You are not logged in.

#1 2012-09-05 21:36:18

reed1
Member
Registered: 2011-01-14
Posts: 24

[SOLVED] How to get systemctl hibernate working ? (systemd)

Hi, I've tried to add resume=/dev/sdaX (my swap partition) to grub command line but still arch booted like usual. Please help, thanks smile

Last edited by reed1 (2012-09-06 10:49:50)

Offline

#2 2012-09-06 09:58:17

lahwaacz
Wiki Admin
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2012-05-29
Posts: 433

Re: [SOLVED] How to get systemctl hibernate working ? (systemd)

Add 'resume' into the HOOKS array in /etc/mkinitcpio.conf and rebuild your initramfs.

Offline

#3 2012-09-06 10:48:50

reed1
Member
Registered: 2011-01-14
Posts: 24

Re: [SOLVED] How to get systemctl hibernate working ? (systemd)

lahwaacz wrote:

Add 'resume' into the HOOKS array in /etc/mkinitcpio.conf and rebuild your initramfs.

wow smile it works now, thanks lahwaacz

Last edited by reed1 (2012-09-06 10:49:00)

Offline

#4 2013-07-10 18:14:36

dr.rock
Member
Registered: 2013-05-12
Posts: 4

Re: [SOLVED] How to get systemctl hibernate working ? (systemd)

Can somebody please explain more precisely how do i rebuild initramfs?
I added "resume" to  HOOKS in  /etc/mkinitcpio.conf and tried running mkinitcpio with various params but did not get any result sad

Offline

#5 2013-07-10 18:20:47

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,423

Re: [SOLVED] How to get systemctl hibernate working ? (systemd)

dr.rock wrote:

Can somebody please explain more precisely how do i rebuild initramfs?
I added "resume" to  HOOKS in  /etc/mkinitcpio.conf and tried running mkinitcpio with various params but did not get any result sad

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Mk … activation

Can you please list some of the parameters / post the commands you tried?

Offline

#6 2013-07-11 15:03:39

dr.rock
Member
Registered: 2013-05-12
Posts: 4

Re: [SOLVED] How to get systemctl hibernate working ? (systemd)

Here's what i did:

1. added to /etc/default/grub:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="resume=/dev/sdXY"
2. sudo grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
3. added "resume" in /etc/mkinitcpio.conf in HOOKS between "block" and "filesystems"
4. mkinitcpio -p linux
5. copied /boot/grub/grub.cfg to /media/username/disk_name/boot/grub/grub.cfg (i have GRUB installed on different HDD then Arch, that HDD is selected as first boot device in BIOS and i suppose all configs should be stored there)
6. systemctl hibernate

It goes to hibernation, but when i re-start, it boots as usual.

Last edited by dr.rock (2013-07-11 15:09:00)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB