You are not logged in.

#1 2012-08-09 22:05:52

gigal

[SOLVED] self written PKGBUIILD does not work

Hi Folks,

I'm new to arch linux and currently I'm trying to get a self build cross compiler running using my own set of PKGBUILD scripts. I'd like to build my toolchain with four packages:

- cross-<arch>-binutils
- cross-<arch>-gcc-core (only needed to build cross-newlib)
- cross-<arch>-newlib
- cross-<arch>-gcc (will replace gcc-core because this is only a stage1 build used to build newlib)

The first three PKGBUILDS including their buildscripts run without any problems and the resulting packages can be installed using pacman. The last one does not work. I've modified my PKBUILD for cross-<arch>-gcc to generate a bash script that can be used afterwards to compile the sources by hand. If I run this script inside the directory that will also be used for building by makepkg (of course after cleaning up all the makepkg things inside this directory) it works without any problems. But if I use makepkg and my PKGBUILD script it will not work.

My question is now: are there any differences inside the environment of makepkg an the users environment that my cause such problems?

There is also the possibility that I'm blind like a fish and have read over some important passages inside the documentation. If so, please give me a hint.

Best regards,
gigal

Last edited by gigal (2012-08-12 15:14:43)

#2 2012-08-09 23:59:26

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Website

Re: [SOLVED] self written PKGBUIILD does not work

My first thought is that it is a permissions/executable flag issue.  This would be answered by whether you copied the script in question with "cp" or installed with "install".

But since you didn't show the PKGBUILD, or the script, or anything else that could be of use, my only option is to ask my magic eight ball ...  *shake shake* ... it says "Try again later".

"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

#3 2012-08-10 19:17:14