You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-11 05:08:58

Meiryousa
Member
Registered: 2012-08-30
Posts: 17

HDMI issue

I have HDMI working almost perfectly except one issue.

In order to get it working this much I use the command:

xrandr --output HDMI-0 --auto

Now, the screen size of my laptop also gets adjusted when I do this. I no longer can see where my task bar anywhere.
The size on the tv is much better but it's still off a little bit.

I'm not even sure where to begin to fix this. I've found some stuff on the wiki but it didn't seem like anything that would
fix this specific issue.

The TV resolution is 1920x1080 and my laptops screen is 1440x900.

I tried using xrandr and setting it to one or the other but I get an error about accepted mininum size is 1920x1080 or
nothing happens at all from my command.

Offline

#2 2012-10-11 11:26:16

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,197
Website

Re: HDMI issue

Meiryousa wrote:

I'm not even sure where to begin to fix this.

I'd begin at `man xrandr`.

What you describe is the expected behavior.  What do you want on your internal screen?  Do you want to only one monitor on and the other off?  Do you want both on as 1) extended desktop mode, 2) mirrored displays with optimal resolution but the smaller monitor only showing part of the screen (probably what you have now), or 3) mirrored displays with suboptimal resolutions and possible black bars on one monitor?

Don't use xrandr to set "one or the other" resolution.  Use it to set BOTH:
xrandr --output HDMI-0 --auto --output LVDS1 --auto --left-of-HDMI-0
as one example assuming your internal video is LVDS1.

Last edited by Trilby (2012-10-11 11:27:48)


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#3 2012-10-11 19:40:24

Meiryousa
Member
Registered: 2012-08-30
Posts: 17

Re: HDMI issue

Oh sweet that works well for setting up my TV as a second monitor but the resolutions get all messed up still. I don't like that my task bar is gone too.

I was just trying to get them as a shared screen for now. I need my 1440x900 laptop screen resolution to go to my TV which is 1920x1080.

The error I get is:

xrandr: specified screen 1440x900 not large enough for output HDMI-0 (1920x1080+1440+0)
xrandr: Configure crtc 1 failed

When I execute this command:

xrandr --output HDMI-0 --fb 1920x1080 --output LVDS-0 --fb 1440x900

xrandr man says:

--fb widthxheight
              Reconfigures  the  screen  to the specified size. All configured
              monitors must fit within this size. When this option is not pro-
              vided,  xrandr  computes the smallest screen size that will hold
              the set of configured outputs; this option  provides  a  way  to
              override that behaviour.

So it is expected behavior I guess I'm just not sure what to do.

EDIT:

It works!! thanks for the help. What did it was using --mode

xrandr --output HDMI-0 --mode 1440x900

that fixed everytthing. task bar is back now and everything! I just need to reference
the man more and learn xrandr a bit better smile

Thanks again.

Last edited by Meiryousa (2012-10-11 20:04:28)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB