You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-06 21:43:20

TheRealSid

Failed to start gdm -- aka "Oh no! Something went wrong"

Hi,

i just updated my system with 'pacman -Syu' and rebooted...
unfortunately the system (gdm) is now unable to start successfully and the only thing i get is the "Oh no! ..." error screen.

Im pretty new at arch linux and im struggling with this.

I found some Errors in /var/log/gdm/:0-greeter.log:

gnome-session[518]: WARNING: Unable to determine session: Unable to lookup session information for process '518'

(gnome-settings-daemon:540): power-plugin-WARNING **: no systemd support

(gnome-settings-daemon:540): power-plugin-WARNING **: Unable to start power manager: Error calling StartServiceByName for org.freedesktop.login1: GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.Spawn.ChildExited: Launch helper exited with unknown return code 1

(gnome-settings-daemon:540): media-keys-plugin-WARNING **: Failed to connect to systemd: Error calling StartServiceByName for org.freedesktop.login1: GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.Spawn.ChildExited: Launch helper exited with unknown return code 1

(gnome-settings-daemon:540): GLib-GIO-CRITICAL **: g_dbus_proxy_call_internal: assertion `G_IS_DBUS_PROXY (proxy)' failed
    JS ERROR: !!!   Exception was: Gio.IOErrorEnum: GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit.Manager.GeneralError: Unable to lookup session information for process '630'
    JS ERROR: !!!     message = '"GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit.Manager.GeneralError: Unable to lookup session information for process '630'"'
    JS ERROR: !!!     fileName = '"/usr/share/gjs-1.0/overrides/Gio.js"'
    JS ERROR: !!!     lineNumber = '95'
    JS ERROR: !!!     stack = '"0 _proxyInvoker("arg_array" = [object Array], "inSignature" = [object Array], "sync" = true, "methodName" = ""GetCurrentSession"")@/usr/share/gjs-1.0/overrides/Gio.js:95
1 anonymous()@/usr/share/gjs-1.0/overrides/Gio.js:121
2 anonymous()@/usr/share/gnome-shell/js/misc/loginManager.js:149