You are not logged in.

#1 2012-12-19 22:43:29

H20
Member
From: London
Registered: 2009-10-01
Posts: 55
Website

Atheros AR 9382 + ArchLinux - can be work ??

hi
i fit today new Atheros AR 9382, but i cant see my card, i check the list of support for ath9k but i cant see my card, so its any chance to run that card on Arch ? i try on BackTrack but same cant find sad enybody have got some info about this ?/

Thanks

Offline

#2 2012-12-19 23:07:37

Strike0
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2011-09-05
Posts: 1,277

Re: Atheros AR 9382 + ArchLinux - can be work ??

Have a look at

lspci -vnn

for the device ID of the card - something like [168C:0030]at the end. Next check

modinfo ath9k |grep 030]

if that device ID is in the list for the module. At least one card with that chip is supported according to linuxwireless.

If not in the list, post the results of above.

If it is in the list, check if ath9k is autoloaded on boot and any errors in logs.

Offline

#3 2012-12-31 02:42:17

H20
Member
From: London
Registered: 2009-10-01
Posts: 55
Website

Re: Atheros AR 9382 + ArchLinux - can be work ??

hi
so i try this:

lspci -vnn
06:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Atheros Communications Inc. Device [168c:abcd] (rev 01)
        Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 11
        Memory at d7100000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=128K]
        Expansion ROM at d6000000 [disabled] [size=64K]
        Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 3
        Capabilities: [50] MSI: Enable- Count=1/4 Maskable+ 64bit+
        Capabilities: [70] Express Endpoint, MSI 00
        Capabilities: [100] Advanced Error Reporting
        Capabilities: [140] Virtual Channel
        Capabilities: [300] Device Serial Number 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00

but this:
modinfo ath9k | grep cd]

give me nothing... so all modules was loaded but i cant run that card, this is same problem in backtrac 5... i no idea what i can do more, card work ok in windows xo and windows 7 but i use normaly linux, windows just sometime

thanks

Offline

#4 2012-12-31 10:29:29

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 4,217

Re: Atheros AR 9382 + ArchLinux - can be work ??

It seems the abcd device id is used as a default value when there's no real device id stored on the card.
here are some links (very technical stuff)
http://forum.ipfire.org/index.php/topic … c091fd0u03
http://comments.gmane.org/gmane.linux.d … devel/5845

You could look into using the windows driver with ndiswrapper, check the wiki.


Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#5 2013-01-01 21:14:20

H20
Member
From: London
Registered: 2009-10-01
Posts: 55
Website

Re: Atheros AR 9382 + ArchLinux - can be work ??

Lone_Wolf wrote:

It seems the abcd device id is used as a default value when there's no real device id stored on the card.
here are some links (very technical stuff)
http://forum.ipfire.org/index.php/topic … c091fd0u03
http://comments.gmane.org/gmane.linux.d … devel/5845

You could look into using the windows driver with ndiswrapper, check the wiki.

i check link above and one is german so i dont speak german smile but other one i read all post so the reason is some bug in firmware, so i think its was wrong choice about that card, i think i just put on my old card , because its realy hard to make that card working under liunux...

so thanks for help

smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB