You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-14 13:30:52

_jumi_
Member
Registered: 2012-11-14
Posts: 5

Microphone not working, Intel audio and Asus Xonar

Hi

I recently installed arch and I'm very happy with the system. There is this one thing I haven't figured out yet: my microphone inputs don't work. I have pasted the configuration below. I tried to do what is suggested in the Arch Wiki (Pulseaudio and Alsa). I have Pulseaudio installed but I have also tried using Alsa without Pulseaudio. So here's the problem:

INtel sound chip using:
        Front mic: High pitched irritating sound is recorded, no sound from the environment (speech for example)
        Rear mic: Only dtatic hissing noise is recorded.

Asus Xonar mic input:
        No soudd at all is recorded. I have checked the power cable of this pcie card.

***EDIT: Tried disabling the onboard Intel chip, but the Xonar mic still doesn't work.

I have tried recording with both cards with Audacity and Skype. Outputs work well. I have enabled all the inputs in Alsamixer, but this didn't help.

I hope someone can help me.

_jumi_

Here's the system information:

--------------------------------------------------------
$ uname -r
3.6.6-1-ARCH

$ lspci | grep -i audio
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 04)
02:04.0 Multimedia audio controller: C-Media Electronics Inc CMI8788 [Oxygen HD Audio]

$ lsmod |grep -i snd
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     24487  1
snd_hda_codec_realtek    61193  1
snd_virtuoso           33288  4
snd_oxygen_lib         30845  1 snd_virtuoso
snd_mpu401_uart         5979  1 snd_oxygen_lib
snd_rawmidi            18479  1 snd_mpu401_uart
snd_seq_device          5268  1 snd_rawmidi
snd_hda_intel          26180  7
snd_hda_codec          98033  3 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep               6300  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                75167  8 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_oxygen_lib,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel
snd_page_alloc          7217  2 snd_pcm,snd_hda_intel
snd_timer              18934  1 snd_pcm
snd                    59989  30 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hwdep,snd_timer,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_pcm,snd_rawmidi,snd_virtuoso,snd_oxygen_lib,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_seq_device
soundcore               5442  1 snd

$ cat /proc/asound/cards
0 [PCH            ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
                      HDA Intel PCH at 0xf7d10000 irq 45
1 [D2X            ]: AV200 - Xonar D2X
                      Asus Virtuoso 200 at 0xe000, irq 16

Last edited by _jumi_ (2012-11-14 13:41:07)

Offline

#2 2012-11-14 17:21:56

_jumi_
Member
Registered: 2012-11-14
Posts: 5

Re: Microphone not working, Intel audio and Asus Xonar

I did some more looking around.

----------------------------------
$  cat /proc/asound/card*/codec* | grep Codec
Codec: Realtek ALC892
Codec: Intel PantherPoint HDMI

In the Mint forums someone had fixed issues with Realtek ALC892 by adding "options snd-hda-intel model=auto" in /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf. It didn't work for me fully but now I've gotten rid of the noise. Still not able to record anything...

***EDIT: Oh no. The high pitched noise for front mic is still there.

_jumi_

Last edited by _jumi_ (2012-11-14 17:24:36)

Offline

#3 2012-11-24 11:23:34

tuxor
Member
Registered: 2012-11-23
Posts: 2

Re: Microphone not working, Intel audio and Asus Xonar

Same issue for me hmm, no solutions right now

Last edited by tuxor (2012-11-24 11:23:51)

Offline

#4 2012-12-24 21:43:48

Rokixz
Member
From: Šiauliai, Lithuania
Registered: 2007-04-21
Posts: 251
Website

Re: Microphone not working, Intel audio and Asus Xonar

I don't know is it a right thread, but I can't get microphone working as well. I've tried to install pulseaudio, but still no luck, however, on KUBUNTU it's working fine.

My device: 00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01)

Please help us if anybody knows solution.


http://ispconfig.lt - ISPConfig 3 based hosting. Coming Soon!

Offline

#5 2012-12-25 03:12:47

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,663

Re: Microphone not working, Intel audio and Asus Xonar

I've had the same problem:

$ lspci | grep -i audio
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 04)

$ cat /etc/modprobe.d/modprobe.conf 
#
# /etc/modprobe.d/modprobe.conf
#
<snip>
#options snd-hda-intel id=PCH,ThinkPadEC index=0,1 model=thinkpad power_save=<int in seconds/0 to disable>
options snd-hda-intel model=thinkpad power_save=1

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#6 2013-01-03 19:27:51

Rokixz
Member
From: Šiauliai, Lithuania
Registered: 2007-04-21
Posts: 251
Website

Re: Microphone not working, Intel audio and Asus Xonar

I'm on desktop PC, which model should I choose? If I write only options snd-hda-intel nothing does the trick. Thanks in advance.


http://ispconfig.lt - ISPConfig 3 based hosting. Coming Soon!

Offline

#7 2013-01-03 22:15:21

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,663

Re: Microphone not working, Intel audio and Asus Xonar

Rokixz wrote:

I'm on desktop PC, which model should I choose? If I write only options snd-hda-intel nothing does the trick. Thanks in advance.

If I knew that, I'd use them myself and I assume the same is true for everybody else in this thread.

To figure the model, read the documentation. How should anybody else know which model you should specify if you don't? You're the one sitting at the computer - not us.

Note that specifying the model had no noticeable affect whatsoever in my case, at least. Without it, sound worked except the microphone. With it, the microphone still doesn't work.

Last edited by cfr (2013-01-03 22:17:26)


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#8 2013-03-06 11:06:12

Ghouli
Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2012-01-17
Posts: 1

Re: Microphone not working, Intel audio and Asus Xonar

Same problem here with my Xonar DG. My onboard Realtek audio is busted, so I can't test line-in with that one. Have tried pretty much all I can think of, with PulseAudio or ALSA I just can't get any sound in. I already started to suspect that maybe line-in was busted on Xonar, but on Windows 7 it works like a charm. I have no problems with output on Arch, but line-in just seems mute. There are a few different input sources listed on Xonar by pulseaudio and alsa, have tried all of those but none seem to work. Help, anyone? sad


Q6600@3.3Ghz & Hyper 212+ | DFI Blood Iron P35-T2RL | Asus Xonar DG | 4x 2GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 285 1GB | OCZ Agility 3 120GB & F3 1TB | Arch x86-64 & Xfce4
Eee PC 901 | Arch i686 & Xfce4

Offline

#9 2013-04-05 15:42:06

durazell
Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2013-04-05
Posts: 4

Re: Microphone not working, Intel audio and Asus Xonar

c2h5oh wrote:

I've got some bad news for you: you will not get the microphone to work right now: Alsa driver offers very basic support for Xonar DG - the only thing that works now is audio output.

What works:
- Audio output using rear panel

What doesn't work:
- Microphone
- Front panel (no audio output/input)
- Automatic device switching (ie switching to headphones when you plug them in)

Driver developer stated on Alsa-devel mailing list that those features will not be available till he finds time to do some reverse engeneering. Since the last try I've seen didn't make Alsa update back in January 2011 I'm quite pessimistic about this hmm

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour … bug/919809.

I hope someone will add front panel and mic support, as it is very annoying not being able to use head phones outside of Windows sad


Secretly hoping for better Asus Xonar DG alsa driver smile

Offline

#10 2013-07-31 01:30:22

Cirdan
Member
Registered: 2006-03-18
Posts: 64

Re: Microphone not working, Intel audio and Asus Xonar

durazell wrote:
c2h5oh wrote:

I've got some bad news for you: you will not get the microphone to work right now: Alsa driver offers very basic support for Xonar DG - the only thing that works now is audio output.

What works:
- Audio output using rear panel

What doesn't work:
- Microphone
- Front panel (no audio output/input)
- Automatic device switching (ie switching to headphones when you plug them in)

Driver developer stated on Alsa-devel mailing list that those features will not be available till he finds time to do some reverse engeneering. Since the last try I've seen didn't make Alsa update back in January 2011 I'm quite pessimistic about this hmm

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour … bug/919809.

I hope someone will add front panel and mic support, as it is very annoying not being able to use head phones outside of Windows sad

Sorry to bump, but is there any progress on this? Really would like to get my microphone going...

Offline

#11 2013-12-18 21:43:31

durazelI
Member
Registered: 2013-12-18
Posts: 9

Re: Microphone not working, Intel audio and Asus Xonar

Cirdan wrote:

Sorry to bump, but is there any progress on this? Really would like to get my microphone going...

Bump! There seems to be recent progress done by Roman Volkov.

PATCH 1/2
--------------------
"This patch does some preparation of existing Oxygen driver. Some constants added to the header files. To perform the SPI reading, there is a new function to wait when the SPI finishes a transaction. Channel routing must be updated when the user selects the audio output, and there are some extra symbols exported from the snd-oxygen-lib module."

PATCH 2/2
--------------------
"Fixes for the Xonar DG model of the Oxygen driver:
CS4245 CODEC now fully supported with the headphone amplifier.
Both front panel and rear jacks work.
Full support of capturing: from the microphone, line in, and aux input.
Multichannel playback routing corrected for 2.0/4.0/5.1 speakers
New mixer controls, hardware volume control supported for headphones only."


This link will show the relevant mailing list threads. http://mailman.alsa-project.org/piperma … html#68938

EDIT: just compiled kernel 3.12.6-1 with it. uploaded pkg if someone wants it, but it needs dummy file in mkinitcpio folder (see error when installing)

Last edited by durazelI (2014-01-12 14:50:23)

Offline

#12 2014-03-15 06:19:33

Randomguy123
Member
Registered: 2014-03-15
Posts: 1

Re: Microphone not working, Intel audio and Asus Xonar

Ok

I'm on the verge of crying, been on this mic thing for longer than I care to admit, finally found it wasn't even supported like you pointed to, anyway, I'm not THAT good with linux, in fact, I'm barely keeping my head above the water.. I've taken a picture of myself here http://tinyurl.com/o5envmp

How do I install that driver, I've downloaded your package and everything I just don't know what to do with it, where to put it what to run

Last edited by Randomguy123 (2014-03-15 06:31:29)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB