You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-19 06:43:50

dashboard

installing arch on efi/uefi 64bit motherboard

i put together a guide here: http://pcavdisor.blogspot.ca to help people install arch 64bit using refind bootloader on a efi/uefi motherboard, let me know anything you would like changed and ill updated it, also post any other guides that may be of a help to beginners trying to install arch on a uefi/efi system.

#2 2012-11-19 18:59:01

AlanF00

Re: installing arch on efi/uefi 64bit motherboard

I'm a rank beginner trying to install ArchLinux on a UEFI board, so your help comes at a perfect time. Below is my first very rough cut at following your guidance.

Please note that my comments are not prettied-up and are only my very first attempt. Eventually, with your help, perhaps I can post a nicer looking response.

This shouldn't be too hard to follow, though. My comments are in between your numbered ones.

I got stuck at several points, but completely so near the end. Any suggestions will be appreciated.

Alan

1 download the archlinux ISO here https://www.archlinux.org/download/
2 install the archlinux iso onto a usb thumb drive or a CD
3 boot into the CD (please note if you can boot up using the EFI bootloader on the cd it will save you time - when i installed at the time of this guide i got a error booting efi directly off of the cd caused by a known bug hence the usb shell...)

How does one boot up using the EFI bootloader? If you boot from a CD or USB stick, you don't get such a choice.

4 format your drives using cfdisk by running #cfdisk - dont forget to write the changes to the disk before quiting

I found cfdisk unusable, so I used gdisk instead. Also, it appears that you're assuming that users know that these tooks create GPT partitions rather than the old DOS style partitions. As a newbie myself, I've found this knowledge crucial.