You are not logged in.

#1 2012-08-12 19:09:28

domac

[solved] How to work with tmpfs?

Hello.
I'm pretty new to ramfs and tmpfs things. So I wanted to ask if someone can give me tips on that? I just read the wiki about ramdisk and this article.

Now I wanted to create a tmpfs partition and wanted to store files for my dwm-statusbar there. Can someone explain what's the best way to do this?

The approach

lucke wrote:

Put this in /etc/fstab:

none    /tmp    tmpfs   nodev,nosuid,noexec,nodiratime,size=1024M    0   0

looked quite good, but I don't understand it fully. I only can guess what nodev,nosuid,noexec,nodiratime means but I don't know it for sure and I want to understand tmpfs for 100%.

Thanks in advance!
Cheers

PS: Also feel free to share your tmpfs and the way you've implemented them! smile

Last edited by domac (2012-08-13 09:42:25)

domac [ git ]

#2 2012-08-12 19:21:08

falconindy
Developer
Website

Re: [solved] How to work with tmpfs?

domac wrote:

I don't understand it fully. I only can guess what nodev,nosuid,noexec,nodiratime means but I don't know it for sure and I want to understand tmpfs for 100%.

Generic mount options. see 'man 8 mount' for explanations.

#3 2012-08-12 19:39:05

domac

Thanks so far! I just started reading and can't wait to see more comments on this. smile

Edit: Also wanted to add the following wiki article about tmpfs, which I didn't found until yet. smile

Last edited by domac (2012-08-12 19:41:19)

domac [ git ]

#4 2012-08-12 20:08:00

Awebb

Congratulations, you have found the wiki article. That'll tell you everything.

#5 2012-08-12 20:22:53

domac

So when I want to create a tmpfs for my dwm statusbar I just put the following in my /etc/fstab:

# tmpfs for ~/.dwmstatus
tmpfs    /home/domac/.dwmstatus  tmpfs   nodev,nosuid,size=8M    0 0

? This should work, right?
And when I then write whatever to files in ~/.dwmstatus/ it is written on ram instead?
Sorry but I'm uncertain, if I do it right. smile