You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-14 04:34:35

faktorqm
Member
From: Argentina
Registered: 2012-01-27
Posts: 18

[solved] How to obtain two X sessions in the same machine?

Dear all,

I want to play Starcraft 2 in a separate X server, but I don't know how to obtain two X sessions. I got an Arch 64 bits and ATI video card with privative driver, installed by AUR (because is the legacy version). Also, I use KDE.
I'm sure that my actual value on $DISPLAY is 0. So, I hope that the idea is to get another X session on display 1. Also, as I understand, it will be accessed by pressing CTRL + ALT + F8. (F7 is the current session)
I started reading this https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xorg but I can't find anything related. Then I started with this https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Gaming and in the section
Starting_games_in_a_separate_X_server it recommends to run

xinit /usr/bin/nexuiz-glx -- :1

by example. I have tried to run it with wine but it doesn't work.
Then I searched in the forum, and I found this post solved, but it's not the same problem https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=113002. In the post number 7 mention that effectively see the terminal
in the other screen, thing that I cannot get. The command that use is

startx /usr/bin/xterm -- :1

.
Then I read https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xprofile and https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xinitrc and https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=111485 and https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/KDM
and http://www.x.org/archive/X11R6.8.0/doc/ … html#sect0 and http://www.tuxfiles.org/linuxhelp/multiple-x.html. So, after all that stuff, I have tried with

# xinit /usr/bin/startkde -- :1

_XSERVTransSocketOpenCOTSServer: Unable to open socket for inet6
_XSERVTransOpen: transport open failed for inet6/themissile:1
_XSERVTransMakeAllCOTSServerListeners: failed to open listener for inet6

X.Org X Server 1.12.4
Release Date: 2012-08-27
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
Build Operating System: Linux 3.4.8-1-ARCH x86_64 
Current Operating System: Linux themissile 3.5.4-1-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 15 08:12:04 CEST 2012 x86_64
Kernel command line: BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=196dc9ff-065a-48c0-971d-c9b7505d7f6f ro quiet nomodeset ipv6.disable=1
Build Date: 27 August 2012  08:04:39AM
 
Current version of pixman: 0.26.2
        Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
        to make sure that you have the latest version.
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
        (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
        (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.1.log", Time: Sun Oct 14 01:24:58 2012
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
(==) Using config directory: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d"
(WW) fglrx: More than one matching Device section for instances
        (BusID: PCI:3:0:0) found: aticonfig-Device[0]-0
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@4:0:0) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:0:0) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:2:0) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:7:0) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:9:0) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:10:0) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:17:0) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:18:0) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:18:1) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:18:2) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:19:0) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:19:1) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:19:2) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:20:0) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:20:1) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:20:2) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:20:3) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:20:4) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:20:5) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@3:0:1) found
The XKEYBOARD keymap compiler (xkbcomp) reports:
> Warning:          Type "ONE_LEVEL" has 1 levels, but <RALT> has 2 symbols
>                   Ignoring extra symbols
Errors from xkbcomp are not fatal to the X server
startkde: Starting up...
startkde: Could not start D-Bus. Can you call qdbus?
xinit: connection to X server lost

waiting for X server to shut down Server terminated successfully (0). Closing log file.

# 

and I finally can see a message, without windows decorator, saying "Could not start D-Bus. Can you call qdbus?" and a OK button.

So, I have a few questions,

1) I really need a desktop manager o window decorator like KDE to run on my second desired display? If the answer is yes, how I can get it without the errors mentioned before?
2) As I understand, it's not the same thing getting two screens or getting two displays (screens when you have one monitor and TV, for example, and displays, when you want to change your current desktop). this is ok?
3) There is a file to configure this? or just a few commands to run when I want to play and nothing else?

Thank you very much in advance for your help. Regards.

Last edited by faktorqm (2012-10-16 22:55:19)

Offline

#2 2012-10-14 05:05:43

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,433

Re: [solved] How to obtain two X sessions in the same machine?

I log in to console and launch my WM with 'startx', so I can create a separate .xinitrc file for launching Starcraft.
I can have a regular X session with vim and firefox and another with a game and no WM, so when I exit the game, X quits automatically.
.x2

#!/bin/sh

cd /home/karol/.wine/drive_c/Program\ Files/Starcraft/ && wine Starcraft.exe

.x2 is just a .xinitrc file with another name. I launch it with

xinit .x2 -- :1

Offline

#3 2012-10-14 05:18:49

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: [solved] How to obtain two X sessions in the same machine?

I too was not able to get two X sessions with systemd (though i am not sure if the OP is using systemd).  I eventually found /usr/lib/systemd/systemd-multi-seat-x which allowsed me to start another. 

I am not sure if this is what the multi-seat-x is for, as I am definitely running it under the same seat, if I understand seats correctly.  I read the docs on multi seat stuff from Lennart's blog, but it all seemed to mention starting a secondary X on a secondary seat.

Edit: I realized that I had been trying to run the same xinitrc file and when I tried the one I was supposed to be using on the second display, it worked as normal.

Last edited by WonderWoofy (2012-10-14 05:23:16)

Offline

#4 2012-10-14 11:53:28

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,766
Website

Re: [solved] How to obtain two X sessions in the same machine?

I'm pretty sure that is multiseat.  X knows nothing about your chair - so multiseat (AFAIK) refers to a session running on a different tty.

Whether you're switching between those two ttys while still sitting in the same chair or whether someone else is using the other tty, it's all the same to X.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#5 2012-10-16 22:54:53

faktorqm
Member
From: Argentina
Registered: 2012-01-27
Posts: 18

Re: [solved] How to obtain two X sessions in the same machine?

Hello all, thank you for your answers!

You were right with the multiseat but that it's not what I looked for. I have tried to get two seats with the same hardware, and obviuosly it didn't work (at all).

So I continue reading articles and this https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/X and this https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=131419 and finally I realized my problem: I had missing packages.

So, I installed them with

pacman -S  xorg-twm xorg-xclock xterm

and then I entered to a terminal pressing CTRL + ALT + F1. I logged in with my user and I typed

startx -- :1 &

and it worked!!!!
I got in vt8 (CTRL + ALT + F8) 3 windows: 2 xterms and 1 clock.
Then I took a terminal and wrote "wine starcraft\ II.exe" and it worked like a charm.

Regards!!!!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB