You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-15 01:16:27

shawnjgoff
Member
Registered: 2010-07-04
Posts: 14

Tuning the systemd boot

You can see a good boot on Poettering's blog: http://0pointer.de/public/blame2.svg
And here is my boot: http://imgh.us/bootplot.svg

Notice mine has lots of strange lateral pauses and I don't see anything causing them.

Any ideas for what I can do to figure out what is causing these long pauses?

Last edited by shawnjgoff (2012-10-15 13:03:04)

Offline

#2 2012-10-15 01:48:15

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 18,056
Website

Re: Tuning the systemd boot

Moving to Applications and DEs...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#3 2012-10-15 02:26:57

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Tuning the systemd boot

No I don't notice because the link to your boot is borked.

Offline

#4 2012-10-15 02:32:36

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,361
Website

Re: Tuning the systemd boot

The link worked fine for me.

It looks like the same type of thing that happens in mine: boot plot


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Online

#5 2012-10-15 02:58:37

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Tuning the systemd boot

Interesting, when I click (or follow, since I use dwb) the link, it gives me a 503.  But when I type out the path it totally works.  Interesting....

Anyway, it seems as though the stall is only a second and a half.  I've seen this a few times before, and I have not come across a solution (or a cause for that matter).

Offline

#6 2012-10-15 08:51:48

fabertawe
Member
From: Lloegr
Registered: 2009-11-24
Posts: 257

Re: Tuning the systemd boot

WonderWoofy wrote:

Interesting, when I click (or follow, since I use dwb) the link, it gives me a 503.  But when I type out the path it totally works.  Interesting....

I get the 503 with Javascript off but works otherwise.


i7 4790K 4.4GHz, ASRock Z97 Extreme6, 16GB 2400MHz, GTX 970, Arch x86_64

Offline

#7 2012-10-15 09:47:35

Unia
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 2,469
Website

Re: Tuning the systemd boot

I just noticed the same too on my laptop yesterday. I was going to look into it today. I will share my findings wink


If you can't sit by a cozy fire with your code in hand enjoying its simplicity and clarity, it needs more work. --Carlos Torres

Offline

#8 2012-10-15 12:51:27

shawnjgoff
Member
Registered: 2010-07-04
Posts: 14

Re: Tuning the systemd boot

WonderWoofy wrote:

Anyway, it seems as though the stall is only a second and a half.

There is over a two-second delay before the tyySn devices come up as well as over 1.5 seconds before eth0 comes up. I can't tell what either of those things are waiting on. The sda 7, 2, and 3 also seem to be waiting for something, although those are less extreme.

Offline

#9 2012-10-15 13:35:41

Unia
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 2,469
Website

Re: Tuning the systemd boot

I wonder mostly what's with the gray kernel and userspace bars. Why don't "normal" bootcharts like Poettering's have this?


If you can't sit by a cozy fire with your code in hand enjoying its simplicity and clarity, it needs more work. --Carlos Torres

Offline

#10 2012-10-15 16:47:30

shawnjgoff
Member
Registered: 2010-07-04
Posts: 14

Re: Tuning the systemd boot

I suspect it's because he ran it inside a container. It doesn't say this, but I know that is a feature that he had been working on for a while.

Offline

#11 2012-10-16 01:50:43

shawnjgoff
Member
Registered: 2010-07-04
Posts: 14

Re: Tuning the systemd boot

I believe the long pause in userspace before mount is the initramfs, since its job is to mount the root filesystem.

Offline

#12 2012-10-16 10:39:14

Unia
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 2,469
Website

Re: Tuning the systemd boot

I think it might also have something to do with e4rat, which I use. That does take a while to load its settings, but from there on it's blazingly fast - especially into X.


If you can't sit by a cozy fire with your code in hand enjoying its simplicity and clarity, it needs more work. --Carlos Torres

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB