legacy support has been dropped recently. Read the archlinux.org front page.

"How to Succeed with Linux"