You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-27 18:28:13

trixrabbit
Member
Registered: 2012-11-27
Posts: 100

tilde problem ˜ instead of ~

Hi, I just started installing Arch Linux and I have a problem with the tilde ~, whenever I type it in my terminal it appears on the top ˜ like this.
I use a thinpad t61 laptop and my keymap is set to cf for canadian french. On windows or other linux distro the tilde button works correctly. I tried to search on forums but all I could find was problem of tilde not appearing, is there an easy way to fix this without having to change my whole keymap ?

thank you

Offline

#2 2012-11-27 20:07:37

alphaniner
Member
From: Ancapistan
Registered: 2010-07-12
Posts: 2,619

Re: tilde problem ˜ instead of ~

I see the same thing in the tty.  In my terminal emulator it's in the middle.  Unless it's not being recognized as a tilde (for example running ls ~ doesn't display the contents of your home directory) it's just a font issue.


But whether the Constitution really be one thing, or another, this much is certain - that it has either authorized such a government as we have had, or has been powerless to prevent it. In either case, it is unfit to exist.
-Lysander Spooner

Offline

#3 2012-11-28 03:31:31

caltac
Member
Registered: 2012-11-27
Posts: 22

Re: tilde problem ˜ instead of ~

The reason it looks like that is because of your console font.
I think this should help you.

Offline

#4 2012-11-28 07:39:29

trixrabbit
Member
Registered: 2012-11-27
Posts: 100

Re: tilde problem ˜ instead of ~

thank you, Do you know a way to find out what font I would need?

Offline

#5 2012-11-28 08:06:03

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 18,578
Website

Re: tilde problem ˜ instead of ~

trixrabbit wrote:

thank you, Do you know a way to find out what font I would need?

If you read the link caltac posted, you will see that you can try them and determine which one best suits your needs...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Online

#6 2012-11-29 23:21:53

trixrabbit
Member
Registered: 2012-11-27
Posts: 100

Re: tilde problem ˜ instead of ~

I just tried a lot of different fonts and it ddidn't fix my problem, just the font changed...I think the problem is the keymap...

Offline

#7 2012-11-30 00:18:08

root
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2012-04-13
Posts: 297

Re: tilde problem ˜ instead of ~

Different fonts won't present you with a radical change trixrabbit. If you know a font shows the ~ the way you want just look up its name, make sure it is installed in your Arch and use it in your terminal setup.


\(o_X)/
                        'Cause I wanna be an Archy - An Archy in the UK // Sex Pistols

Offline

#8 2012-11-30 00:19:36

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,661

Re: tilde problem ˜ instead of ~

@trixrabbit,

I don't think so. My keymap is us and I see the same problem. (I just hadn't paid it any attention before.)

Looking at the previews, almost all of them feature the high tilde so I think it isn't surprising that changing a few randomly wouldn't work. I found one which had the tilde in the middle but that appears to lack the $ sign so probably isn't a good choice.

Interesting if it is different on other distributions. Maybe they populate the console fonts directory differently? (Doesn't sound likely...)

Last edited by cfr (2012-11-30 00:28:42)


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#9 2012-11-30 00:34:08

trixrabbit
Member
Registered: 2012-11-27
Posts: 100

Re: tilde problem ˜ instead of ~

I just tried US keymaps and it doesn't work either...I'll probably try some more fonts. Otherwise I'll just deal without the tilde...first time this happens to me, never had problems with keymaps heh.
thank you all for the help

edit: The problem is not that the tilde doesn't show the way I want...you can't acces your home folder with the upper tilde that's the problem.

Last edited by trixrabbit (2012-11-30 00:36:02)

Offline

#10 2012-11-30 00:42:57

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,661

Re: tilde problem ˜ instead of ~

trixrabbit wrote:

edit: The problem is not that the tilde doesn't show the way I want...you can't acces your home folder with the upper tilde that's the problem.

THIS is definitely not right. I can use the high ~ just fine. I see the cosmetic issue but that's it. Stuff like ls ~, cd ~, ls ~/ <tab to get directory listing> etc. all work fine.


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#11 2012-11-30 02:09:33

trixrabbit
Member
Registered: 2012-11-27
Posts: 100

Re: tilde problem ˜ instead of ~

yeah I wish it'd work well

edit: I just reinstalled and re-followed the newbie guide. it works now. thanks.

Last edited by trixrabbit (2012-11-30 03:05:56)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB