You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-18 23:00:09

Naps62

Asus UX32VD - Several issues

Hi. First of all, this is my first time at a non-debian-based distro, although i have quite some experience in linux already

This is a recent laptop, and i've looked around for most issues, but is seems there are still a few problems with this model.
I've turned to arch linux after failing to solve some other issues with a lot of debian based distros (mint, debian, crunchbang, and ubuntu)

The biggest issue is related to graphics. This is a hybrid model, with a NVidia GT 620M, and an Intel HD4000.
I tried my luck with bumblebee before (on debian and ubuntu) but without success (errors, black screens, etc)

My goal is just to use the intel card, and if possible, use the NVidia only for CUDA development (which i am still unable to do)

1st issue: Whenever i turn on the latop, i have to close & reopen the lid for the monitor to show me anything. And if i turn it on while connected to a secondary screen, i get that screen working on the fly, but the main screen will be completely undetectable

2nd issue: No 3D acceleration (or at least i think this is the issue). For instance, when i try to run clementine, i get this error:

clementine: error while loading shared libraries: libGL.so.1: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS32

3rd issue: Rendering seems to work with much less quality when using the main monitor. I can't seem to show an example because when taking a print screen, the image shows up fine. But for instance, when i'm seeing a youtube video, which has that black gradient on each sides of the player. The secondary monitor shows this just fine. But when i drag the window to the main one, i see this gradient in much lower quality, like just 6 grey lines instead of a smooth gradient.

I'm currently following this guide to try and solve this: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Intel_Graphics