You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-02 14:09:23

the_general
Member
Registered: 2011-03-23
Posts: 10

AUR packages moved?

I have a simple shell script that i created years ago to update my AUR packages using wget. Starting about a week ago i started getting this error for everything:

--2012-11-02 08:43:43--  https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/virtualgl/virtualgl.tar.gz
Resolving aur.archlinux.org (aur.archlinux.org)... 2a01:4f8:120:34c2::2, 78.46.78.247
Connecting to aur.archlinux.org (aur.archlinux.org)|2a01:4f8:120:34c2::2|:443... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 404 Not Found
2012-11-02 08:43:43 ERROR 404: Not Found.

The command i use is this:

wget --no-check-certificate https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/$pkg/$pkg.tar.gz

Have the packages moved or had their name format changed? I read in some other posts that something had been changed due to some sort of hardware issues, but the solution seemed to be to use https instead of http, which i was already doing. Is this something that will get resolved on its own, or is there something i can do differently to access the packages?


It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Offline

#2 2012-11-02 14:17:41

65kid
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2011-01-26
Posts: 663

Re: AUR packages moved?

uhm... not really answering your question, but why not just use something like cower instead of hacking together your own stuff?

Offline

#3 2012-11-02 14:22:31

2ManyDogs
Member
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 1,670

Re: AUR packages moved?

You're missing part of the path. Check the AUR page for virtualgl. The correct path that works for me today is:

https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/vi/virtualgl/virtualgl.tar.gz

I use this wget code (as part of an alias I stole from DSpider):

wget -q "https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/${1:0:2}/$1/$1.tar.gz"

This alias has worked for several months, so I don't think this is a recent change, but I could be wrong.

65kid, I use a "hacked together" alias instead of a pre-built helper because it's simpler and it helps me understand the process.

(edited to remove "correct" from the path description)

Last edited by 2ManyDogs (2012-11-02 19:44:26)

Offline

#4 2012-11-02 15:10:16

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,428

Re: AUR packages moved?

The paths changed some time ago when AUR hit 32k files filesystem limit and packages have been divided in directories e.g. virtualgl is in vi/. The old paths continued to work, but were deprecated.
Recently AUR has been moved to another server.

Offline

#5 2012-11-02 15:54:13

falconindy
Developer
From: New York, USA
Registered: 2009-10-22
Posts: 4,095
Website

Re: AUR packages moved?

2ManyDogs wrote:

You're missing part of the path. Check the AUR page for virtualgl. The correct path is:

The correct path is whatever the URLPath value in the JSON response is. paths to tarballs are not considered stable, or API.

Offline

#6 2012-11-02 21:01:30

the_general
Member
Registered: 2011-03-23
Posts: 10

Re: AUR packages moved?

Thank you for the replies! Very informative, and they solve my problem.


It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Offline

#7 2012-11-02 22:02:47

nomorewindows
Member
Registered: 2010-04-03
Posts: 3,004

Re: AUR packages moved?

65kid wrote:

uhm... not really answering your question, but why not just use something like cower instead of hacking together your own stuff?

I've been looking for an easier way to keep my AUR packages updated.


I may have to CONSOLE you about your usage of ridiculously easy graphical interfaces...
Look ma, no mouse.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB