You are not logged in.

#1 2012-12-05 18:41:45

Ferchu
Member
From: Buenos Aires - Argentina
Registered: 2012-06-12
Posts: 40

Just No sound -

Hello,

Since few weeks, in an update, I lost the sound in two PC. one a day, other few days after.
Really I have no idea how to recover it.
I read all the wiki, make some test several times, change the motor of phonon. (GStreamer don't seem to work, amarok don't play music) VLC seem to be the best because Amarok play music, but the sound is very low and with noise i think.

Please, help, It take me hours testing and testing but nothing get better.

Thank you.


___________________________________
Fernando Pucci
GPG:  E1AB 369F C188 9DCD F423 7090 1C88 D8FB C3FB 42EB

Offline

#2 2012-12-06 18:53:37

shulamy
Member
From: israel
Registered: 2010-09-11
Posts: 348

Re: Just No sound -

when it happened to me

it was just the output volume in system settings -> sound.

ezik

Offline

#3 2012-12-10 13:53:37

Ferchu
Member
From: Buenos Aires - Argentina
Registered: 2012-06-12
Posts: 40

Re: Just No sound -

shulamy:   In System Setting in KDE there is not icon called sound, at least in my Arch.
Maybe you want to say Multimedia, but there in not output volume in that dialog.

Output Volume seem to be in kmix, and it is at 90% or more. Plus. My user is in the audio group. (same as root user)
Thank you


___________________________________
Fernando Pucci
GPG:  E1AB 369F C188 9DCD F423 7090 1C88 D8FB C3FB 42EB

Offline

#4 2012-12-10 13:56:56

Ferchu
Member
From: Buenos Aires - Argentina
Registered: 2012-06-12
Posts: 40

Re: Just No sound -

I just see there is no /dev/dsp in my system


___________________________________
Fernando Pucci
GPG:  E1AB 369F C188 9DCD F423 7090 1C88 D8FB C3FB 42EB

Offline

#5 2012-12-10 16:14:02

shulamy
Member
From: israel
Registered: 2010-09-11
Posts: 348

Re: Just No sound -

i am on gnome but i am sure kde has somthing similar

where you choose which card is on and sets its volume.

ezik

Offline

#6 2012-12-10 16:32:27

Ferchu
Member
From: Buenos Aires - Argentina
Registered: 2012-06-12
Posts: 40

Re: Just No sound -

Well, I open a terminal, run alsamixer, and press. F6: (Select sound card)

A new window appear and say:
title: sound card

- (default)
0  HDA ATI SB
   enter device name...

No more than this.

And in KDE,  /  System-Setting / , Multimedia /  Audio Hardware configuration,
the sound board combobox only have to choose:  INTERNAL - AUDIO


___________________________________
Fernando Pucci
GPG:  E1AB 369F C188 9DCD F423 7090 1C88 D8FB C3FB 42EB

Offline

#7 2012-12-12 10:26:51

qubodup
Member
From: Berlin, Germany
Registered: 2008-01-19
Posts: 63
Website

Re: Just No sound -

Same here, when booting after disconnecting power from the computer. When rebooting however, sound (often) works.

I tried following https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ad … sound_card and added the following to /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf:

options snd slots=snd_hda_intel
options snd_hda_intel index=0

The output of aplay -l is excatly the same when sound works or does not work:

$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: ALC888 Analog [ALC888 Analog]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 1: ALC888 Digital [ALC888 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

I use speaker-test for testing audio. My sound card is an onboard one, mainboard: Foxconn A7GM-S 2.0

Ferchu: Does sound playback work if you reboot, rather than shutdown and boot?

EDIT:
When sound does not work:
alsa-info.sh: http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=9912c … 75e87d535c

$ speaker-test 

speaker-test 1.0.26

Playback device is default
Stream parameters are 48000Hz, S16_LE, 1 channels
Using 16 octaves of pink noise
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1018:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
Playback open error: -16,Device or resource busy

When sound does work:
alsa-info.sh: http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=d936a … 0e1a4745af

$ speaker-test 

speaker-test 1.0.26

Playback device is default
Stream parameters are 48000Hz, S16_LE, 1 channels
Using 16 octaves of pink noise
Rate set to 48000Hz (requested 48000Hz)
Buffer size range from 2048 to 16384
Period size range from 1024 to 1024
Using max buffer size 16384
Periods = 4
was set period_size = 1024
was set buffer_size = 16384
 0 - Front Left
Time per period = 2.648159
 0 - Front Left

(Only the left channel plays back. This is new... EDIT: it was a loose connector, never mind)

Last edited by qubodup (2012-12-12 11:51:38)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB