You are not logged in.

#1 2012-12-07 08:11:32

Raiden616
Member
Registered: 2012-11-13
Posts: 28

No video in Skype

Hi All,

I have a Microsoft LifeCam Cinema HD and can't get it to work with Skype.

It shows up in the device selection no problem, and it works with applications such as Cheese and VLC, but in Skype it just shows up as a black screen in the preview, and if I try and switch to it in a video call nothing happens.

When I run Skype up in terminal, I get no errors at all, and the light on the Webcam blinks when Skype is open.

If anyone has any ideas I would really appreciate it..

Thanks in advance! smile

Offline

#2 2012-12-07 09:26:37

ivoarch
Member
From: the six feet under the ground
Registered: 2011-03-31
Posts: 436

Re: No video in Skype


I love GnuEmacs, GnuScreen, ratpoison, and conkeror.
Github )||( Weblog

Offline

#3 2012-12-07 12:52:44

Raiden616
Member
Registered: 2012-11-13
Posts: 28

Re: No video in Skype

Thanks, but I've already tried all those solutions. I was previously getting a preloading error but following that solution fixed the error, but I'm still having the problem.

Thanks anyway

Offline

#4 2012-12-13 00:39:01

Raiden616
Member
Registered: 2012-11-13
Posts: 28

Re: No video in Skype

Anyone got any suggestions? I would really appreciate any help. :-(

Offline

#5 2012-12-19 14:05:58

Raiden616
Member
Registered: 2012-11-13
Posts: 28

Re: No video in Skype

Bump?

Offline

#6 2012-12-19 15:20:58

xpixelz
Member
From: Tunisia
Registered: 2012-02-29
Posts: 47
Website

Re: No video in Skype

Is your webcam used by any other app already prior to skype?
That's all left for me to think about when nothing worked for you so close skype than try "fuser -a /dev/video0" (or whatever your device is) and see if it's in use, if so kill the PID and start skype.
Hope it helps smile

Offline

#7 2012-12-20 06:05:47

Raiden616
Member
Registered: 2012-11-13
Posts: 28

Re: No video in Skype

Thanks for the reply, but I don't think that's worked; the fuser just shows "/dev/video0:". But it shows that even when skype IS running?

Offline

#8 2012-12-23 10:23:59

Raiden616
Member
Registered: 2012-11-13
Posts: 28

Re: No video in Skype

bump

Offline

#9 2012-12-24 09:18:51

xpixelz
Member
From: Tunisia
Registered: 2012-02-29
Posts: 47
Website

Re: No video in Skype

Have you tried manually setting ~/.Skype/yourskypeaccountname/config.xml ?

(Microsoft LifeCam Cinema HD -> 1280×720 @ 30fps) so you may set between <Video>...</Video> tags :

<CaptureHeight>720</CaptureHeight>
<CaptureWidth>1280</CaptureWidth>
<Fps>30</Fps>

You may begin forcing lower resolutions before setting too high (ie.: 480x640 @ 15fps than 30fps than greater resolution...etc)

Good luck wink

Last edited by xpixelz (2012-12-24 09:20:03)

Offline

#10 2012-12-27 21:14:17

Raiden616
Member
Registered: 2012-11-13
Posts: 28

Re: No video in Skype

I am looking in the config.xml but am unable to find any <Video> tags. I tried plugging in my other webcam and starting Skype with that (which works btw) and then closing Skype and checking config.xml to see if it had made the tags - no such luck. Other Forums have suggested replacing "<TransferWindow>" tags, but those don't exist either... :S

EDIT: Scratch that - I was being an idiot and not seeing them. The <Video> tags were there; unfortunately I tried various different resolutions and still no such luck I'm afraid...

Last edited by Raiden616 (2012-12-27 21:26:55)

Offline

#11 2013-01-02 08:22:58

Raiden616
Member
Registered: 2012-11-13
Posts: 28

Re: No video in Skype

Nobody else got any ideas?

Close to giving up on this unless a miracle happens... :-(

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB