You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-27 00:09:45

novembrine
Member
Registered: 2012-11-26
Posts: 6

[SOLVED] Mounting securityfs Without Error Messages from systemd

Hello,

I noticed that securityfs is not automatically mounted to /sys/kernel/security on my system, and I want to use it for my TOMOYO setup. So I placed this line in my /etc/fstab:

securityfs      /sys/kernel/security    securityfs      rw,relatime     0 0

However, at startup, I receive an error saying that I gave bad syntax or options. It suggests I check out the system log for any useful info. But there is nothing special listed there around the area where partitions are being remounted:

...
[    9.768839] EXT4-fs (sda5): re-mounted. Opts: (null)
[    9.815244] EXT4-fs (sda6): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: stripe=4
[    9.859178] scsi 7:0:0:0: Direct-Access     SAMSUNG  HD103SI               PQ: 0 ANSI: 2 CCS
[    9.860225] sd 7:0:0:0: [sdc] 1953525168 512-byte logical blocks: (1.00 TB/931 GiB)
[    9.860931] sd 7:0:0:0: [sdc] Write Protect is off
[    9.860935] sd 7:0:0:0: [sdc] Mode Sense: 28 00 00 00
[    9.861771] sd 7:0:0:0: [sdc] No Caching mode page present
[    9.861801] sd 7:0:0:0: [sdc] Assuming drive cache: write through
[    9.864702] sd 7:0:0:0: [sdc] No Caching mode page present
[    9.864791] sd 7:0:0:0: [sdc] Assuming drive cache: write through
[    9.865511]  sdc: sdc1
[    9.868391] sd 7:0:0:0: [sdc] No Caching mode page present
[    9.868480] sd 7:0:0:0: [sdc] Assuming drive cache: write through
[    9.868566] sd 7:0:0:0: [sdc] Attached SCSI disk
[    9.885457] EXT4-fs (sda7): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)
[    9.927526] Adding 3905532k swap on /dev/sda8.  Priority:-1 extents:1 across:3905532k 
...

Even more, securityfs shows up in /etc/mtab like a champ, as if nothing bad had happened. It works just fine with all of the relevant TOMOYO commands, as well. Here is my mount output:

proc on /proc type proc (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime)
sys on /sys type sysfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime)
dev on /dev type devtmpfs (rw,nosuid,relatime,size=1948936k,nr_inodes=487234,mode=755)
run on /run type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,mode=755)
/dev/sda5 on / type ext4 (rw,relatime,data=ordered)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620,ptmxmode=000)
shm on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime)
/dev/sda6 on /boot type ext4 (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,stripe=4,data=ordered)
/dev/sda7 on /home type ext4 (rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,data=ordered)
securityfs on /sys/kernel/security type securityfs (rw,relatime)
binfmt on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw,relatime)

But errors on startup are less than ideal, and they are usually not for nothing. I assume there must be a more clean way to take care of this other than fstab. I attemped to look into using initcpio (since it takes care of proc, sys, etc.), but I am starting to beleive I shouln't mess with that either.

Any thoughts?

Last edited by novembrine (2012-11-27 09:16:33)

Offline

#2 2012-11-27 01:22:58

falconindy
Developer
From: New York, USA
Registered: 2009-10-22
Posts: 4,111
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Mounting securityfs Without Error Messages from systemd

Actually, if securityfs is enabled in the kernel, systemd mounts it for you.

http://cgit.freedesktop.org/systemd/sys … etup.c#n70

The fact that you're getting an error and it's still mounted.... Very likely that it's "relatime" which is the bad option.

Last edited by falconindy (2012-11-27 01:23:27)

Offline

#3 2012-11-27 03:50:35

novembrine
Member
Registered: 2012-11-26
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED] Mounting securityfs Without Error Messages from systemd

No dice, unfortunately. I took out my line from fstab and then attempted the below.

I appended these two lines to /etc/default/grub and re-compiled:

CONFIG_SECURITY_TOMOYO=y
CONFIG_SECURITYFS=y

No errors, but it did not have the desired effect.

Furthermore, I tried putting back my fstab line with relatime removed, and I get the same error with the same seemingly positive result of a mounted securityfs:

/sys/kernel/security not mounted already, or bad option
mount exited with status 32

Am I putting in the wrong kernel boot parameters?

Last edited by novembrine (2012-11-27 03:57:17)

Offline

#4 2012-11-27 04:21:13

falconindy
Developer
From: New York, USA
Registered: 2009-10-22
Posts: 4,111
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Mounting securityfs Without Error Messages from systemd

You seem to be "missing" things from your mount output, which really only means one thing: your /etc/mtab isn't a symlink to /proc/self/mounts. You've been warned about this on every bootup in bright red text.

Offline

#5 2012-11-27 04:40:26

novembrine
Member
Registered: 2012-11-26
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED] Mounting securityfs Without Error Messages from systemd

I have to disagree. I've never had any such warning text. I always thought that contents of my /proc/self/mounts match my /etc/mtab as much as they were intended to:

/proc/self/mounts/ wrote:

rootfs / rootfs rw 0 0
proc /proc proc rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime 0 0
sys /sys sysfs rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime 0 0
dev /dev devtmpfs rw,nosuid,relatime,size=1948936k,nr_inodes=487234,mode=755 0 0
run /run tmpfs rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,mode=755 0 0
/dev/sda5 / ext4 rw,relatime,data=ordered 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620,ptmxmode=000 0 0
shm /dev/shm tmpfs rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime 0 0
/dev/sda6 /boot ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,stripe=4,data=ordered 0 0
/dev/sda7 /home ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,data=ordered 0 0
binfmt /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc binfmt_misc rw,relatime 0 0

mount wrote:

proc on /proc type proc (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime)
sys on /sys type sysfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime)
dev on /dev type devtmpfs (rw,nosuid,relatime,size=1948936k,nr_inodes=487234,mode=755)
run on /run type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,mode=755)
/dev/sda5 on / type ext4 (rw,relatime,data=ordered)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620,ptmxmode=000)
shm on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime)
/dev/sda6 on /boot type ext4 (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,stripe=4,data=ordered)
/dev/sda7 on /home type ext4 (rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,data=ordered)
binfmt on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw,relatime)

rootfs is not shown for security reasons, I thought.

Do I need to re-compile my kernel? I was hoping to avoid that...

Last edited by novembrine (2012-11-27 04:42:20)

Offline

#6 2012-11-27 05:57:14

falconindy
Developer
From: New York, USA
Registered: 2009-10-22
Posts: 4,111
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Mounting securityfs Without Error Messages from systemd

Uh, security reasons? I don't follow...

If that's your /proc/self/mounts, then you aren't actually booting with systemd. You would be seeing a large number of cgroup mounts and, among other things, securityfs would be mounted for you. example...

rootfs / rootfs rw 0 0
proc /proc proc rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime 0 0
sys /sys sysfs rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime 0 0
dev /dev devtmpfs rw,nosuid,relatime,size=6149824k,nr_inodes=1537456,mode=755 0 0
run /run tmpfs rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,mode=755 0 0
/dev/sda2 / ext4 rw,noatime,discard,data=ordered 0 0
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs rw,nosuid,nodev 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620,ptmxmode=000 0 0
tmpfs /sys/fs/cgroup tmpfs rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,mode=755 0 0
cgroup /sys/fs/cgroup/systemd cgroup rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,release_agent=/usr/lib/systemd/systemd-cgroups-agent,name=systemd 0 0
cgroup /sys/fs/cgroup/cpuset cgroup rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,cpuset 0 0
cgroup /sys/fs/cgroup/cpu,cpuacct cgroup rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,cpuacct,cpu 0 0
cgroup /sys/fs/cgroup/memory cgroup rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,memory 0 0
cgroup /sys/fs/cgroup/devices cgroup rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,devices 0 0
cgroup /sys/fs/cgroup/freezer cgroup rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,freezer 0 0
cgroup /sys/fs/cgroup/blkio cgroup rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,blkio 0 0
cgroup /sys/fs/cgroup/perf_event cgroup rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,perf_event 0 0
cgroup /sys/fs/cgroup/net_prio cgroup rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,net_prio 0 0
cgroup /sys/fs/cgroup/hugetlb cgroup rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,hugetlb 0 0
systemd-1 /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc autofs rw,relatime,fd=28,pgrp=1,timeout=300,minproto=5,maxproto=5,direct 0 0
systemd-1 /home autofs rw,relatime,fd=32,pgrp=1,timeout=300,minproto=5,maxproto=5,direct 0 0
systemd-1 /mnt/Gluttony autofs rw,relatime,fd=33,pgrp=1,timeout=300,minproto=5,maxproto=5,direct 0 0
systemd-1 /mnt/Haven autofs rw,relatime,fd=34,pgrp=1,timeout=300,minproto=5,maxproto=5,direct 0 0
hugetlbfs /dev/hugepages hugetlbfs rw,relatime 0 0
mqueue /dev/mqueue mqueue rw,relatime 0 0
debugfs /sys/kernel/debug debugfs rw,relatime 0 0
rpc_pipefs /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs rpc_pipefs rw,relatime 0 0
tmpfs /tmp tmpfs rw,nosuid,nodev,size=512000k 0 0
/dev/sda1 /boot ext3 rw,nodev,noexec,noatime,data=ordered 0 0
/dev/sdb1 /home ext4 rw,relatime,data=ordered 0 0
/dev/sdb2 /mnt/Gluttony ext4 rw,nodev,noatime,data=ordered 0 0
/dev/sdc1 /mnt/Haven ext4 rw,nodev,noatime,data=ordered 0 0
/dev/sdc1 /srv/nfs/vmbin ext4 rw,nodev,noatime,data=ordered 0 0
/dev/sdc1 /srv/nfs/pkgs ext4 rw,nodev,noatime,data=ordered 0 0
nfsd /proc/fs/nfsd nfsd rw,relatime 0 0
binfmt_misc /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc binfmt_misc rw,relatime 0 0

note that securityfs doesn't show up here because it's not in my kernel.

Last edited by falconindy (2012-11-27 05:59:17)

Offline

#7 2012-11-27 08:20:32

novembrine
Member
Registered: 2012-11-26
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED] Mounting securityfs Without Error Messages from systemd

Uh, security reasons? I don't follow...

That was just me thinking aloud.

If that's your /proc/self/mounts, then you aren't actually booting with systemd. You would be seeing a large number of cgroup mounts and, among other things, securityfs would be mounted for you. example...

You are correct. Though I had systemd installed, I was not actually using it. Turns out my system is a couple of weeks older than the official switch.

Thanks! If my problem is fixed after I reboot and finish setting up, I will switch this to solved.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB