You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-10 18:20:31

OakRaider4Life
Member
Registered: 2012-02-08
Posts: 98

TF2 on Steam

Anyone else able to get Team Fortress 2 running on steam? How did you get it going?

Offline

#2 2012-11-10 18:23:55

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 7,837
Website

Re: TF2 on Steam

I believe that you have to be in the beta. If you've found a way around that, perhaps you would like to share it in the existing Steam on Linux threads?

EDIT: Unless you mean using Steam with wine? In which case check the WineHQ AppDB for hints and tips.

Last edited by WorMzy (2012-11-10 18:25:25)


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#3 2012-11-10 18:38:18

OakRaider4Life
Member
Registered: 2012-02-08
Posts: 98

Re: TF2 on Steam

I couldn't find any existing steam on linux threads... but there's a work around which can be found on the steam wiki page

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/St … m_on_Linux

The short of it: "Even without being in the private beta, it can be started by opening a steam URL steam://open/games. You can enter this url into web browser, or terminal emulator."

Offline

#4 2012-11-10 19:50:09

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 24,644
Website

Re: TF2 on Steam

OakRaider4Life wrote:

I couldn't find any existing steam on linux threads...

Really? C- Must try harder
http://www.google.com/search?q=site:bbs … .org+steam

Closing


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB