You are not logged in.

#26 2013-04-24 04:46:02

shadyabhi
Member
From: Bangalore
Registered: 2010-05-23
Posts: 262
Website

Re: "No carrier" on eth0 even with cable plugged in

I'm on Thinkpad X220 with 3.8.8-1 kernel.

00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82579LM Gigabit Network Connection (rev 04)
    Subsystem: Lenovo Device 21ce
    Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 42
    Memory at f2500000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=128K]
    Memory at f252b000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
    I/O ports at 5080 [size=32]
    Capabilities: [c8] Power Management version 2
    Capabilities: [d0] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
    Capabilities: [e0] PCI Advanced Features
    Kernel driver in use: e1000e

My problem is 100% reproducable (tested 5 times already). When I sleep my laptop, after resume eth0 is never detected. I don't see anything in dmesg or /var/log/messages. The thing that I observed that's not mentioned in this thread is that, when I resume from sleep, for a moment,

sudo ethtool eth0

gives a result saying "Link detected: no" but after a few seconds, it just fails to detect the device.

shadyabhi@archlinux ~ 75 [10:04:55] 
$ sudo ethtool eth0
Settings for eth0:
Cannot get device settings: No such device
Cannot get wake-on-lan settings: No such device
Cannot get message level: No such device
Cannot get link status: No such device
No data available
shadyabhi@archlinux ~ 75 [10:04:56] 
$ 

The

echo on > /sys/bus/pci/devices/0000:00:XX.0/power/control

is also not helping for me here.

Offline

#27 2013-04-29 08:29:17

franziskaner.fan
Member
From: Barcelona
Registered: 2011-07-01
Posts: 23
Website

Re: "No carrier" on eth0 even with cable plugged in

Same problem here with lenovo X230 and e1000e kernel module ¬¬

echo "on" > /dev/ethernet/bla/power/control

works for me... but will be wonderful a patch or similar :-P

Offline

#28 2013-05-18 20:49:21

phaidros
Member
Registered: 2013-05-18
Posts: 1

Re: "No carrier" on eth0 even with cable plugged in

guys, you saved my day!

actually I had the same issue, but not even on arch, but ubuntu 13.04. It seems since some 3.x kernel version I had the situation of eth0 randomly got no link, and the stranged fact is: the network card *sometimes* worked, but I never saw a conclusive reason (cables, switches ..). so after days of research, including flashing BIOS I found that little workaround here. Seems not to be distro related big_smile

THANX!

    echo "on" > /sys/devices/pci0000\:00/0000\:00\:19.0/power/control

what settings is it actually? and why does neither nm nor kernel not take care of this?
*wondering


*facts:
thinkpad x201

~# lspci | grep -i Ethernet
00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82577LM Gigabit Network Connection (rev 06)

~# uname -a
Linux enigma 3.8.0-21-generic #32-Ubuntu SMP Tue May 14 22:16:46 UTC 2013 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

~# lsmod | grep e1000e
e1000e                198787  0

~# ethtool eth0
Settings for eth0:
Cannot get device settings: No such device
Cannot get wake-on-lan settings: No such device
Cannot get message level: No such device
Cannot get link status: No such device
No data available

~# mii-tool eth0
SIOCGMIIPHY on 'eth0' failed: no such device

~#ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 5c:ff:35:zz:yy:xx
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Interrupt:20 Memory:f2500000-f2520000

Last edited by phaidros (2013-05-18 20:55:15)

Offline

#29 2013-05-19 01:11:35

erikw
Member
From: Lund, Sweden
Registered: 2012-07-17
Posts: 15
Website

Re: "No carrier" on eth0 even with cable plugged in

Upgrading to Linux 3.9 from 3.8 solved this for me.

Offline

#30 2013-05-19 10:41:05

alroar
Member
Registered: 2012-10-15
Posts: 27

Re: "No carrier" on eth0 even with cable plugged in

erikw wrote:

Upgrading to Linux 3.9 from 3.8 solved this for me.

same here (thinkpad x200).

Offline

#31 2014-05-23 21:17:39

blacky
Member
Registered: 2012-10-26
Posts: 12

Re: "No carrier" on eth0 even with cable plugged in

Hey!

Having this problems since a few weeks.

Facts:

X220t
3.14.4-1-ARCH x86_64
undock/unplug/sleep
--> "no such device" in mii-tool and ethtool, no-carrier and/or carrier-lost for NetworkManager.
--> Still present on "ip link show"
rmmod e1000e
--> Link gone from "ip link show"
modprobe e1000e
--> Link reappears in "ip link show" but no overall change
Use different cable/not docking station to connect
--> No change at all

echo "on" > /sys/devices/pci0000\:00/0000\:00\:19.0/power/control

--> working again, shows up in network manager, ethtool and mii-tool.

Very, very nasty bug, this.

BUT: That’s not the end of the story. It’s working flawlessly when I dock it in the office (let’s just say the company I work for knows a thing or two about networking …). But my other computers including a X61 seem to be unaffected by this so it’s not some simple misconfiguration of my switch (which happens to be a competitor’s product, shame on me …) but something more tricky.

The only thing really special about my network may be that I set up Jumbo frames (MTU 6128) on the switch and a few systems, including the server which runs DHCP daemon. This may be related but I could not yet rationally explain how.

I’ll keep you posted if it fixes itself with 3.15 or if I find some other solution / reason.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB