You are not logged in.

#1 2012-09-23 23:11:43

xcabal
Member
Registered: 2012-07-26
Posts: 33

chromium media player

i am have an issue with chromium playing media files, chromium opens the media files in its html5 player which doesnt buffer the file when paused. so i installed the totem plugins and the vlc plugin, but chromium doesnt use either of them to play the media files. how do i het chromium to use the plugins instead of its html5 player?
I dont have this issue with firefox it uses which ever is enabled to play media files.

Offline

#2 2012-09-24 08:08:20

nTia89
Banned
From: varese, italy
Registered: 2008-12-22
Posts: 1,230

Re: chromium media player

i don't know if this HTML5 player is seen by chromium as a plugin....

you can try to go here:

chrome://plugins/

+pc: custom | AMD Opteron 175 | nForce4 Ultra | 2GB ram DDR400 | nVidia 9800GT 1GB | ArchLinux x86_64 w/ openbox
+laptop: Apple | MacBook (2,1) | 2GB ram | Mac OS X 10.4 -> DIED
+ultrabook: Dell | XPS 13 (9343) | 8GB ram | 256GB ssd | FullHD display | Windows 8.1 64bit ArchLinux x86_64 w/ Gnome

Offline

#3 2012-09-24 17:08:07

xcabal
Member
Registered: 2012-07-26
Posts: 33

Re: chromium media player

nTia89 wrote:

i don't know if this HTML5 player is seen by chromium as a plugin....

you can try to go here:

chrome://plugins/

it is not listed there unfortunately.

Offline

#4 2012-09-24 21:55:36

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: chromium media player

Is either the totem or vlc plugins listed there?

Offline

#5 2012-09-24 21:58:09

xcabal
Member
Registered: 2012-07-26
Posts: 33

Re: chromium media player

both are there and i tried disable each one separately, i have also disabled all my extension as well to make sure they weren't the cause.

Offline

#6 2012-09-25 08:18:33

nTia89
Banned
From: varese, italy
Registered: 2008-12-22
Posts: 1,230

Re: chromium media player

i known that some site can force or not the use of HTML5
e.g.: http://www.youtube.com/html5

maybe you visit a similar site and it has stored in your PC a cookie which force you to see the "HTML5 version" of the site....

try to purge your cache


+pc: custom | AMD Opteron 175 | nForce4 Ultra | 2GB ram DDR400 | nVidia 9800GT 1GB | ArchLinux x86_64 w/ openbox
+laptop: Apple | MacBook (2,1) | 2GB ram | Mac OS X 10.4 -> DIED
+ultrabook: Dell | XPS 13 (9343) | 8GB ram | 256GB ssd | FullHD display | Windows 8.1 64bit ArchLinux x86_64 w/ Gnome

Offline

#7 2012-09-25 08:31:12

xcabal
Member
Registered: 2012-07-26
Posts: 33

Re: chromium media player

nTia89 wrote:

i known that some site can force or not the use of HTML5
e.g.: http://www.youtube.com/html5

maybe you visit a similar site and it has stored in your PC a cookie which force you to see the "HTML5 version" of the site....

try to purge your cache

i did that more then once i even blocked cookies, it also does this when i click a media file link, it opens the media files in a new page with the html5 media player. in firefox it will load one of the plugins.
here is an example i use http://media.giantbomb.com/podcast/gian … 091812.mp3

Offline

#8 2012-09-25 08:35:40

nTia89
Banned
From: varese, italy
Registered: 2008-12-22
Posts: 1,230

Re: chromium media player

my chromium opens HTML5 player too

have you try with mozplugger-chromium?


+pc: custom | AMD Opteron 175 | nForce4 Ultra | 2GB ram DDR400 | nVidia 9800GT 1GB | ArchLinux x86_64 w/ openbox
+laptop: Apple | MacBook (2,1) | 2GB ram | Mac OS X 10.4 -> DIED
+ultrabook: Dell | XPS 13 (9343) | 8GB ram | 256GB ssd | FullHD display | Windows 8.1 64bit ArchLinux x86_64 w/ Gnome

Offline

#9 2012-09-25 08:41:47

xcabal
Member
Registered: 2012-07-26
Posts: 33

Re: chromium media player

no but ill give it a try
Edit:
i installed and tried it doesn't solve the issue

Last edited by xcabal (2012-09-25 08:51:55)

Offline

#10 2012-09-25 14:44:20

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 1,526

Re: chromium media player

html5 <video> tag is managed by the browser itself and will not use any external plugin (unfortunately)

Offline

#11 2012-09-25 17:20:53

boast
Member
Registered: 2010-09-28
Posts: 219

Re: chromium media player

xcabal wrote:

hmm, interesting.

have you reported this directly to chromium devs yet?


Asus M4A785TD-V ;; Phenom II X4 @ 3.9GHz ;; Ripjaws 12GB DDR3-1600 ;; 128GB Samsung 830 ;; MSI GTX460 v2 w/ blob ;; Arch Linux + KDE 4.x

Offline

#12 2012-09-25 17:45:05

xcabal
Member
Registered: 2012-07-26
Posts: 33

Re: chromium media player

i was hoping that this is something simple to solve, ill report it to them

Offline

#13 2012-09-25 19:08:41

xcabal
Member
Registered: 2012-07-26
Posts: 33

Re: chromium media player

kokoko3k wrote:

html5 <video> tag is managed by the browser itself and will not use any external plugin (unfortunately)

i know but if i load the media file directly, it doesn't even ask me to download it, i just loads and plays it with html5 player and if you look at the source code, it the actual code of the media file

Offline

#14 2012-09-26 06:35:45

xcabal
Member
Registered: 2012-07-26
Posts: 33

Re: chromium media player

ok heres an update
i found a portable chrome version here https://download-chromium.appspot.com/ created a new profile so it wont mess with my current one.
this version actually loads the plugins when i load a media file, and i made sure its the location of the plugins are on my computer.
im assuming from this that the chromium from extra was installed with a setting that overrides the plugin or was compiled this way.

Edit:

i ran my installed chromium from terminal and got this out put when i went to the media link
25728:25728:2557708955:ERROR:gles2_cmd_decoder.cc(5115)] GL ERROR :GL_INVALID_VALUE : glDeleteProgram: unknown program

i didnt get this error when running the portable one

Last edited by xcabal (2012-09-26 06:46:39)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB