You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-19 08:09:36

YYaaSSeeRR
Member
From: Syria
Registered: 2012-09-02
Posts: 53

can't start gnome-session after system update.

hi all
I have done a whole system update .

pacman -Syu

and now I can't start the desktop environment.

I tried to delete the xorg.conf and create new 1 and then copy it to /etc/X11

X -configure

but that didn't work.

and when I am trying to create new xorg file I got an error message telling me that the number of screens detected is not matched , I am using a laptop big_smile.

I checked ~/.xinitrc and /etc/rc.conf and everything is right.

any suggestion??

Last edited by YYaaSSeeRR (2012-11-19 08:11:06)

Offline

#2 2012-11-19 12:01:25

ETNyx
Member
From: Czech republic
Registered: 2010-06-08
Posts: 26

Re: can't start gnome-session after system update.

Hi,

you did not give enough information but i had simillar problem cant start gdm look there https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=153240 anyway search trought your logs or post them to forum

Offline

#3 2012-11-19 19:05:55

YYaaSSeeRR
Member
From: Syria
Registered: 2012-09-02
Posts: 53

Re: can't start gnome-session after system update.

ETNyx wrote:

Hi,

you did not give enough information but i had simillar problem cant start gdm look there https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=153240 anyway search trought your logs or post them to forum


when I am trying to create new xorg file through this order

X -configure

I get an error message telling me that the number of created screens doesn't match the number of detected devices. "I am using a laptop BTW".

and I can't log in, I just got the black screen and when launching startx I got the gnome shell session but after 2 seconds of that I got a failure in Gnome and have to log out.

Last edited by YYaaSSeeRR (2012-11-20 07:25:55)

Offline

#4 2012-11-20 09:13:01

ETNyx
Member
From: Czech republic
Registered: 2010-06-08
Posts: 26

Re: can't start gnome-session after system update.

By lagre you dont need this configuration your system should start configuration "on the fly" (mean without main xorg.conf defining device and screen) i used that on my laptop too. Anyway you should revide your config manualy. In case you used nvidia (gc and driver) you should try generete xorg.conf via nvidia-xconfig. Ati have got simillar tools,...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB