You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-17 13:18:34

jimcanoa
Member
Registered: 2007-11-04
Posts: 13

Can't shutdown or reboot

Hi guys,

I've been using Arch for quite a while now, and I've noticed in the last updates that shutdown (I usually do "sudo halt") isn't working anymore. Nor is "sudo reboot" for that matter.

The system starts to shutdown, as usual, no errors when shutting down the services, but instead of completely powering off, like it used to do, at that stage it simply hangs in the rebooting message forever:

-----------------------
> REBOOTING

The error for power off is the same. It hangs there forever as well.

So, how can I debug this? I'm using 3.6.2-1-ARCH, and did a -Syu a few days ago, so my system is mostly up-to-date. I'm still using SystemV, haven't switched to systemd just yet. As for my environment, I've disabled the X server for the moment (using Slim) to narrow things down, so I'm getting this error from the shell without starting a desktop environment. This is my rc.conf:

$ egrep -v '^($|#)' /etc/rc.conf          
DAEMONS=(syslog-ng acpid dbus iptables @net-profiles @netfs @crond @alsa @sshd !slim)

This is an excerpt from everything.log with a poweron-poweroff cycle: https://gist.github.com/3905484

Offline

#2 2012-10-17 13:44:08

jimcanoa
Member
Registered: 2007-11-04
Posts: 13

Re: Can't shutdown or reboot

OK, so I've figured out that the script that prints the REBOOTING line is /etc/rc.shutdown, owned by initscripts, which I have to the latest version. I'm going to change the header of that

-xv

to the bash parameters in the she-bang, so maybe something else will be displayed...

Offline

#3 2012-10-17 15:13:15

jimcanoa
Member
Registered: 2007-11-04
Posts: 13

Re: Can't shutdown or reboot

So, no luck here. The rc.shutdown scripts hangs right after the "poweroff -d -f -h -i" call  (line 119 of /etc/rc.shutdown). Nothing weird happens before.

I prepended "strace" to the "poweroff" command, and here's a very lame camera pic of the error: http://i.imgur.com/LXQqv.jpg (if you guys have any suggestions on how to log that please let me know, the problem is that rc.shutdown unmounts all the drives so I cannot redirect the script to a log file).

Any ideas whatsoever? I've read "man poweroff" and I still don't know how I debug it...

Offline

#4 2012-10-17 16:23:58

Marcel-
Member
From: Utrecht, NL
Registered: 2006-12-03
Posts: 259

Re: Can't shutdown or reboot

Did you also change your init scripts to systemd? For me, the same drawback popped up after migrating to systemd (but it could also be related to my kernel upgrade to 3.6.2-1-ARCH).

EDIT: stupid me, you already said it in your first post.

Last edited by Marcel- (2012-10-17 16:25:15)

Offline

#5 2012-10-17 16:25:46

jimcanoa
Member
Registered: 2007-11-04
Posts: 13

Re: Can't shutdown or reboot

Marcel- wrote:

Did you also change your init scripts to systemd? For me, the same drawback popped up after migrating to systemd (but it could also be related to my kernel upgrade to 3.6.2-1-ARCH).

No, I still have systemV scripts, haven't migrated to systemd yet. So as per your answer I guess migrating to systemd won't solve my problem (it was something I was considering)

Offline

#6 2012-10-17 16:26:20

jimcanoa
Member
Registered: 2007-11-04
Posts: 13

Re: Can't shutdown or reboot

Marcel- wrote:

EDIT: stupid me, you already said it in your first post.

no worries smile

Offline

#7 2012-10-18 13:56:38

Marcel-
Member
From: Utrecht, NL
Registered: 2006-12-03
Posts: 259

Re: Can't shutdown or reboot

In my case, the problem is related to systemd, a downgrade to 3.5.6 didn't solve the problem.

For your issue there already is a bug report, which states that it's a problem upstream.

Offline

#8 2012-10-18 13:58:44

jimcanoa
Member
Registered: 2007-11-04
Posts: 13

Re: Can't shutdown or reboot

Marcel- wrote:

In my case, the problem is related to systemd, a downgrade to 3.5.6 didn't solve the problem.

For your issue there already is a bug report, which states that it's a problem upstream.

Thanks for the info. However my kernel is not panicking, although it could be related.

Offline

#9 2012-12-07 10:54:03

IsSuE
Member
From: Upper Austria
Registered: 2006-04-29
Posts: 309

Re: Can't shutdown or reboot

Coming from your "reinstall thread" here: this could be an ACPI problem. What happens if you press the power button on your machine when it stalls at Rebooting? Does it instantly power down, or do you have to press and hold the button?

Offline

#10 2012-12-07 11:06:05

jimcanoa
Member
Registered: 2007-11-04
Posts: 13

Re: Can't shutdown or reboot

IsSuE: I have to press and hold the button for it to shut down completely. I thought ACPI's only involvement here is to start with the shutdown process. And I also thought that during the shutdown the ACPI daemon is killed.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB