You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-03 12:33:11

D4ve
Member
Registered: 2012-08-02
Posts: 209

[Solved] Pacman mounts partition on checking available disc space

Hi, hope this is the right subforum.

First, pacman doesn't directly mount any partition. My partition, located at /dev/sdb1, is automounted if somenone request access to /media/datengrab. Fstab-entry looks like this:

/dev/sdb1	/media/datengrab	ext4 	noauto,noexec,x-systemd.automount	0	2

The funny thing is, every time pacman checks the available disc space, this partition is mounted. The question is: why? Software is never installed under /media, so accessing /media is not needed. Maybe this is a bug? (Or, better question: How can pacman avoid to access /media?)

Hope someone can help or explain why pacman is accessing /media.

Thanks in advance smile

Last edited by D4ve (2012-10-04 15:15:53)

Offline

#2 2012-10-04 00:11:48

falconindy
Developer
From: New York, USA
Registered: 2009-10-22
Posts: 4,097
Website

Re: [Solved] Pacman mounts partition on checking available disc space

Because the diskspace checking behavior in 4.0.x is quite naive. I fixed this a while ago so that only the mount points being written to will be actually checked. Stay tuned for pacman 4.1.

Offline

#3 2012-10-04 15:11:53

D4ve
Member
Registered: 2012-08-02
Posts: 209

Re: [Solved] Pacman mounts partition on checking available disc space

Cool, so i have only to wait until pacman 4.1 is released.

So, double thanks (for your reply and for fixing the issue smile )

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB